We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget-friendly pension in Greece's most beautiful city”
Review of Pension Filyra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pension Filyra
Ranked #11 of 50 Nafplio B&B and Inns
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent budget-friendly pension in Greece's most beautiful city”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The most beautiful little city in Greece has to be Nafplion and Filyra Pension is an excellent, budget-friendly place to stay. Most of the accommodations in this lovely town of older buildings are pensions (as opposed to hotels) and you will see why as soon as you get there – the beautiful architecturally pleasing buildings of this first capital of modern Greece are almost all a few hundred years old. Filyra Pension is situated in the nook of a little sidestreet which is quiet and protected from any motorcycle noise, yet very close to the action of the church square and all the shopping streets. We had a room for three which was a comfortable size for 3 adults and was decorated beautifully. Noor and her husband were helpful, answered all our questions, and kept our bags for the last day since we didn't want to leave until the last minute. The pension is just a 10 minute walk from the lively Aravanitia swimming beach, and the staircase (of 900 steps) up to the fort is on the way. Also Filyra Pension is very close to the big public square with the bus station. This is where the public bus will arrive from Athens, and where you can get a different public bus up to the ancient theater and archaeological site at Epidaurus. (Note: the site is "Epidavros Teatro," high in the mountains, as opposed to Epidavros the town on the coast.) Everything about Filyra Pension was excellent- good plumbing, plenty of hot water, quiet rooms complete with snacks, coffee pot and a mini fridge, all with a very reasonable price and lovely decor. To find it, walk a few short blocks down Papanikolaou until you see the back of a church. Take a very sharp right turn, go down a few steps and you will see it in the bend. It's something between a street and a walkway. (And if you need a good market, the Carrefours is close by, just behind the post office.) You can spend a lot more for a view and breakfast, but we liked the close access and better price here.

Room Tip: There is a family room on the top floor that has a small kitchen and sleeps four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plscottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    23
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
58
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Very good service,large room offered all the modern amenities. Just steps away from the bus station.In the room there was every day a basket with breakfast , although not mentioned in the booking. Cleanliness levels in a 5 stars hotel. Immediate response to all our requests. Definitely one of the top-10 of our choices for the 25 years we travel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danai865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

After some time spent in worn out rooms at some other hotels in Greece, it was a pleasure to stay here in a remodeled room with a large bathroom and FULL NORMAL shower! Many places have just a corner for a shower. The room was not large, but enough to put luggage and move around. One minus was that the only window faced a narrow street and the neighboring house. The street wasn't busy, though, at all, and there were sufficient curtains/blinds, etc.
The hotel manager was very nice and friendly, provided some maps, directions. Their entry door played a trick on us one night. We managed to get locked out around 10 pm. Even though the manager was already home at that time, she came back to save us right away, when we called her cell number.
Everything was working fine, and we were in the heart of the old town, 3 minute walk from the bus stop and with no stairs to climb with luggage. No views, but hey, we are on the go most of the time anyway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreamlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed with my boyfriend for 2 nights in October. It is located in the center of Nafplio, 1 minute from the bus station. From the room you can see the traditional houses of the town.
The whole pension is incredible clean and we had room service and clean towels both days.
Inside the room you will find a coffee maker, a water warmer, jam, butter and 2 toasts for each person. There is also a cute picnic basket and a thermos you can use.
I was completely satisfied.
The only thing I should note is that considering this is a traditional building, the soundproofing was inadequate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilektra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at Filyra Pension for two nights on October 12 and 13.
The room was big enough with a huge bathroom and located on the ground floor.
Unfortunately, the weather allowed us to keep the window open but their was too
much noise made from the guests from the next door pension. We could have used the air-con but wasn't that necessary for that time of year and the air would come straight at us. I didn't like that as I has a 6 month old sleeping with us in the room.
Apart from that the room was okay as it had a small fridge, water heater for coffee, coffee maker, butter, jam and crackers for a very light breakfast.
The room was decorated nicely but it wasn't as clean as it should have been especially the small stand where the towels were on in the bathroom had dust and hair on it.

Otherwise it was close to the center and it wasn't bad for the price (75 euros for 2 nights).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina392009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here very much. Filyra Pension is located in a traditional house in the old town of Nafplio. It is located just off one of the main streets so it is reasonably quiet, but just a few steps away from shops and restaurants. It is also just a short walk to the beach at Arvanitia, the bus station, Syntagma Square and all the town's attractions.

My room was quite spacious, very light and airy with traditional shuttered windows, one with a small balcony, opening onto the street. The entrance was separate to reception, so you felt that you could come and go as you pleased, and only needed to go into reception when you needed to ask something.

Breakfast is not included in the very reasonable room rate, but there is a small fridge in the room and they leave you a few small items which you can easily supplement from the nearby bakery and supermarket. The coffee maker in the room was a real added bonus.

The staff were very friendly and appreciative of my efforts to speak Greek to them. This was my second trip to Nafplio. If I go back again, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The door to the room they put us in opened directly into the reception area and I was worried that it would be a little noisy, but it turned out that there are only people around when they are cleaning the rooms or when they are expecting people to check in or our. It ended up being quiet and cozy.

The hotel is very hard to find and it's wise to get detailed directions ahead of time. If you have a car, I would recommend just parking in the main city lot and walking into the historic district, as driving in is a bit of a nightmare. Except for when we went to explore historic sites in the area, we just left our car parked in the big city lot.

The room itself was spacious and the bathroom was huge. It was clean and well cared for. The hotel is owned by two sisters who run it and they were very nice and very helpful during our stay. Since the hotel is right in the main historic district, it was very easy to walk to restaurants and other attractions. We definitely enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank land_shark77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nafplio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Agamemnon
Hotel Agamemnon
#17 of 38 in Nafplio
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atheaton Traditional Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
Aetoma Hotel
Aetoma Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nafplio
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leto Nuevo Hotel
Leto Nuevo Hotel
#5 of 38 in Nafplio
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Marianna
Pension Marianna
#2 of 38 in Nafplio
819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amphitryon Hotel
Amphitryon Hotel
#11 of 38 in Nafplio
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Filyra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Filyra

Property: Pension Filyra
Address: 29 Terzaki Agelou, Nafplio, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Nafplio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Nafplio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pension Filyra 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Pension Filyra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing