We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful in every way”
Review of Pension Marianna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Marianna
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Nafplio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful setting, views, rooms, breakfast, and help from the owners. A very easy walk from the bus station. Great for an excursion to Mycenae. Caution...there are stairs.

John and Barbara

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StillLearning2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 905 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

We thought our trip had come to an end when my wife stumbled on her way to the bathroom and suffered a bad ankle sprain. The next morning was Sunday, no stores open, but the brothers helped us to locate a pharmaceutical supply store that was willing to open specially for us and supply a pair of crutches. Not a happy time at Pension Marianna, but the warmhearted brothers helped us to cope.

Room Tip: Better not pick one of the rooms with the bedroom up three stairs from the sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James Bare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed only one night at the Pension Marianna but thoroughly enjoyed the beautifully furnished rooms, and the little courtyards delicately scented by orange and lemon blossoms. The owners are friendly and obliging and offer one of the best breakfasts that I had at a B&B in Greece. The views from the rooms are beautiful and the location, in the shadow of the massive Venetian fortresses, is pretty fantastic too.
I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone traveling there

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank achira12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This review is long overdue but much deserved. We stayed at the hotel and thought it was fantastic. It is light and airy at the top of the hill. The views are superb and the location great, but the hospitality is above and beyond. Hats off to Pension Marianna for giving us such a nice welcome and for your kindness. Nafplio is a gorgeous little town with breathtaking sunsets and warm friendly people. Oh if only I could be there now................

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank totalfoodieSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Warm, bright Mediterranean colors set the tone in this comfortable pension. The three brothers who run it go out of their way to make everyone, including cranky and tired guests, feel welcome. Rooms are clean and quiet. I had a wonderful time sitting on my little balcony, right under the castle, with a view of the sparkling sea. The location is perfect as it was easy to go by foot down to the waterfront shops and restaurants, or over the hill to an exquisite rocky little beach. Even in May, the swimming was sybaritic. Want a truly local experience, hang out there on a Saturday when all the young teenagers are flirting with each other.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank quibblest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay in Nafplio. You get a warm and friendly welcome which extends way beyond your arrival! The room is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The outdoor spaces are well kept and the pot plants dotted around the place look so pretty. Breakfast is good and served on a lovely outdoor terrace with gorgeous views of Nafplio and the surrounding countryside and hills. It is extremely easy to find and well positioned for all facilities in the old town and for the bus station where you can catch buses to some wonderful archaeological sites. A short walk also takes you to some lovely swimming, less than 10 minutes away. We are fit and healthy so the many steps up to the property and then up tour room were not a problem to us, although this could be a barrier if you are frail or disabled. All in all, a fantastic choice. Perfect in every respect.

Room Tip: We had No.6 with a great view of the sea and old town roof tops and also a balcony which faces the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bibs28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Everything about this experience was good but it was the friendliness of the owners that made it special. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble and they went out their way to make us feel "one of the family". Great position perched just above the city by an old Byzantine wall with views from the communal deck that made it a delight just to sit and take in the changes of light. Good swimming beach(when the wind is right) just on the other side of the peninsula (walkable). Interesting archeological museum off the town square and a short drive to the remarkable Epidaurus theatre. Breakfast with a variety of homemade treats from produce from the owners' nearby farms was fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadowsbydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
0.1 mi away
Aetoma Hotel
Aetoma Hotel
#1 of 34 in Nafplio
635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amphitryon Hotel
Amphitryon Hotel
#14 of 34 in Nafplio
302 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
#5 of 34 in Nafplio
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Grand Sarai Nafplio
Grand Sarai Nafplio
#6 of 34 in Nafplio
239 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Perivoli
Hotel Perivoli
#3 of 34 in Nafplio
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ippoliti Hotel
Ippoliti Hotel
#11 of 34 in Nafplio
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Marianna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Marianna

Address: 9 Potamianou St., Nafplio, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nafplio
#1 Family Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Green Hotel in Nafplio
Price Range: $99 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pension Marianna 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Pension Marianna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Marianna Hotel Nafplio
Marianna Hotel Nauplion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing