We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The other reviews are right - this is a great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grande Bretagne Hotel Nafplio
Ranked #11 of 52 Nafplio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We visited Nafplio for one night on October 6, 2012. Originally we had booked into a different place via venere.com, as we had left it very late to make the reservation and not much was available. When we got to the accommodation we had booked, they told us there had been a mistake and in fact they were full. We weren't too happy to hear this, but one of the girls from that hotel assured us that they had a vacancy at an 'associated' hotel. She got in our car with us and showed us the way to the Grande Bretagne. Once we arrived at the Grande Bretagne all our concerns were allayed!

All of the key points have been covered in the reviews prior to mine - the Grande Bretagne is a lovely building, right on the square near the waterfront. Plenty of choices for bars and restaurants within a few steps of the hotel - even more a few hundred metres away. The Palamidi Castle sits on the ridge above the hotel and looks spectacular lit up at night. The little tourist train that runs around the city starts from the parking lot across the square from the hotel. You can park here for free, though it can be hard to find a spot when it's busy on a weekend.

The staff were very helpful and nice, and they served a great breakfast in a nice room on the ground floor. Nafplio is a beautiful town, and pretty much everything you'd want to see is within an easy walk from the Grande Bretagne. We would have loved to have stayed there for a bit longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djk_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 140 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

Unfortunately we only got to stay here for 1 night. A lovely grand hotel, friendly staff, good breakfast and great location. Nafplio is a gorgeous town and worth a visit. One of our favourite places so far.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, ours didn't have it but we were only here for 1 night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butterflygirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was back in Nafplio this year for my third visit. This time I came with three friends, and once again, we all stayed in the Grande Bretagne Hotel. It is my personal favourite hotel for four good reasons. First, it has comfortable, spacious, clean, modern rooms with free wifi. Second, the hotel amenities are first class, with a spotless breakfast room full of good things for breakfast and a bar and coffee/dining room for day and evening use. Third, it is located right on the waterfront square, and from my room I had a view of the Nafplio Promenade and the wonderful little Bourtzi fort just offshore, plus I could see right out across the Bay of Argos to the Castle of Argos on the other side. Ask for Room 212 on the third floor and you'll be thrilled by the view. Fourth, it is convenient. The Grande Bretagne Hotel is ideally situated for you to explore all that Nafplio has to offer, There are boats to Bourtzi right across the little square outside. There are a row of waterfront cafes on the Promenade ten yards from the front door. The city's best Gelato Bar is at the back of the hotel building itself. The wonderful Archaeological Museum is barely 100 yards away. There are restaurants all around. It's a short level stroll through the old town to the bus station and the taxi rank, from where you can get busses (or taxis) to all the wonderful archaeological sites in the area (Tyrens, Argos, Mycenae, Epidauros), or back to Athens. Everything is handy to the hotel, and the staff are extra friendly and will help you to see it all too. It's just magic to stay here, which is why I keep coming back. So, The Grande Bretagne remains for me the only place to stay in Nafplio whenever I come to town. Give it a try, and you'll be sold on it too. And remember ... Room 212.

Room Tip: Room 212 is my favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My wife and 3 daughters recently stayed at this hotel. The location is amazing being right in the main square. The rooms are very modern and clean and the breakfast is fantastic!! There is no doubt that we will stay here again whenever we go back to Nafplio. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Fantastic value!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMHAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Grande Bretagne Hotel has the best location in Nafplio. I visited the beautiful Peloponnese, which is just south of Athens this past weekend with a business associate. I was pleasantly surprised at the relaxing countryside and seafront communities…a very relaxing weekend. The City of Nafplio (the original capital of Greece) is the best location…being close to the several surrounding sights of historic significance across the Peloponnese.

The Grande Bretagne Hotel is the perfect base for anyone wishing to explore the surrounding areas or enjoy just a relaxing weekend with a friend or loved one away from the hustle and bustle of city life in Athens. The hotel rooms are impeccable, the atmosphere is welcoming and the hotel staff members I encountered were quite helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHirko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Very nice hotel facing the harbour. Large rooms good service.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a balcony facing the harbour at the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0210Kristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is an excellent hotel, excellent location. Of the other two hotels in old Nafplio in the same class, this has by far the best location. The rooms are huge and elegant, views of the sea.

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor are slightly smaller but have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ho6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
0.1 mi away
Amphitryon Hotel
Amphitryon Hotel
#17 of 37 in Nafplio
295 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
Amalia Hotel Nauplia
#7 of 37 in Nafplio
652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nafplia Palace Hotel
Nafplia Palace Hotel
#16 of 37 in Nafplio
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aetoma Hotel
Aetoma Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nafplio
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Sarai Nafplio
Grand Sarai Nafplio
#8 of 37 in Nafplio
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agamemnon
Hotel Agamemnon
#14 of 37 in Nafplio
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Bretagne Hotel Nafplio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Bretagne Hotel Nafplio

Address: Filelinon Square, Nafplio 211 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Nafplio
Price Range: $134 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Bretagne Hotel Nafplio 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grande Bretagne Hotel Nafplio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing