We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So well located!”
Review of Pension Marianna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pension Marianna
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Nafplio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I've stayed in a lot of hotels in Greece over 20 years and this is one of the best. It is beautiful, with delightful rooms (ours was a quad with two twins in a cave-like room downstairs and a double upstairs in a 2-room suite). There are tiny kitchenettes as well, a treat in Greece. The Zoto brothers were warm hosts and very helpful. The breakfast was lovely with fresh orange juice from their orchard, home-made cakes with ingredients from their farm, eggs, rice pudding and several other selections. Eating on the patio was a lovely experience. But very best of all was the location. It is right in the old section of town, the old Turkish section right next to one of the two castles! The view from the patio looks up to some of the fortifications. A quick walk up and over the peak takes you to the beach. A 2 minute stroll the other direction and you are in the old town. Couldn't be a better experience. We came with 16 students, all of whom loved this. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesliekaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 898 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

Very nice and friendly people in Marianna, everything is so calm there. Only few minutes to the beach, placed between an ancient fortress on one side and beautiful view on the sea on the other side, you can not imagine better place for a breakfast and relaxation. Nice experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mersiha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Hotel was wonderful and the views from the roof stunning. Our family of 5 fit nicely in the 2 bedrooms situated side by side. Every inch was nicely accommodated though the shower in the double bedroom was a little snug (while we have enjoyed our meals in Greece we are not overweight). Every need we had was met with a friendly smile!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Zoto brothers are delightful. They work very hard to provide a superior experience for all guests. We were a bit lost upon arrival (11pm!) and sheepishly called, we were told to just wait, and he'd be there in a moment on his motorcycle. Just a few moments later, we were rescued! Our 3 young daughters were so tired, he offered to serve them some milk before bed! The breakfast spread was beautiful, 95% of the food provided is grown by the family, and boy is it ever good and healthy. Our family of 5 stayed in the "family room", a two story "room" with a kitchenette, double bed and single upstairs and two singles downstairs. It is spacious (for European standards) and super clean! It opens out onto a small alley, so was at street level, very small balcony off the upper room ,but we were hardly there to use it. Yes, there are a lot of stairs, but the view climbing up to the reception/dining area is so charming, one hardly notices ... the hotel buts right up to an ancient fortress, which adds further charm to the place. I will be recommending it to my family and friends who are traveling this way in the fall! We are thrilled that we chose to stay one extra night. Easy access to the Old Town district with lots of shops and restaurant choices.

Room Tip: our family room was at street level, which was nice for ease of coming and going. there are some ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krkckt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The rooms of this hotel are actually a lot better than the website shows. The pension offers wine, beer and colas on the patio any time of day. It is especially nice to sit on the patio and enjoy the view at night as it overlooks the city and the waterfront. When we arrived, they offered us two different rooms, as all of the rooms are a bit different. They truly wanted us to be comfortable. Ahhh. The beds were comfortable! Such a friendly and helpful staff is always a welcome. Breakfast was good too with homemade foods included (by owner's wife).

The" top view" of the hotel on the website doesn't truly convey the positioning of the hotel. It is most of the way up the hill that Nafplio lies on. Walkers beware: We counted 134 steps from the last main level street in town up to the hotel. Then there is one more staircase that takes you up to the lobby. This surprised us with our heavy backpacks on, but we loved it so much that we would have chosen it anyway! Super place!

Room Tip: We liked the ones on top with the view to the waterfront. The windows open and one can enjoy the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsh326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This charming hotel in an incredible location is expertly run by a trio of brothers. Our room was cave/castle-like (in a good way) and squeaky clean. The children in our group loved the look of the room. The adults were happy with comfy beds, a wonderful breakfast, and breathtaking views of the town and sea. As others have mentioned, the Zoto brothers are very helpful and even willing to carry your suitcases up the many stairs that connect the various levels of the pension. I would stay at this hotel again in an instant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

This is a perfect hotel with very friendly owners and a great view over the city! There is probably only one reason, why you could not want to choose it: health problems with walking stairs. Otherwise, it is a free workout! (If you need more: Walk the about 999 stairs to Palamidi fortress, it is wonderful! Bring water and go early, when the stairs are in the shadow.) Ask for a room with stone walls, if you want a special experience. We were in number 15. The bed is rather small, but the room is very romantic and has a sitting area outside with great view. Parking is a bit tricky: Choose the road uphill that also goes to the beach behind acronafplia. (Yes, there is a lovely beach nearby, three minutes walking from the pension.) Drive all the way up and park next to the ugly rotten hotel on top of the hill, that you see from everywhere. This is behind/on top of the pension. From there, you have to walk a little, but it is not far at all. As often in Greece, breakfast might be better (e.g. with fruits and dark bread), but this is no reason to go elsewhere. We highly recommend the pension to everybody!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank fabian_zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
0.1 mi away
Aetoma Hotel
Aetoma Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nafplio
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leto Nuevo Hotel
Leto Nuevo Hotel
#5 of 37 in Nafplio
300 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Perivoli
Hotel Perivoli
#3 of 37 in Nafplio
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
#7 of 37 in Nafplio
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amphitryon Hotel
Amphitryon Hotel
#17 of 37 in Nafplio
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Agamemnon
Hotel Agamemnon
#13 of 37 in Nafplio
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Marianna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Marianna

Address: 9 Potamianou St., Nafplio, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nafplio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Green Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nafplio
Price Range: $85 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pension Marianna 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pension Marianna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Marianna Hotel Nafplio
Marianna Hotel Nauplion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing