We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great balkonies”
Review of Amphitryon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amphitryon Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Nafplio
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great balkonies”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

As we 've been with my wife to most of the hotels of Nafplion, we can certainly recommend this one as the best in that city for your money's worth. Good view, very clean rooms and extremely pleasant staff. Much easier to find a parking for your car than any other place around. Make an early reservation...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HellasKifissia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    93
    36
    16
    6
See reviews for
45
137
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife, daughter (7.5), and I had the pleasure of staying at the Amphitryon in Early-Mid July '2013, and will definitely consider it again, when in the area. Finding it is quite easily accomplished as it sits on the waterfront (look for the island/fort across the bay, keep following the coastal road then look for the building on the left), right across the Bay from the famous Island/Fort of "Bourtzi".

After a prompt/professional/helpful and very warm reception, we were shown to our upgraded room (Leading Hotel Member), with a nice variety of welcome gifts (fruits, "tsipouro", sweets etc..). The room with it's fantastic view (I believe most if not all rooms have the same) across the Bay, had a very comfortable bed and THE BEST SMELLING TOWELS I HAVE EVER SEEN!!! Seriously!!..... I know this may sound a bit comical, but as you can see from my previous reviews, we're not novices to 4-5 star Hotel stays, but we have NEVER smelled a more delicate yet intense aroma from any bath linens!!..... ANYWHERE!!

... Surely this fact on its own, may not prompt you to stay at the property, but since we almost slept with the towels over our covers so as to enjoy the scent overnight, I def. thought it was worth an honorable mention :-).... Now back to the review:

Room and grounds were immaculately clean and modern. A "Boat Like" theme/feel is reflected throughout, complete w/round hallway windows and polished wood reminiscent of a luxury yacht.

The location couldn't have been better for waterfront or city walks and easy access to all restaurants, taverns and many stores in town.... Although the Hotel does not have a pool, we were delighted to find out we had access to the sister property's amenities (which includes a pool w/a fabulous view over the old town)!!

Breakfast staff was kind, attentive, efficient, and the options were plentiful and fresh.

Staff in general were kind, professional, very helpful w/local info, prompt and warm....

Would definitely consider the property when in Nafplio again.

Hope this helps :)

Room Tip: Join LHW for the many perks :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SayafK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Location and sea views are what you are paying for at this property. And i must say the views from the rooms were great. That said, the property has great potential. Some areas are very nice, Hotel restaurant on terrace as well as the common areas. The breakfast room was in need of new furniture, seats were worn. Breakfast was large and varied but just good, not great. The reception and Bellman were very attentive. The wait staff at breakfast efficient but cool reception. This is not what i consider a leading hotel of the world. Its a good 3-4 star place that is overpriced. You pay for the view. If you want charm then one of the many inns in the old town is a better bet. This place has great potential just needs updating in rooms and other areas i mentioned. Also the price/value is not right.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markblume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Everything about Amphitryon Hotel is great, except the fact that - like ALL Greek hotels - the beds are too hard and not really comfortable. So, given that this hotel is fairly pricey, I would expect the beds to be more comfy. Apart from that I was really satisfied with the location, room and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located close to the quaint town centre with stunning views across the water. The rooms were comfortable, spotlessly clean and well appointed and the balcony provided a quiet haven to people watch and enjoy the views. Breakfast was good but staff were not very welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The location of the hotel is fairly close to the central square and the view out over the water is beautiful. The breakfast was disappointing. The mattress was quite firm but O.K. The staff were able to arrange for a good taxi driver to take us to neighboring ancient sites 2 different days and we took a bus to Epidaurus on the third day. Otherwise the people were somewhat indifferent to our presence.

Room Tip: Room 309 was spacious and had a nice balcony with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebe059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is in a great location overlooking the bay and right around the corner from a very quaint shopping district. The staff is helpful, but their English is a little rough. The rooms are comfortable with beautiful views from the balcony. A pathway that goes around the point, right next to the shoreline is just outside the door. The only negative is a little triangle of land that is right across the road. It is in disrepair because government bureaucracies are arguing about who has jurisdiction. This is true of other spots in the town as well. Nafplio is definitely a great place to go. It would be even better if the government could get its act together and the youth would stop with the graffiti all over the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRTomw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
0.1 mi away
Nafplia Palace Hotel
Nafplia Palace Hotel
#11 of 38 in Nafplio
242 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
#7 of 38 in Nafplio
606 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Perivoli
Hotel Perivoli
#3 of 38 in Nafplio
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agamemnon
Hotel Agamemnon
#18 of 38 in Nafplio
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aetoma Hotel
Aetoma Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nafplio
605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leto Nuevo Hotel
Leto Nuevo Hotel
#5 of 38 in Nafplio
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphitryon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphitryon Hotel

Property: Amphitryon Hotel
Address: Spiliadou Street, Nafplio 211 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nafplio
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nafplio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amphitryon Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Amphitryon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amphitryon Hotel Nauplion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing