We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Nafplio
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at this establishment for one night - 3 adults. Room was large with a nice little balcony (internal so overlooking no much really), handy for drying washing. Close by is a decent size supermarket. Breakfast in the hotel met our needs. Great restaurants, and eateries not too far away. Make sure you check out this beautiful little town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macleej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 95 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed in Hotel Rex for one night and had a great time. the room was big and had everything (although the bathroom door was mold-eaten at the bottom part). Breakfast was satisfying and staff was helpfull. The location, as mentioned was great, minutes walk from the beach and attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is in close proximity to the town center. It is a decent, modest hotel, and it is not particularly expensive. It is very clean. The furniture is dated and seems a bit "grandma-ish" -- but that's why a room is affordable in this lovely resort town. The hotel has a small, but reliable, elevator. The people at the desk are helpful. The room we had this time around had a comfortable double bed, two small side tables with small lamps, a small desk, and a decent-sized remodeled bathroom. Our shower had a broken shower holder, but we managed. The toilet does not take toilet paper (like many places in Greece). The A/C worked well. The breakfasts were basic, with lunch meats, yogurt, bread, and fruit. The bedroom contained a TV and mini-fridge. A grocery store is conveniently located diagonally across the street.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettyb2973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We arrived in Nafpilo without a hotel reservation on a Friday afternoon and were referred to Rex another property; It turned out to be quite pleasant with a proper balcony with chairs and a small table. The view from here was of the mountaintop fortress. Breakfast (included) was good, and the location desirable.

I know nothing about the restaurant (except for the breakfast) or the pool, if there is one.

Room Tip: Our room was on the back; front rooms probably have sea views along with some traffic noise, althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BadOrderBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

The Rex is right at the centre of town and gives you easy access to the town. But there is nothing that really separates this hotel from thousands of others. The rooms are fairly small, but clean and comfortable. However, our requested double bed turned out to be two singles separated by a bedside lamp. They advertise free wi-fi to all of the rooms, but the system gets overloaded easily, and just shuts down when it feels like it. The breakfast was quite good, but they seemed to run out of food regularly and some people had to wait some time before the next batch appeared.
There is nothing particularly wrong with the hotel, but also nothing that puts into a class other than overage.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stayzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The two greatest advantages of the hotel is its strategic location -you can walk anywhere in town- and the politeness of its staff -except from the night shift guy. Other than that it's all average. The rooms are quite small and inconvenient. You cant open the clause unless you are ON the bed, or unless you push the bed away. The toilet is RIGHT next to the bed -reminded me of London hotels. It's pretty noisy, no sound-proof and the doors to the balconies are SO tricky to open -as they are probably 40-50 years old.

The super lie is that there is free parking... implying that the hotel has a free parking garage. There is NO parking garage. You can park in the surrounding streets, which are pretty crowded however, especially during the weekends, holidays, Mardi Gras etc. So, it goes without saying that the parking is free... but it's NOT guaranteed. I just wish that some hotel owners would stop lying about stuff like that. So OK, you are going to mislead people once... but never again. Breakfast OK.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Faye_JV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed just one night at the Rex Hotel but would have been happy to stay longer. The staff were very helpful with advice on where to eat; the room was adequate size and very clean; bathroom was a good size and well laid out; and the tariff was quite reasonable (although we did enjoy the winter discount). Overall, we're happy to recommend this hotel, although the air conditioning was set too hot and we had to turn it off.

Room Tip: Greek hotel rooms tend to be have the air conditioning set to hot! In the Rex Hotel, the air conditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chairmanbernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nafsimedon
Hotel Nafsimedon
#19 of 37 in Nafplio
110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Agamemnon
Hotel Agamemnon
#14 of 37 in Nafplio
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leto Nuevo Hotel
Leto Nuevo Hotel
#5 of 37 in Nafplio
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pension Omorfi Poli
Pension Omorfi Poli
#8 of 37 in Nafplio
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ilion Hotel Suites
Ilion Hotel Suites
#26 of 37 in Nafplio
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Byron Hotel
Byron Hotel
#15 of 37 in Nafplio
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: 21 Bouboulinas, Nafplio 211 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Nafplio
Price Range: $72 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Nauplion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing