We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”
Review of Anniska & Liakoto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anniska & Liakoto
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kardamili
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We stayed in Liakoto for two weeks during the school holidays in July. Kardamili is a very special place and we would definitely go back. We have already recommended it to friends and family for a truly unspoilt part of Greece. We had a complete sea view, perfect for breakfast on the balcony and evening drinks. Kardamili is a fantastic Greek village backed by stunning mountains. The owners were fantastic and made us very welcome. Kardamili will always be a very special place for us as we got engaged while we were on holiday. We are bigs fans of Greece and all of the places we've been, this probably is top of our list.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chanston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    49
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
93
175
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

These two sister hotels face the sea on the bay of Kardamyli. We chose Liakoto as it has a pool, and booked the Penthouse suite which has a double room, a twin room, two bathrooms and living room with kitchenette, largish terrace overlooking the pool and two balconies overlooking the sea.
It was perfect for a 6 night stay, and is exactly as it appears on the website. Don't expect a luxury hotel: the building is relatively modern and perhaps lacks a little in character, and this is this is self-catering vs 5 * room service, but extremely clean and comfortable, and with the genuinely friendly and hands-on involvement of Anglo-Greek owners Geraldine and Elia, who really do go the extra mile. We arrived to find a welcome note, with complimentary wine, olive oil and cold drinks, and Korres bath products. They also serve lunch at Anniska, and the meze was amongst the best we had in the Peloponnese... The pool is lovely, whether you are using it as an aide to sunbathing or have small children, and the sea is simply glorious, with lader steps into the water if like me you hate the pebbles / sand of the beach....
We will definitely return, and strongly recommend, with the one proviso that Kardamyli is not a nightlife hotspot, nor watersport mecca: our teenagers felt 6 days was plenty, whereas we could have happily stayed for a couple of weeks, just soaking up the sun and swimming in the sea....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jleech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

This is our second visit to Liakoto and Anniska, and as we have it planned, will be just one of many This is the first time in 11 years we have been together that we have booked a holiday a year in advance (rather than 2 weeks before) and are excited about the idea of returning to the same place. The village of Kardamyli is magical, and these apartments complete the circle and meet all our needs. As I understand it all the apartments have a terrace with a sea view, and Liakoto has a fab pool with is also available to those who are booked in at Anniska. (If you can afford the extra few quid I would recommend Liakoto over Anniska because of the proximity of the pool.)
The apartments are simple but functional and spotlessly clean, the staff are really nice and very helpful, and the owners-Gerry and Ilia- are lovely. For some reason it also attracts a really nice clientele and so making friends with other families with kids has been easy. Despite the number of kids the place is really peaceful and quiet time is imposed round the pool between 2pm and 5pm so adults n those without kids can relax. If the kids get bored there are computers for them to play on. Other positives include; a terrace bar overlooking the sea, really nice food - (light lunch n snacks), the sea is 10 metres away, a beautiful beach 10 minutes walk away, a local dive centre and a big choice of places to eat in the evening. we used to take most of our holidays with clubmed but have found this offers us something very similar, but is a preferable truly authentic alternative way of clearing the pollution of city living from your soul!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed at the Anniska in July and loved it. We had been there once before and weren't disappointed. Our room was 204A (above reception) and we have a view of the courtyard. Only complaint was lots of ants on the balcony, but could find no other fault with our stay. Choose the Anniska (over Liakoto) if you don't have children. It's quiet and serene. There is free internet in the lounge and my family back home got a kick from seeing us watch the sunset on the beautiful terrace via the webcam. We'll be back :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welovetotravel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We recently came back from a weeks holiday, staying at Anniska Hotel in Kardamili. We've never had such a relaxing, stress free holiday, The owners Ilia and Gerry and their staff could not do enough to make us feel welcome. Anniska Hotel is located in a small, yet vibrant village with beautiful scenery every way you turn. Can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabiHey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Our seaview Anniska apartment was perfect for our needs, bright, spotless, good shower, balcony to drink rose on as the sun set. The owners are charming and totally helpful and were loved by our 14 year old girls, especially when complimentary fresh orange juice or homemade icecreams arrived to cool us down on the terrace. Quiet and peaceful and just chilled. Heaven.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carostraker61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Just returned from a week staying in one of the studio apartments at the Anniska hotel and had a wonderful, relaxing week. The apartment was spacious, right on the sea front, so perfect for early morning swim and the hotel has plenty of sun loungers and parasols set up for guests to use. If you stay at the Anniska you can use the pool at the sister Liakoto hotel, which is one block away. The staff were extremely helpful, booking taxis for us, a local boat trip and helped us sort out bike hire. The veranda offers a fabulous view over the sea and a lovely spot to start the evening with a drink. Food is only available at lunch time, but the lunches are delicious. The hotel is literally a 2 minute walk from the Kardamila town centre, which has a wide choice of great local restaurants and cafes, plus a clutch of 'arty' shops. I was also pleasantly surprised at the prices, as Kardamila is an hour from Kalamata and 15 minutes from the next town, I expected the restaurants to be expensive but we paid an average of 15 - 20 euros for dinner which was 2 courses plus wine. The only word of caution I would add is that there are no sandy beaches in Kardamila, only pebbles, and you have to go to the next town along the coast (Stoupa 5 miles away) for sand. However, the sea is crystal clear and perfect for swimming and we even saw loads of fish in the water right in front of our hotel so it is worth taking your goggles / snorkel with you. This is defintely a hotel and town for a quiet, relaxing break where you can a chance chill out and slow down.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctt15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamili
0.4 mi away
Vardia Hotel
Vardia Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kardamili
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palataki Villas Holiday Resort
1.1 mi away
Notos Hotel
Notos Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kardamili
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Lefktron Hotel
Lefktron Hotel
#1 of 9 in Stoupa
179 reviews
5.7 mi away
Anaxo Resort
Anaxo Resort
#3 of 9 in Stoupa
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Polismata
Polismata
#2 of 17 in Kardamili
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anniska & Liakoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anniska & Liakoto

Property: Anniska & Liakoto
Address: Kardamili | Messinia, Kardamili 240 22, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kardamili
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kardamili
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anniska & Liakoto 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anniska and Liakoto are situated in a quiet cul-de-sac on the sea front in the centre of Kardamyli. Restaurants and shops are a moment's walk away. The spacious rooms have either sea or mountain views. Liakoto has a pool that both hotels can use and you can have a drink on Anniska's sea-front terrace. British/Australian couple Ilia and Geraldine offers guests a warm welcome and local knowledge to ensure a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anniska & Liakoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anniska & Liakoto Hotel Kardamili
Anniska And Liakoto
Anniska Liakoto Kardamila
Anniska Liakoto Hotel Kardamila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing