We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going to Nafplio? Stay here.”
Review of Pension Marianna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Marianna
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Nafplio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a recent trip to Nafplio, and it was absolutely fantastic. In fact, if they were booked, we'd rearrange our trip just to make sure we could stay here.

The location is fantastic. Up on a hill overlooking the town and sea, the view is great. There's a covered open-air terrace, which makes a great place to sit for an afternoon. Or to eat the super delicious provided breakfast.

The owners are really friendly, and gave us great recommendations. Charmingly, they would walk out to the Terrance, and point out where we should go. In practice, this might not have been quite as useful as a map, but it was way more fun.

Walking down the opposite side of the hill, there's a beach and beautiful walk along the coast.

The rooms themselves were clean and well maintained. Ours also had an ocean view, and its own outdoor seating, which was great for reading. The grounds were beautiful too, with lots of wild fruit trees. It's so nice, we were almost hesitant to leave to see any ancient sites!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathaniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 901 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here the beginning of June for 3 nights...we wished we could have stayed longer. Pension Marianna is a charming gem surrounding by citrus trees, flowering bushes, and narrow paths. It , like the town of Nafplio, is a beautiful and relaxing location from which to visit surrounding sites-especially Mycenae, and Epidauros. The brothers are wonderful...very warm, friendly and knowledgeable about the area and restaurants. Their lemonade is a treat we shall always remember! Their breakfasts were plentiful and varied, especially the delicious yogurt, YiaYia made marmalade from their fruit trees, family baked sweet breakfast cakes and rice pudding. It fueled us for our long sightseeing days. Nafplio is a wonderful place to walk...lots of shops, narrow paths, promenade, fort, beaches, and relaxing taverna. Our room had a terrace and a view of the harbor. We kept the shutters open and enjoyed the views and breeze. The clocks from the area churches was a listening pleasure.

Room Tip: Would recommend a room overlooking the beautiful harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YIaYia84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I and my family stayed for 1 night last June 8. It was our last night in Greece and a perfect place to end our trip. We got the family room and it was like an apartment with two adjoining rooms upstairs and a receiving room downstairs with one toilet. The place had loads of charm, the rooms were very clean and service was great. Mr Petros served us fresh lemonade when we arrived and gave us two colorful magazines about Nafplio.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tates12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband, adult son and I were blown away by the beauty and hospitality of this hotel! Nafplio is beautiful but Pension Marianna put the icing on the cake! We stayed 3 nights and hated to leave. The brothers who run it are very nice, although it's a hike to get there by foot it was well worth it. There is parking nearby if you have a car though. Sitting on our balcony at sunset was memorable and our breakfast was just as good sitting on the patio overlooking Nafplio. This hotel is a real gem and we will definately return! If you love gelato you must stop into "Antica Gelateria di Roma" in the village! Ummmm!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLRedrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We loved everything about Nafplio, but especially Pension Marianna.
This hotel is a little gem, with lots of character (in a good way). The rooms are beautiful and comfortable, and interesting! We were given a choice between an ocean view and one of the stone rooms off of a quiet courtyard. We opted for the lovely stone room, and enjoyed the stunning ocean view from the the breakfast patio each morning. Breakfast was included, and was wonderful, and the friendly Zotos brothers truly live up to their billing. This place is an excellent value, and I would absolutely stay here again.

One note about parking: If you drive up toward the Akronofplia, you get to a parking lot that is right above the Pension (easy walk down). This is MUCH easier than negotiating the narrow old town streets in hopes of finding a parking spot. The road up to the Akronofplia is easy to find, easy to drive, and parking up there saves a lot of headache.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Agree with previous reviews about the rooms, views and hosts. Note that the b-kfst veranda is shady, the yogurt is genuine, and the room is well lit. I am glad I chose it, and WOULD GO AGAIN.
Could do with more fresh vegs at b-kfst and some real choice on the TV. But these are minor carps. This is a grand place to stay, PROVIDED you're healthy and good on your own two feet:
from Fotomara street to the check-in desk you count 87 stairs. On the Acronafplion castle side, from the closest available parking, one still has to manage a downward slope, VERY uneven cobblestones, and some 25 down & up stairs. Any room you get is at some level where stairs are involved.

Room Tip: Stayed in #5. Great view from the window. Fruit trees outside the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We loved our time at the Marianna. The rooms are new, but with a traditional feel, and everything is clean and comfortable. Staying with family was easy, and the location makes walking through town very easy (though you'll want a car to see the sights and sites of the Argolid!).

The breakfasts were spectacular -- dining on the patio looking out to the harbour, eating farm-fresh food, is as nice a memory of Greece as one would want.

This is a family-run place, and over the course of a few days you come to feel you are well cared for by the Zotos brothers. I would not consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: rooms up top have a view of the harbour; rooms at the bottom are more spacious and individualistic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
0.1 mi away
Aetoma Hotel
Aetoma Hotel
#1 of 36 in Nafplio
631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leto Nuevo Hotel
Leto Nuevo Hotel
#4 of 36 in Nafplio
302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amphitryon Hotel
Amphitryon Hotel
#16 of 36 in Nafplio
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Perivoli
Hotel Perivoli
#3 of 36 in Nafplio
447 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
#6 of 36 in Nafplio
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Hotel
Byron Hotel
#12 of 36 in Nafplio
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Marianna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Marianna

Address: 9 Potamianou St., Nafplio, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nafplio
#1 Family Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Green Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nafplio
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nafplio
Price Range: $98 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pension Marianna 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pension Marianna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Marianna Hotel Nafplio
Marianna Hotel Nauplion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing