We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anthemion Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Nafplio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2009

A terrific choice you're traveling with a car and using Nafplio as your base in the Peloponnese. We loved the feeling of coming "home" to our poolside suite every night and waking up each morning to a beautiful view of the valley. The attractions of the old town are just minutes away, so it's nothing to drive in for dinner or just ice cream. We enjoyed having a fully equipped kitchenette to lay out takeout meals as well. Sophie and her family are warm and professional, and they do a wonderful job of maintaining the pretty grounds and elegant pool.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank las718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 169 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2009

We stayed here for two nights with friends. Despite reading that is was difficult to find the place, we had no trouble at all. It's well signed. I would say though that it is much further from the town than we thought and you do need a car, particularly if you have children. You certainly couldn't comfortably walk in and out of town with children, it's just too far. Still, being out of town means it's easy to park your car and it's quiet. The pool was appealing, although a little cold in April for swimming. Breakfast was good with coffee and tea, toasted sandwiches (one morning and then not again), cheese, eggs, meats, fruit and delicious Greek yoghurt - although we did have better breakfasts in other hotels. Service was pleasant and efficient. Our room was spacious and comfortable and had a lovely balcony overlooking the pool. A minor complaint in the bathroom was the shower cubicle leaked and the floor was very wet each morning. The bed and sofa bed were very comfortable with good quilts and pillows. All in all, this is a great location for families and would be ideal in summer.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyofthreeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2008

In August we made an extensive tour of Peloponese and we had the chance to visit several new and revisit other hotels and pensions. Anthemion rates among our best experiences this summer.

As the other reviewes say it is located just under the fortress in a paisible rural setting that makes you forget the touristic hustle of the city. As we were on the road during the 15th of August period, after a few unsuccessful trials we decided to spend the nights where we could find accomodation. I will report elsewhere about our experiences with these hotels. So, on the evening of Aug. 14 we called Anthemion, which we had located in our agrotourism guide, and asked about a room for two nights, they had not one but they could offer a room for one night. We accepted and after some 250 km we arrived in Nafplion. The uphill road is a typical provincial town one and does not promise much but when we turned left into a small tree shaded lane, the scenery changed and oop, we landed in a well kept garden the forefront of which serves also as parking. The hotel is a very nice quite location with open view, nice little garden and spacious balconies.

Our room was on the garden level, and consisted of one sitting room with fireplace and a sofa that tuns into full size double bed, fully equipped kitchenette, one bedroom and bathroom. I do not agree with Lovedup who comments that the room decoration is kitsch. instead it is charming, relaxing and the bed mattress really gave us a good night's sleep. I cannot comment on the soundproofing of the rooms upstairs but although our bedroom window was open and our balcony door too, we could sleep till 9.00am without problem. The rooms anyhow are not many and they cover the first and second floor.

The breakfast, indeed, is not of the gourmet type but it is copious and can keep you going for the day. What I dislike is that in the region where citrus fruit grow, they offer canned orange juice!!! If the bed and breakfast price (60euros) is taken into consideration, then visitors should not expect much, since similar class hotels charge as much as 110-130euros per night per room. The breakfast is served under a kiosk in the garden with nice view over the plain.

The swimming pool with a swirling waterjet is very small but on hot days is most welcome. The beach and city are very near but in hot weather in summer this walk is not something I would suggest.

The service is minimal, in fact you meet the owners only in the morning, since both have other jobs. They serve the breakfast, do the housekeeping, receive payments and then go. They do not live in the property, so if you need them for some reason, you have to call them and wait till they come. They are a mid-thirties couple, very polite and helpful. They offered to call a few hotels in town to find a room for us for the second night and made the reservaton on our behalf.

I have visited Nafplio several times and have stayed mostly in the inner city boutique hotels. They are something you can experience once but personally, I prefer open spaces and air so next time we visit Nafplion, Athemion will be our first choice.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RenaBeaufort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2008

After reading the reviews on trip advisor, i decided to stay in the Anthemion guest house for a night (a friend was getting married in Nafplion yesterday).

Its easy to find the place. The guest house is new (thats a plus, since most of the hotels/guest houses) in Nafplion are rather old), the rooms are clean and descent. Quite kitch (the decoration) but hey, i was there only for a night and not to buy the place. My room ("Melpomeni") didnt have a pool view, but rather a parking lot/olive trees view. Nevertheless, the balcony was large and good enough to accomodate a small family. If u gonna book room in Anthemion, ask for a room with a pool view. The pool isnt big. More like a house pool, but its clean. Has nice sunbeds and the owners son (17 yr old) can make u coffees or get you cold beers etc at descent prices.

What i liked : Brand new guest house/hotel, stone built, with pool.
Descent prices. Just a mile from the edge of Nafplion. 5 minutes from town center by car.

What i didnt like : Cheap breakfast. Few croissaint rolls, instant coffe, fake OJ, cheap ham/cheese, bread (which wasnt fresh), honey, marmelades, fruits. Gets you filled, but cant say you "enjoy" it. Then again i was hangovered from the wedding party and expected something more...

The walls are quite thin and you can hear whoever goes through the hallways. Bit annoying if someone decides to stay for a few days over there and tries to have a siesta/sleep in the afternoon.

Another thing that i "disliked", is that most things in this hotel (reception, breakfast, pool bar) are done by the owners kids (a 11 yr old, 13 yr old boy and a 17yr old). So dont expect "experienced" service from an adult. When i wanted to pay, i gave the kid my credit card and he was like "dont you have cash??" (obvioulsy he didnt know how to use the CC machine).

Anyway, most of the cons are really minor.

Overall experience : not bad. Its a brand new place, with a swimming pool and descently priced. Dont expect the 4 seasons, but its worth staying over there and use it as a base to cruise around the Naflpion area and Carathonas beach (recomended!!). Tavernas in Nafplion kinda suck! So does the pizza delivery place (found some menus in my room). But it really sucks!

I m greek, so i m used to good food and the restaurants in Naflplion are very touristy. Most of them though are very beautyfull. The old town is quite charming to walk around. Recomended.


Anthemion : not bad overall.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lovedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2008

We stayed three nights (after one very nice night at the Pension Marianna, which we also warmly recommend).

The Anthemion is a little less than a mile from town. You could walk the distance, I suppose, but it is a long walk up a hill to get there, so you really need a car. The short drive makes a big difference in terms of ambiance, because the Anthemion has a tranquil countryside feel to it even though you are just a minute from the heart of Nafplio.

The other guests were all Athenians. It was very quiet most of the time, although the walls were not all that well soundproofed and we could hear talking (well, yelling) and the TV in another room on occasion. No street noise at all, in part because there is only a quiet country lane running by the house.

The rooms are nice, but the large balconies with nice views clinched the deal for us. We enjoyed sitting out and watching the sunrise and sunsets, and listening to the sounds of the country-- mostly silence, except for calling birds and a few dogs barking in the distance.

Breakfasts were better than average, with cereal, rolls, toast, yogurt, fruit, bacon, eggs, tea, coffee and (phony) orange juice.

Tea/Coffee making facilities in the rooms would be nice. Comfortable bed and nice bathroom (shower, no tub).

We loved the Ta Fanaria restaurant in Nafplio. The oven-roasted lamb and pork were two of the best dishes we ate in Greece-- absolutely, mouth-wateringly delicious. We found out about it from the Michelin Green Guide, and it was by far the best restaurant we tried in Nafplio. It was one (actually, two) of the best meals we had in Greece. The only down side, inevitably: it was smoky. One other nice thing: I negligently left my camera behind in the restaurant, and we had already walked several blocks from the restaurant when one of the waiters came running up to me to return it. Pretty neat.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

Although out of town (you need a car) the Anthemion Guest House is the perfect choice if you want space, tranquility a nice pool and a great view.

The hotel is impeccable and clean. The room we had was their regular basic double room which was a good size room with a small balcony and
a private wc and shower. The double bed was comfortable. There was a tv, fridge and a hair dryer in the room.

Breakfast was served outside on the terrace facing the pool and the incredible view. It consisted of coffee (instant), orange juice, grill-cheeses, fresh bread, honey, cakes and the famous greek yogourt :)

The only negative was the shower pressure which was almost non-existant and that since it's a guest house, there is no front desk as
in a hotel so there was not somebody there at all time to help you with questions that you may have.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mist59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

The Anthemion is located about a mile from the center of Nafplion on a hillside. The rooms are good, with kitchen and balcony, and the pool is delightful. A good breakfast is served in the open air. Nafplion is a delightful town and an excellent base from which to explore Epidaurus and the nearby coast.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marteaudor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
1.2 mi away
Leto Nuevo Hotel
Leto Nuevo Hotel
#4 of 36 in Nafplio
302 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Perivoli
Hotel Perivoli
#3 of 36 in Nafplio
447 reviews
2.1 mi away
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
#6 of 36 in Nafplio
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Amphitryon Hotel
Amphitryon Hotel
#16 of 36 in Nafplio
302 reviews
1 mi away
Pension Marianna
Pension Marianna
#2 of 36 in Nafplio
901 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aetoma Hotel
Aetoma Hotel
#1 of 36 in Nafplio
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anthemion Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthemion Guesthouse

Address: 101 25th March St & Ag. Eleftheriou, Nafplio 211 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nafplio
Price Range: $72 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anthemion Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anthemion Hotel, Nafplion, Argolida - double rooms and family suites a few minutes from the centre of Nafplio old city. A great choice for accommodation in Nafplio (Nafplion, Anapli, Nauplio, Nauplia, Nafplia) is Anthemion Traditional Pension/Guest House. Within walking distance of Nafplion's centre in a quiet area makes Anthemion's location a more relaxing, rustic alternative with private parking and a swimming pool. Anthemion double rooms are decorated with each their own style and the suites, which are ideal for families, have kitchen facilities and fireplaces making a cosy atmosphere for couples during the winter months. Breakfast is served to our guests either room service or in our kiosk in the gardens with a view of the pool. Enjoy the short walk to Karathona beach during the spring, summer & autumn or hire a car to explore the local areas of beauty and historical interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Anthemion Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anthemion Hotel Nauplion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing