We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Place to Stay in Nafplion”
Review of Aetoma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aetoma Hotel
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Nafplio
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Place to Stay in Nafplion”
Reviewed January 19, 2008

We spent 4 days at the Aetoma Hotel in Naplion in late September 2007. I would call it more of a lovely bed and breakfast. There are 5 rooms available on two floors. The rooms were immaculate and beautifully decored. The bed, a king, was very comfortable. We had a shower/tub in our room and our relatives had a spacious shower.

All our encounters with the onwer, Panayiota, her son, Akis, and assisant, Kerri were extremely pleasant and they were very helpful in explaining how to get to places we wanted to visit. They went out of their way to help us at all times.

The morning breakfast was included in the daily rate of approximately $155. Words can't adequately express how abudant, fresh, and delicious everything was. From cereal, fruit, yogurt, tiropita (cheese pastry), a variety of breads and cakes, coffee, tea, and juice you were delightfully stuffed and graciously served each morning.

The parking is limited in front of the hotel, but parking is available nearby. We would stay there again in a heartbeat and highly recommend it.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YiasasTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    27
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
442
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bruxelles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2007

The only downside of this hotel is that with just five or so rooms, you have to plan ahead to get a spot in this adorable bed and breakfast. Tucked away in a small square in Nafplion (the town that was a highlight of our Peloponnese tour), the owner was thoroughly accommodating...even going so far as to move her car so that we could park right out front, the breakfast was beyond ample...to the point that another table had to be brought over to catch the rest of the breads and yogurts that wouldn't fit on ours, and the rooms were spotless, well-decorated and very comfortable. We have travelled around Europe both on and off a budget and while this was on the bargain side price-wise, from a quality standpoint it could easily have fit with a luxury trip.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank dbruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2007

When I booked rooms for my husband, myself and my parents at Aetoma via email, I was immediately impressed with the personal attention I received. I actually received personal emails in response to the request for reservations--unusual nowadays. Our stay at Aetoma FAR exceeded that initial impression.

The hotel (the former childhood home of the proprietress) is elegant and quaint. We immediately felt as if the Aetoma was our home as well. The family who runs the hotel, couldn't be more welcoming and helpful! Their son eagerly hopped in our rental car to help us navigate our way to the hotel when we couldn't figure out the streets of Naufplion. The lady of the house (I am ashamed to say that I don't remember their names :() even helped us with trying to find out if an antibiotic cream we purchased at the local pharmacy was safe for me to use in my 5 month pregnant state. These were just some of the little things that made our stay beyond belief. I can't think of any other place we've stayed that provided that kind of personal attention!!

The rooms are gorgeous, breakfast is hearty, the city is beautiful, and the owners treat you like family. That all adds up to a perfect place to say for my family and I.

  • Liked — The charming family run atmosphere
  • Disliked — Not a thing!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jennifero2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2007

One of the best hotels we have ever had the pleasure of staying at - 5 star or otherwise. Sure the rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable with it. However, the clincher is the level of service you can expect led by Kiria Panayota: friendly, welcoming and above all generous beyond belief. Child friendly too. In short, stay at Aetoma Hotel. In the meantime, live in hope that every destination you visit can offer you the equivalent of Aetoma Hotel.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank EFandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2007

My husband and I ...plus our entire immediate family stayed at the Hotel Aetoma this September for our wedding. We cannot say enough wonderful things to describe our 5 day stay with them. Panagiota, her son Akis and assistant Carrie went above and beyond, to make us all feel comfortable, and part of their family.

We came to Greece to get married and to meet some of my husband's distant relatives who live near Nafplion. Little did we know we were getting wedding planners, and translators for the cost of a room. Pan, Akis and Carrie spoke regularly with our Greek relatives (who speak some English, but mostly Greek) who would call the hotel to find out details of the wedding and plan the reception. When we arrived in Nafplion, we had not yet decided on where to have the wedding. Pan and Carrie helped us choose from several beautiful local places. They also offered to, and arranged our boat transportation to and from the wedding (which was ultimately at the Bourtzi fortress), and our transportation to and from the reception outside of Corinth (charter bus).

Our extended family came to meet us one day at the hotel. prior to the wedding. Our immediate family occupied all five of the rooms in Hotel Aetoma and Panagiota let us hold our own family reunion of sorts in the common room of the hotel. In addition, Carrie, Pan and Akis were all there to help translate. They also served chocolates and drinks to our relatives and we felt as if they were all just part of the family.

The day of the wedding, Pan took my mother in her own car to a floral shop in the new part of town so she could buy me a bouquet. Panagiota bought flowers for the common area, and while I was up in the top room getting ready, she decorated all of the banisters in the hotel with white bunting for the wedding. She also served my husband and I champagne after the wedding, and had it brought up to he room for us!

Panagiota, her sister and Akis all attended our wedding at Bourtzi (at our request). I cannot say enough about how helpful Akis was. He not only attended our wedding, but once we decided on a timeline for guest arrival at the main harbor in town, Akis was there to help direct the whole thing. He helped set up at the fortress before the wedding. He guided all of the guests on to and off of the boat at the right time. He even hung out and played with our nephews before the wedding. Then afterwards, he got us to our coach in the harbor to go to the reception at the right time.

Aside from all of that, the hotel itself is exquisite. It was newly remodeled last year, and was Panagiota's home before it was a pension. We stayed in the top suite, but got to see all 5 of the rooms in the hotel. Each one is beautifully decorated and has gorgeous handmade Greek glass chandeliers or lighting, modern and antique furniture and a balcony. The top room has a huge balcony that is partially private and we were able to have our breakfast served in the mornings. You get wonderful views of Palimidi castle from the balcony. The bathrooms are wonderful with marble floors, modern sinks and multiple head showers. They are particularly nice if you are accustomed to western bathrooms that have enclosed showers.

Breakfast is included with the cost of the room and it is fabulous. There were all sorts of Greek pastries (cheese rings, doughnuts, cheese pie), meats, cereal, juice, coffee/ tea, yoghurt with honey and fruit. You could not possibly eat it all in one sitting, though you will want to!

For the personal service we received, the excellent food and the beautiful accommodations that we had, the cost of the room is very appropriate, if not downright affordable. Nafplion in general seems to be a little cheaper than other areas in Greece, but we feel as though we got the deal of a lifetime by staying at Hotel Aetoma.

  • Liked — The staff was so helpful and welcoming. Not to mention the hotel is beautiful and spotless
  • Disliked — Nothing..Honestly. They may not be the best equipped place for young children, but were very friendly and helpful when we had a 6 year old and a 2 year old with us.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Milopig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

We stayed at the Aetoma early October and could not have been happier with this Hotel! From booking the rooms to the minute we checked out, we had a wonderful experience! Everyone on staff was very kind and helpful and attentive to our any need! The Hotel is a family run business that spans over 3 generations. I was a little nervous about it before we got there since we were traveling with my family and I was the one who picked the hotel but everyone could not have been happier!! We were traveling with my parents, sister and her husband so we had 3 of the 5 rooms in the hotel. They were all beautifully decorated, very clean, all with small terraces. The location was right in the heart of old town so you could walk ANYWHERE from there in minutes! The breakfast they served every morning was incredible! Every type of pastry, meat, yogurt with honey.. they had it all and it was fantastic! I would highly recommend anyone who is traveling to Nafplion to stay at this hotel!! We will definitely be going back there!

  • Liked — The Staff & Owners were incredible!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DPTrotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, IL
Level Contributor
355 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2007

We found all of the previous positive reviews to be absolutely true! What a lovely home in a great location, with helpful and kind owners and staff. We walked to all of the sights of Nafplion. We did, however, take a taxi to the top of the Palimedes, then walked down. The town is clean and full of interesting streets and shopping. All of the restaurants serve tasty food. Be prepared to pay $$$ for any fresh fish meals, very expensive, but very good. The hotel will send you to the 2 best ones. We spent 4 nights in the Akrokeramo room. The shower was great, with jets and a large pan head and good pressure. With free wireless internet, we were able to keep in touch with the family back home. The bed was comfortable, and if you like fresh air day or night, there are many windows with cross ventilation. The private patio was a beautiful place to relax at night, as well as enjoy an ample breakfast . It is a quiet neighborhood in the evening. There is a perfect view of the fortress. If you have trouble climbing stairs, you may have difficulty, but that is the case in many old town hotels. We had an easy trip back to Athens by bus, inexpensive, comfortable and the station is just a 2 minute walk from the hotel. The Aetoma is very clean and well kept, I'd love to return.

  • Liked — charm and location
  • Disliked — climbing the stairs to the 3rd floor
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
0.1 mi away
Pension Marianna
Pension Marianna
#2 of 38 in Nafplio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Perivoli
Hotel Perivoli
#3 of 38 in Nafplio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amphitryon Hotel
Amphitryon Hotel
#11 of 38 in Nafplio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leto Nuevo Hotel
Leto Nuevo Hotel
#5 of 38 in Nafplio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Sarai Nafplio
Grand Sarai Nafplio
#8 of 38 in Nafplio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
#7 of 38 in Nafplio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aetoma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aetoma Hotel

Property: Aetoma Hotel
Address: 2 Plateia Agiou Spiridona, Nafplio 21100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nafplio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Family Hotel in Nafplio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aetoma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Nafplion, a city of magical breeze and unique history, a revamped mansion of the 18th century combines the beauty of the past with the comforts of the present and creates the ideal environment for relaxation and exceptional holidays. The neoclassical luxury appears in each of the 5 hospitable rooms, one of which seems like it slipped silently and took its place in the loft. Visitors feel immediately that they have found both a familiar and unique place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Aetoma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aetoma Hotel Nauplion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing