We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grande Bretagne Hotel Nafplio
Nearby Hotels
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Athena(Nafplio)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pension Isabo(Nafplio)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapodistrias(Nafplio)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Elena(Nafplio)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveler rating
51
71
19
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
71
19
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent locationvery nice hotelthe wi fiold townthe ground floorluxury hotelconvenient locationsquareatticportparkingdecorationheart
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 149 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I decided to stay in this hotel given its central location and the good reviews it has received here. I must say, I felt disappointed. In my humble opinion, the hotel is definetely not a 4-star one. It has a nice interior and it is very clean. However, these things are not enough when you are want to be called a 4-star hotel.

The breakfast was really mediocre; no variety, no fresh fruits, fresh juice or bread. I remember one day we went down 10 minutes before the breakfast time was expiring, and many staff was finished, but not replaced.

I saw in the door room, the price was 190 Eur/night, but I got an offer of 120 Eur/night. I believe with this amount, you can definitely get something better in this lovely city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntsaousis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is located just near the harbour of the oldest city of Greece.
Nice and silence atmosphere. Good service and very friendly staff.
Definitive a place to come back again! And a very interesting town with lots
of great restaurants!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

this is a very nice hotel situated by the sea with view to the castle. The rooms were clean and well furnished. We had a great time. The only thing that could be ameliorated was the breakfast. in our opinion such a hotel should have a bigger breakfast buffet.
Overall it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

As the guide books say, it is a heritage hotel on Nafplio's waterfront. Top rooms have balconies with views towards Argos. It really takes you back, but not in comfort. These boutique hotels are worth a visit if only to remind you that small is beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BowyerOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We visited Nafplio for one night on October 6, 2012. Originally we had booked into a different place via venere.com, as we had left it very late to make the reservation and not much was available. When we got to the accommodation we had booked, they told us there had been a mistake and in fact they were full. We weren't too happy to hear this, but one of the girls from that hotel assured us that they had a vacancy at an 'associated' hotel. She got in our car with us and showed us the way to the Grande Bretagne. Once we arrived at the Grande Bretagne all our concerns were allayed!

All of the key points have been covered in the reviews prior to mine - the Grande Bretagne is a lovely building, right on the square near the waterfront. Plenty of choices for bars and restaurants within a few steps of the hotel - even more a few hundred metres away. The Palamidi Castle sits on the ridge above the hotel and looks spectacular lit up at night. The little tourist train that runs around the city starts from the parking lot across the square from the hotel. You can park here for free, though it can be hard to find a spot when it's busy on a weekend.

The staff were very helpful and nice, and they served a great breakfast in a nice room on the ground floor. Nafplio is a beautiful town, and pretty much everything you'd want to see is within an easy walk from the Grande Bretagne. We would have loved to have stayed there for a bit longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews