We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ippoliti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ippoliti Hotel
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Nafplio
Certificate of Excellence
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
125 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Small room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

Nice hotel - good taste, renovated, clean. Central location, a bit difficult to find by car.
The problem is that our room was just too small - we really didn't know where to put our luggage. To make things worst, it was a beach vacation for us...and the room of course didn't have a balcony. Some rooms are better other are worst since really at the road level. Karathonas beach is a real dump...the dirtiest beach I have ever seen. It is a pity to see the way they treat their main asset.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgerobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    62
    29
    4
    2
See reviews for
38
92
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

Stayed at the Ippoliti with my husband and about a dozen of his colleagues and their families in June for five days. I became very ill with food poisoning, as did more than half of the guests in our group that were staying at the hotel. What caused the food poisoning, we're not sure -- perhaps the warm yogurt at breakfast?? -- but when a staff member was notified that more than half of their guests had fallen ill, she just shrugged. Not her problem. Our room was on the ground floor and had creepy paintings of children on the wall, a cramped bathroom and a hard bed. Those who had rooms on higher floors had nicer furnishings and some of the rooms even had a nice view. Nevertheless, I would not recommend the hotel, with special caution against the breakfast and the indifferent staff.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ingriditaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

Central and small hotel, clean rooms with 'jacuzzi showers'. Correct breakfast, nice and flexible service. Tiny pool...however nice for breakfast. Quiet as well. We are used to staying at Ippoliti in Nafplio and we recommend to do the same, should Amphitryon increase its rates.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FranceTomTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brux
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2008

I spent two days in Nafplio in the framework of a long holiday in Greece with my wife.
I found the hotel walking in the city center and I simply asked their conditions. I've got a double room for 90 euros per day brekfast included.
People at the receprion desk have always been very nice and helpful, and I completely subscibe the opinion of other guests from previous year.

  • Liked — Value for money and availability of the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing special - maybe the absence of TV channels in French and English
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Italien45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
113 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2007

The Ippoliti is one block from the waterfront behind the old Agamamenon. The location is great for visiting the seaside cafes and backstreet shops and museum. The building was restored about 8 or 9 years ago, and each room has its own charm. If you need a view, be sure to request this, as some of the rooms face the building on the tight side street, though these would be quieter and cooler in summer. Decor was lovely, and beds were the usual twins. Our room had a separate sitting room which had a sofa bed perfect for a child. Bathroom had a jacuzzi tub and hand-held shower. Heat and hot water were sufficient. The breakfast was in the beautiful lobby area, and had a good choice of eggs, yogurt, bread, baked goods. Very good value.

  • Liked — charm and location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FQTVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2007

We had a two room suite at this hotel for three nights, and it was absolutely beautiful, very clean, and classy. Large rooms, comfortable beds and pillows, with a nice sized bathroom and a wonderful shower. Each room had it's own flat panel t.v. The hotel had a small pool, which the kids seem to love, and a delcious breakfast was served in the mornings. The hotel seemed to be newly renovated, and was in a perfect location in this beautiful town of Nafplio. The front desk was always extremely polite and helpful to us. Thank you so much, to all that assisted us in our travels while staying at the Hotel Ippoliti!!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blaize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Ippoliti Hotel (“IH”) in late May 2006. As an initial matter, Nauplion is a delightful town well worth a visit. The older portion of town was built by the Venetians (the Venetian lion that one sees in Venice is visible here), occupied for a time by the Turks (there remains some pre-Roman-alphabet Turkish script on an old mosque), and now lived in by the Greeks. The setting of the town is dramatic, on the water, but surrounded by mountains. It is a very walkable town with overflowing flowers, outdoor cafes, and lots of chic shops. The town is perfect for a stroll, or just hanging out at a café around the big square, watching the world go by. Overall, Nauplion is rather quiet, although on weekend evenings, the outdoor bars down by the waterfront are pumping out techno and overflowing with young pretty people sprawled on outdoor couches. It is worth taking the time to climb to the fortress on the hill that overlooks the town. The views of the town, water, and mountains from the top are amazing, and the fortress itself is interesting and fun to climb around and explore.

Surprisingly, the IH was not in Tripadvisor when we were planning our trip, although we are pleased to see that it is there now. The IH has a great location on a quiet street in the old town, very near the shops, restaurants, square, waterfront, etc. Also, as it is near the waterfront, it is in a relatively flat portion of Nauplion, simplifying access for those unable or not inclined to scramble up the town’s steep hills (although scaling the steep hills, all the way to the fortress on top, is one of the high points of Nauplion).

Our large room was clean, comfortable, and stylishly appointed. The bathroom was also large, and came with a multi-function Jacuzzi shower. Our only complaint was minor: we never could get the TV to work correctly due to a loose cable connection (btw, the TV was a nice flat screen model, that we frankly did not miss at all as there was so much to do in town). Interestingly, the room turned out to be more high-tech than met the eye: we went to the front desk to ask how to turn on the AC; the desk clerk glanced at her computer screen, told us that we had a window open, and noted that the AC would not work unless all of the windows were closed (when it did come on, it cooled the room in no time at all). Also, although we thought that the room was a little dark, that turned out not to be an issue because our room had a fairly large and sunny terrace with a view down into the quiet street below. The terrace had iron steps that led to another space on the top of the building that had a great view of the water, the tops of the hills, and the surrounding rooftops. We enjoyed the breakfast area out by the pool, although we note that the area was designed more for hanging out and eating and drinking rather than hanging out in the very small pool.

Needless to say, we really enjoyed both the town of Nauplion and the IH, and look forward to our next visit to both.

John Geracimos - Alexandria, VA

  • Liked — Room, location, town
  • Disliked — No complaints -- very nice hotel
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
0.1 mi away
Amphitryon Hotel
Amphitryon Hotel
#11 of 43 in Nafplio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension Marianna
Pension Marianna
#2 of 43 in Nafplio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Sarai Nafplio
Grand Sarai Nafplio
#7 of 43 in Nafplio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aetoma Hotel
Aetoma Hotel
#1 of 43 in Nafplio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leto Nuevo Hotel
Leto Nuevo Hotel
#5 of 43 in Nafplio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Perivoli
Hotel Perivoli
#3 of 43 in Nafplio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ippoliti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ippoliti Hotel

Property: Ippoliti Hotel
Address: Aristidou & Ilia Miniati 9, Nafplio 211 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nafplio
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nafplio
#11 Family Hotel in Nafplio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ippoliti Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an old mansion, Hotel Ippoliti is situated in the centre of Nafplion. The boutique hotel offers charming rooms with authentic Tuscan furniture and jet shower cabins. Some rooms have a spa bath. The guest rooms of Hotel Ippoliti have a flat-screen cable TV, CD/DVD player and free Wi-Fi. Some rooms offer balconies overlooking the picturesque streets or the Bourtzi fortress. Ippoliti Hotel has an elegant lounge area with fireplace. Leisure facilities include a small outdoor pool with hydromassage and a fitness room. Traditional breakfast is served each morning by the pool and in the indoor dining room by the fireplace. Just off the waterfront on a street near cafes and restaurants, Ippoliti Hotel is ideal for browsing the city's lovely shops. The Archaeological Museum of Nafplion is 150 metres away. Free public parking is available near Ippoliti. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Ippoliti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ippoliti Hotel Nauplion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing