We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best stay in Greece”
Review of Pension Marianna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pension Marianna
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Nafplio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Our best stay in Greece”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Pension Marianna for one night on October 2003. It was brilliant!

Pros: Just everything. All the other reviews are right: excellent rooms, super welcoming staff, tasty breakfast, perfect location. It totally felt like we were staying at a five-star hotel (except for the great price!). Also, the town is very nice. We were just passing by and we regretted not having more time to explore, we'd certainly come back (and stay at Pension Marianna, of course).

Cons: None for us. Not suitable for wheelchairs, though.

Overall: It was the best night of our ten day long holiday in Greece. No, really: just go there.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Meritxell_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    117
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
219
423
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed for one night in Nafplio. Hotel is on the side of the mountain so don't go if you have trouble with stairs! You park above the hotel and walk down to the lobby and then down even further to get to your rooms! We took a suite with two rooms and a bathroom for the two of us. Spectacular views to the harbour from one of the bedrooms and the other had great atmosphere as it was all in stone with a window to the courtyard. Entire hotel was very clean and looked after. Breakfast was good on a terrace overlooking the bay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougE142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We loved the Pension Marianna and Nafplio so much that we stayed an extra night. The hotel is absolutely charming, with flowers everywhere and the most comfortable mattresses we've found in Greece. To open your window in the morning, smell the flowers, and look out across the red rooftops to the harbor... sheer joy! If you have a car, take the advice of other reviewers and park at the top of the hill, by the abandoned and somewhat creepy hotel. (We called it The Zombie Inn.) It's an easy walk from there, even with luggage.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TeamVGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The brothers at pension Marianna are friendly and fun. They made a wonderful breakfast and brought us Mythos to the table outside our room in the afternoon.
Napflio's fortresses, beach and sea side cafés are all a short walk away, great location.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed with the fabulous Zotos brothers for three nights and I can't say enough great things about this pension - it's clean, well situated and cared for, the rooms are well appointed and the views of the village are so beautiful. But hands down, the best thing about this pension are the owners - Panos, Petros and Takis.They bend over backwards to make sure you are happy - from recommending restaurants and local attractions, to greeting you with a smile and a kind word each time they see you. They strive to make sure you are as comfortable as possible during your stay with them - absolutely wonderful service. As others have stated, this pension can be a challenge to locate, but I would suggest reading DCTravelerEgypt's review as he very detailed in his description of the best locations to park. The one setback to this location is that there are a lot of stairs - if you have some mobility challenges, this is not the place for you. There are stairs to access the pension, within the property itself, and to access places within Nafplio. I didn't mind this at all though - it's a great way to work off all the wonderful food you eat while you are here :-) and the area/village is SO quaint that even the stairs add a little to the flavour of the village. I would definitely come back if ever in Napflio again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I can't imagine a nicer place to stay in Nafplio. The owners, "The Friendly Zotos Brothers" are innkeepers without equal. This was hands-down the best accommodations we had in three weeks in Greece. The pension is located high on the hill just below the Akronafplia Fortress. There is ample nearby parking above the hotel within the fortress. Our room was a good size, nicely decorated, clean and well maintained. We had an incredible view over old town Nafplio and our own private balcony. Breakfast was very good served in a very nice breakfast overlooking the old town.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly when booking and ask for a room with a view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This unique hotel is the site of a former monastery. Every room is different. Stone arched walls are dramatized with lighting within the rooms. Location is close to the center of town were there are stores, cafes and restaurants. A short walk to a beautiful beach. Breakfast is adequate with local foods. One caveat: there are many steps, good if you like to exercise or are in good shape.
"The Brothers" as the owners are known, are very accommodating and want their guests to be happy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
0.1 mi away
Aetoma Hotel
Aetoma Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nafplio
597 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Perivoli
Hotel Perivoli
#3 of 38 in Nafplio
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leto Nuevo Hotel
Leto Nuevo Hotel
#5 of 38 in Nafplio
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
#7 of 38 in Nafplio
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amphitryon Hotel
Amphitryon Hotel
#11 of 38 in Nafplio
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Agamemnon
Hotel Agamemnon
#15 of 38 in Nafplio
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Marianna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Marianna

Property: Pension Marianna
Address: 9 Potamianou St., Nafplio, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nafplio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Green Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nafplio
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nafplio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pension Marianna 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Pension Marianna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Marianna Hotel Nafplio
Marianna Hotel Nauplion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing