We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine bar”
Review of Es Aei

Es Aei
Ranked #36 of 166 Restaurants in Nafplio
Price range: $12 - $20
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great wine bar”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Ok I'm a wine snob and Greek wine is not my thing. I've been drinking the house wine on this trip because it's so much cheaper than the bottles and not much different. The wine here was great! The tapas, while limited were wonderful. I suggest the cheese and sausage platter.

Helpful?
1 Thank traveling_mom-Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    18
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great little wine bar”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Excellent little wine bar that has a good selections of wine. They also have a small daily tapas menu with some tasty food. Owners were very friendly and happy to chat about Greek wine and Greece in general. Also check out the furniture inside as the owners have put together some excellent furniture out of recycled materials.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“For ever wines!!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Es Aei means "for ever" in ancien greek... This place and it's owner will stay for ever in my memories and my heart. Great choice of greek wines, small tapas, great place in a small, pitoresque street. If you are an alone tourist, if you are a couple, if you are a group of wine geeks - it's for everyone with good taste.
Enjoy and drink great greek wines!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Izabela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place to go in Nafplio!!!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The best wine bar/tapas in Nafplio, in the lanes of the old town (8 Staikopoulou Street) behind the Archeological Museum of the Square of Constitution! This is not the only surprise, since it is located next to the first parliament of the independent Greek State. The décor is contemporary, matching the alternative with the traditional style. And of course it keeps the same style on the tables and chairs in the lane of Staikopoulou street. Except from the list of good greek wine brands and several beers, it has different cocktails which may be accompanied by few delicious tapas and cheese/ham plates. As far as the music is concerned, it is ideal to relax and enjoy, while you may also talk….Jass, Lounge and sometimes during the week if you are lucky you may come across with live music (including Flamenco!!!). Last, but not least, the service is excellent, thanks to the owner Christos and the staff and I always like to go back there, either alone or with friends. I should not forget to mantion that it is value for money place. Have fun and see you around!!! Every time I visit Naflio, I pass by. More info in the following address: el-gr.facebook.com/EsAeiEnoteca

Katerina

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KATERINA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great wine bar, in a great location”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

my wife and I stopped by when staying in Nafplio for a couple days. We were in Greece to visit wineries for my job, and read that this was the best place in town for good Greek wines and we were very happy! the owner was welcoming, very knowledgeable, spoke great english, he helped recommend some great wines and had great snacks as well... I would recommend to anyone staying in Naflpio who likes to try good Greek wines!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank winenerdcron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Es Aei also viewed

Nafplio, Argolis Region
Nafplio, Argolis Region
 
Nafplio, Argolis Region
Nafplio, Argolis Region
 
Nafplio, Argolis Region
Nafplio, Argolis Region
 

Been to Es Aei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing