We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Most Amazing Hotel”
Review of Pension Marianna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pension Marianna
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Nafplio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Most Amazing Hotel”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had the good fortune to be introduced to Nafplion through a forum on Trip Advisor and was also lucky enough to hear about this place from other Travelers.

This unique hotel is owned by three brothers. They have totally renovated a space that includes cave rooms as well as more typical hotel rooms. The cave rooms are amazing and I probably saw at least ten different rooms, each one unique. We stayed two nights in a typical room with a small balcony. It was located with several other rooms which all enjoyed an outside patio. The orange trees were just beginning to blossom so the smell was divine.

The brothers are attentive, generous and fantastic hosts. On our last day, one of the brothers helped us with our backpacks and actually walked us down to the bus stop. You would not be able to find better hosts. They were totally accommodating and showed us several room options before we made a choice.

They serve a lovely breakfast on the terrace. There are some hot and cold options with fresh lemon juice and fresh yogurt. There are hard boiled eggs and some Greek sweets. The terrace provides an amazing view of the old fortress, some castle remnants and a nice view of the city and waterfront.

There are some places you visit and you think, this was great but I probably won't be back. Not so with Pension Marianna. This is a place your soul will yearn for long after you've left.

Thanks for the great stay!

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phaera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    117
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
221
423
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We booked at the Pension Marianna for 3 nights after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and other sites. On arrival, we already knew to park by the abandoned hotel, so we found the pension without too much difficulty. The grounds are lovely, but it is the sweeping view of Nafplio and the bay beyond which takes one's breath away. It is truly a slice of paradise. We had the view from our room, and at breakfast on the terrace. The breakfast is delicious, with home baked items such as cheese pie, excellent Greek yogurt, house made marmalades and fruit. On the other side of the hill on which the pension sits is a beach and a beautiful view of the sea. The brothers who run Marianna are warm and hospitable. We did have a brief problem with WiFi on the day we wanted to check in for our flight home, but we were allowed to use the hotel computer.

Room Tip: The modern rooms with doors facing the back are likely to have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibawaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Booked this on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews and can't agree more!! This is a beautiful family run hotel with some of the loveliest, most helpful owners I have ever met who are genuinely passionate about this hotel. Rooms were beautiful, more like a 4/5* hotel than a budget one including fab shower and flat screen TVs. Lovely roof terrace and quiet courtyard downstairs. Very good breakfast included and the beer is very good value (much cheaper than drinking in town!). Easy walk in to town centre and Napflio is a great place to spend a few days. This hotel was almost full when we stayed which was in low season which I think speaks volumes. Cannot recommend highly enough!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiltonsville, Ohio USA
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel made our trip to Greece. We booked online from advice in Rick Steve's book, and after a couple days in Athens, arrived at this wonderful pension inside the castle walls. As one of my traveling companions remarked, she felt "just like a princess." We were quickly made to feel like one of the family, enjoying the organic breakfast from the farm and the beautiful views of the town. When hearing that the WIFI was not working in our rooms, the tehcnician was quickly called even though it was quite late in the evening. One of the brothers even made a trip downtown to make sure we put our postcards in the right box. What a heavenly vacation we had, and much of it due to our stay at Pension Marianna.

Room Tip: There are steps to consider so choose a room near the reception office and breakfast room if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We drove into town looking for a place to stay for the night and happened to see a small sign leading us to this pension. I jumped for joy because I had read about this place in Rick Steve's book as a highly recommended hotel. We parked our car and walked down a cobblestone path through one of the town's forts to get to this beautiful place. This hotel has three levels with lots of steps, which made it so beautiful and memorable. These steps lead to old town and could not have been more convenient (and magical). One of the nice brothers let us choose between three completely different rooms, all clean and wonderful, it was so hard to decide. We were sad to leave the next morning after breakfast but had to continue on to Sparta. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 644Lisanord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed out time. The owners were extremely helpful and service excellent. We had rooms with a view of the sea, and seats at small tables outside. Good value and the breakfast was above average. The hotel sits above the town with easy access to all of the activities of the town for those with strong legs. Those with mobility issues should ask for a room that does not require walking many stairs. Napflio is a nice combination of seaside resort and gateway to archaeological sites. Don't miss the open air market near downtown on Saturday - we nearly did. Highly recommended for a visit to this great seaside resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler48823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at Marianna for 2 nights and we had a great stay. The place is family-run, the brothers who run the place are all very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The hotel is clean and well taken care of, the breakfast is very nice and the roof top gives you a full view over the town of Nafplio. I can only recommend it, we had a great stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamochillina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
0.1 mi away
Aetoma Hotel
Aetoma Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nafplio
597 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Perivoli
Hotel Perivoli
#3 of 38 in Nafplio
394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leto Nuevo Hotel
Leto Nuevo Hotel
#5 of 38 in Nafplio
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
#7 of 38 in Nafplio
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amphitryon Hotel
Amphitryon Hotel
#11 of 38 in Nafplio
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Agamemnon
Hotel Agamemnon
#15 of 38 in Nafplio
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Marianna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Marianna

Property: Pension Marianna
Address: 9 Potamianou St., Nafplio, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nafplio
#1 Family Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Green Hotel in Nafplio
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nafplio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pension Marianna 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Pension Marianna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Marianna Hotel Nafplio
Marianna Hotel Nauplion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing