We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Boutique Hotel”
Review of Aetoma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aetoma Hotel
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Nafplio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This small (5 room) hotel owned by mother & son was perfect. As hosts they were friendly & welcoming & supplied us with coffee & homemade cake on our balcony when we arrived. The rooms & building have been nicely renovated. The homemade breakfast was just amazing! The location is in a perfect area of Nafplio, but, as may have been stated insome other reviews the hotel itself is very difficult to find. However, we received a helpful email in advance with spcific directions & even if it is a bit of work to get there it is well worth the effort.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterandDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 631 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

It's difficult to say anything about this wonderful hotel that other reviewers haven't already said! This is one of the finest places we've ever stayed in. Beautiful building with elegant, tasteful furnishings and decor. Fantastically comfortable and welcoming. Enormous delicious breakfast served on our balcony so that we could enjoy the sun even first thing in the morning. Fresh bottles of water in the fridge every day.

Paniota (spelling?) and her son Akis are the perfect hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for them, from advice on where to eat, day trips, help with parking and finding the best nearby beach. It was my birthday the day after we arrived and champagne and a cake were waiting for us when we got back after our first day out! Paniota even insisted on giving us a packed lunch every day to take on our trips out.

Nafplion is a lovely town, and staying at Aetoma made our week there a truly wonderful and magical experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thespecialagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Akis and his mother are the consummate hosts. Their lovely hotel is comfortable, elegant, and warm. I only wish we could have stayed longer than 2 nights. The Argolida is a beautiful area with so many important sites close by. A true highlight of our Greece experience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swimisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stopped off for two nights en route from Athens to the Mani. It's rather hard to add to the earlier reviews, as everything is already said! This is a truly lovely old family home and it's a pleasure to stay in it. Akis is a kind, thoughtful and generous host, from helping with parking to giving some honest and helpful advice about the town and locality. The room we stayed in overlooked little St. Spiridion Sq and was comfortable and quiet. Just nothing to fault and so much to praise. Breakfast was excellent and copious, and made with care and thought. And Nafplion has a lot to offer for a few days - some excellent dining in the fish restaurants (a bit pricy, but worth it), some fascinating history and buildings (look out for the Arabic inscriptions on the old fountains), good tavernas, good shopping and a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. Plenty to see and do nearby - the ancient ruins of Macenae and Tiryns, the Hellenistic sites at Epidavros and the Palamidi Castle and it's fantastic views over the town (drive up! it would be crazy to walk the c.999 steps!)... Simply no-where else I would ever suggest anyone staying.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the quiet of the room on the St Spiridion side... and the view up to the castle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trippingferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I can’t imagine a nicer place to stay in Greece than the Aetoma Hotel. We spent a weekend there, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Nafplio is an excellent home base for sightseeing in the Peloponnese. Driving in from Athens, we stopped at Mycenae to tour the archaeological site on the way to Nafplio. We spent one afternoon of our Nafplio stay touring the impressive ancient theatre and asclepeion (healing center) ruins at Epidavros. A hike to the Palimidi fortress, an afternoon at the beach, and leisurely strolls around the beautiful seaside town of Nafplio rounded out our stay.

The Aetoma proprietors, Akis and his mother Panagiota, are the penultimate hosts of their beautifully converted family home. On our arrival, Akis came out to assist with parking, including moving his mother’s car to make a space for us to park. Akis also gave us an in-depth orientation, including Nafplio sites and restaurant recommendations. Panagiota served one of the most indulgent breakfasts I have ever enjoyed. Everything was delicious, and I very much enjoyed Panagiota’s home baked tiropita, bougatsa, and cakes. It’s a good thing we hiked the Palamidi Fortresses 999 steps before breakfast! Panagiota filled our breakfast table with goodies, then set up an adjacent table and filled that with even more awesome breakfast foods! The afternoon we wanted to go to the beach, Pangiota directed us to the sandy beach at Karathona, about a 5-10 minute drive. She gathered beach towels and peaches for us to bring along with us, too.

Our room was very nice, clean and modern, with a lovely balcony overlooking the charming back alley. The room was quiet and very comfortable. If you’re in Nafplio on Sunday morning, it’s hard to avoid hearing all the AM church bells, though!

If we ever visited Nafplio again, we would not hesitate to stay at Aetoma, after feeling so welcomed during our stay by its friendly and helpful owners and staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halfcafqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Quite one of the nicest hotels imaginable with utterly charming hosts, who went out of their way to be helpful. Very comfortable room, well located in the centre of the old town but not noisy. Delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 238anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Akis & his mother run a quality boutique hotel. They sent me directions to reach the property a week prior to arrival. Akis is a wealth of local info. We had a great lunch at one of the restaurants he recommended. The breakfast was fabulous. Cereal, omelettes, cheese, cold cuts & bacon & pastries to die for. This is a fabulous property. I look forward to my next stay there.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank jsem1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Perivoli
Hotel Perivoli
#3 of 37 in Nafplio
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Marianna
Pension Marianna
#2 of 37 in Nafplio
898 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leto Nuevo Hotel
Leto Nuevo Hotel
#5 of 37 in Nafplio
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
#7 of 37 in Nafplio
657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amphitryon Hotel
Amphitryon Hotel
#17 of 37 in Nafplio
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nafplia Palace Hotel
Nafplia Palace Hotel
#16 of 37 in Nafplio
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aetoma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aetoma Hotel

Address: 2 Plateia Agiou Spiridona, Nafplio 21100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nafplio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Family Hotel in Nafplio
Price Range: $85 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aetoma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Nafplion, a city of magical breeze and unique history, a revamped mansion of the 18th century combines the beauty of the past with the comforts of the present and creates the ideal environment for relaxation and exceptional holidays. The neoclassical luxury appears in each of the 5 hospitable rooms, one of which seems like it slipped silently and took its place in the loft. Visitors feel immediately that they have found both a familiar and unique place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aetoma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aetoma Hotel Nauplion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing