We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just perfect”
Review of Aetoma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aetoma Hotel
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Nafplio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I can only endorse what has been said by so many other reviewers. on very few occasions i have experienced such a warm and at the same time professional welcome in a hotel (or b+b). the main reason herefore is the fact that the hotel is run by the owner, pan, and her son; the buiding served as their private home before. several languages are spoken fluently; any wish was fulfilled. aetoma is indeed difficult to find - but the owner's son took the effort of meeting us at our car after patiently inquiring for our exact location. he appeared within minutes and guided us to the little square in front of the hotel; he even had blocked a parking space for us with his own car. this is just an example of the hospitality which we received. we had the smallest room - and it was just perfect, with a balcony overlooking the little square. aetoma is brilliantly located, on the edge of the historic center, which means that you avoid the noise which you do experience in some of the center-center streets, mostly pedestrian zones full of happily (and noisily) strolling tourists. the cost-benefit-ratio of aetoma is certainly unbeatable; after walking around a full day in the city (and seeing many other accomodations) this can be said firmly. efcharistopoli - many thanks .- for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: the top floor room sports two terraces and is certainly worth the mark-up, but we hand the smallest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RudolfF218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 631 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Can't think of a nicer bed and breakfast. Located at the heart of the old town is nevertheless quiet and surprisingly accessible by car for luggage unload/load. The owners renovated their old house in a most wonderful, distinctive, and tasteful manner. Most importantly, their hospitality and service is top notch. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theokel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

It is a bit difficult to find, but once you have arrived the service and hospitality are impossible to beat. Akis and his mother make their guests feel very special in this 5-room hotel located in the heart of Nafplio. The building has been in the family for 160 years and has been recently renovated. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated. The breakfast is enormous and delicious. Akis was very helpful with directions and recommendations. Parking near the hotel is challenging but Akis makes certain that every arriving guest is taken care of. This was our best travel experience in Greece!

Room Tip: There is no elevator so the second floor room (4 of the 5) are much easier access. The third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

When the GPS couldn't get us close we resorted to calling the hotel and asking for help. They provided what sounded like easy directions and a few minutes later we had to call again. I loved their response.....stay where you are we will come get you! Come on how is that for customer service! They offered us a nice glass of wine and we enjoyed in on our balcony.

The hotel is the families private home. The reception area is beautiful, the family charming and the room is quite nice. Comfortable bed, view from our balcony of the lovely town.

We requested the omelet special for breakfast and can't wait to try it.

Give the property a try, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was a great place to stay. If you are coming to Nafpflio stay here. Akis and his mum were wonderful hosts. Akis helped us park and also gave us a brilliant overview of what to do in Nafplio and where to eat. His mum made the most enormous breakfast we've ever had! The rooms are beautiful and the setting - right in the heart of town - can't be beaten. Nafplio is a wonderful town to visit and a convenient base for many top sites. We would completely recommend staying at Aetoma - it knocks the spots off of any other 'boutique' hotel we have stayed in anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We only spent one night here but are determined to return for a longer stay. Also, since our decision was last minute, we did not have the option of selecting which room we would rent. The owners greeted us upon arrival and offered us coffee and cake. The room was comfortable and had a private balcony overlooking a shopping street. We were advised that the room on the top level was the favorite and that will be our selection for our next visit. Anytime we entered the common area, which also served as the breakfast area, we were asked if we needed anything and offered bottled water, snacks, etc. Breakfast, as described by many other reviewers, was more than ample. In fact it was way too much for us to eat! Finally, the location was convenient to the bus stop, the beach, shopping, and waterfront restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor or one of the larger room on the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASC19512013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights as we based ourselves here to see the ancient sites in the Peloponnese. Easily the best place we've ever stayed in. Akis and his mother Panayiota are the most kind, helpful and simply amazing hosts of a place ever. Akis provided helpful information on nearby sights and for getting to Ancient Olympia. The morning we headed to Olympia, Panayiota sent us off with a packed lunch! Breakfast was fantastic with fresh bread, cereals, amazing cake, oh! Just brilliant.

Our room was lovely - huge room, nice, comfortable bed, and overlooking the little square, it was perfectly quiet. Couldn't ask for anything else. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank empress_joanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Perivoli
Hotel Perivoli
#3 of 37 in Nafplio
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Marianna
Pension Marianna
#2 of 37 in Nafplio
898 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leto Nuevo Hotel
Leto Nuevo Hotel
#5 of 37 in Nafplio
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
#7 of 37 in Nafplio
658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amphitryon Hotel
Amphitryon Hotel
#17 of 37 in Nafplio
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nafplia Palace Hotel
Nafplia Palace Hotel
#16 of 37 in Nafplio
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aetoma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aetoma Hotel

Address: 2 Plateia Agiou Spiridona, Nafplio 21100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nafplio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Family Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nafplio
Price Range: $85 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aetoma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Nafplion, a city of magical breeze and unique history, a revamped mansion of the 18th century combines the beauty of the past with the comforts of the present and creates the ideal environment for relaxation and exceptional holidays. The neoclassical luxury appears in each of the 5 hospitable rooms, one of which seems like it slipped silently and took its place in the loft. Visitors feel immediately that they have found both a familiar and unique place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aetoma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aetoma Hotel Nauplion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing