We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again, again”
Review of Anniska & Liakoto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anniska & Liakoto
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kardamili
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Back for the second time in 2012 - once in June and once in October. Still just as wonderful. Kardamyli was quiter this time (and at the end of the season, we expected a bit), but I got the impression that other places in the village hadn't done as well this year. That Liakoto was still doing great business is of course no surprise at all - Gerry and Ilia continue to run a fantastic hotel and for us it is the best and in the best position. We walked past one of the other large hotels just outside the village and it looked deserted...

This time we took a bunch of friends some of whom had not been before. Several have booked for next year already, so that says a lot.

The sea was still wonderfully warm - went swimming, snorkelling and scuba diving and enjpoyed it as much as ever.

Room Tip: All rooms have at least some sort of sea view. we stayed in the "penthouse" - one balcony...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JemD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
There are newer reviews for Anniska & Liakoto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 370 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Liakoto in November. The owners, Ilia and Gerry, were tremendously helpful when we learned our airline reservations needed to be changed. The weather was beautiful and we enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere in Kardamili. Unfortunately, since we were there off-season, some of the highly-recommended restaurants were closed. However, we could easily walk to a small grocery store, and our room included excellent cooking facilities. It was easy for us to tour the Mani coast from this spot. We'd love to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have recently been back - got home yesterday! - for 2 weeks at Liakoto for the second time this year. We took a group of friends some first time visitors. Whilst the weather was a complete surprise - the owners were talking about the 80th day of August! - the accommodation was not. As ever Gerry and Ilia paid every attention to detail - clean and beautiful fitted out accommodation; fantastic welcome; and even better Greek wines from the wine list. It is so great to see them championing local producers - who are really upping their game.

We had the most amazing two weeks in the penthouse - with sea and mountain views - glorious sunrises over Taygetos and lovely sunsets over Messina. Our friends finally understand now why we keep coming back - and at least 4 of us will be back next year!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank segmaniot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Now could not be a better time to go to Greece, there's peace and tranquility at Kardamili. Liakoto is delightful in every way, friendly thoughtful owners, wonderful position right by the sea, spotlessly clean rooms and linen - swimming towels, a library of books in several languages for those of us without Kindles. The villagers are friendly and helpful, and there are 10 restaurants within easy walking distance and the nightlife is gentle and civilized. The sea is still warm and the sun is still hot......what more could one ask for?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank protorhodos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Previous reviewers have said 'this is the paradise you only ever imagined' and 'heaven is a place on earth'. They are not wrong. Step out of the front into the sea or walk out of the back into the hills. See the sun rise over the mountains and watch it sink into the sea. In between do whatever you want. Surely anyone's definition of a perfect day.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor overlooking the sea and/or the pool for the best views
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a model of what holiday accomodation should be, really. The studio in Liakoto (we had 214) is equipped with a little hob, fridge, coffee maker, kettle, enough crockery etc for simple self catering. The room is spacious, comfortable, clean, the shower etc all works properly. The view is right on to the sea and the sunset, and you can swim either in the pool or walk about 30metres to a swiming platform for the sea. The owners are very good: friendly, hospitable, available and infomative - without being at all intrusive. there are nice little touches- they'll bring you iced water if it's really hot by the pool, or on one day brought round some ice cream.... Really good hosts.

Hard to find anything wrong. Location is great, central but quiet. Kardamili is a small and peaceful village but enough restaurants and shops to make it very practical without a car (though there are some great road trips if you want).

Oh and it is good value too.

Room Tip: The sea view is worth trying to get, so ask. But the pool view rooms get morning sun, so do not worr...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you are looking for a lovely quiet and unspoilt Greek town with a good selection of tavernas and bars then this is the place to go. Liakoto is peaceful, good facilities with lovely sea views. The owners could not have been more welcoming and helpful - they really want you to enjoy your stay with them. The sea is beautiful and clear - swimming off the old jetties will remain a favourite holiday memory. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Liakoto is better for families with kids than Anniska due to the pool. Enjoy!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshwomanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamili
0.4 mi away
Vardia Hotel
Vardia Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kardamili
160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Notos Hotel
Notos Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kardamili
38 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palataki Villas Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Lefktron Hotel
Lefktron Hotel
#1 of 9 in Stoupa
198 reviews
10.3 mi away
Filoxenia
Filoxenia
#5 of 21 in Kalamata
399 reviews
5.7 mi away
Anaxo Resort
Anaxo Resort
#2 of 9 in Stoupa
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anniska & Liakoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anniska & Liakoto

Address: Kardamili | Messinia, Kardamili 240 22, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kardamili
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kardamili
Price Range: $99 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Anniska & Liakoto 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anniska and Liakoto are situated in a quiet cul-de-sac on the sea front in the centre of Kardamyli. Restaurants and shops are a moment's walk away. The spacious rooms have either sea or mountain views. Liakoto has a pool that both hotels can use and you can have a drink on Anniska's sea-front terrace. British/Australian couple Ilia and Geraldine offers guests a warm welcome and local knowledge to ensure a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Anniska & Liakoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anniska & Liakoto Hotel Kardamili
Anniska And Liakoto
Anniska Liakoto Kardamila
Anniska Liakoto Hotel Kardamila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing