We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, functional, friendly, well-located & well-run”
Review of Vardia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vardia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kardamili
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at this place in the dead of winter, and were the only people there. We had a great time and found this clean, friendly, well-situated place to be entirely adequate for our needs.

Situated on a bluff overlooking town, and accessible to it through a short flight of steps leading to a pretty olive grove just behind town, the hotel has an awesome sunset view (which all rooms get). We had a decent-sized balcony. The rooms are functional rather than stylish - white walls, marble tiles, old-fashioned fittings - and the bathrooms are small and without any hint of avante garde - but that was OK for us. Aircon and a radiator combined kept the cold of winter at bay, not that this area gets really brutally cold anyway. The suite we were in had a small kitchen/dining area that’d suit a small family, if you wanted to cook/eat in. Breakfasts were hearty with a great variety of cold cuts, cheeses, fruit, yoghurt with honey, omelet, pastries, etc. We didn’t need lunch after this!

At the price, this was one of the best-value places we stayed during our 2-week Greece winter sojourn. The location is great (esp. for walkers, as it backs onto the hills where great trails can be found), the service attentive, everything is clean & functional, and the sunset view priceless. I’d stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoamingNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 166 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!!”

A wonderful hotel full in positive energy, in a wonderfully elevated position with stunning views over Kardamil village and the sea. The huge and well equipped rooms with the most inspiring balconies with astonishing view will captured your heart. The amazing owner with her wonderful welcome and her positive attitude helps you a lot to enjoy your staying there. Me and my friends have been staying there for a few days -the most wonderful days of our summer 2012. Definetely we will visited again next summer!
Tip: Dont forget to try the wonderful breakfast and the vardia's oregano from mountain Taygetos!.

Stayed 7-9 July 2012, travelled with friends. Thank you for your wonderful welcome.We really enjoyed the place and the hotel!

Room Tip: Choose "Higher floors'' to admire the view and fill the positive energy in the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aikaterini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Kardamili is in a quiet location surrounded by stunning scenery, great for walkers. Aparthotel Vardia is 15 minutes walk uphill from town and is extremely comfortable and well run. Breakfast was delicious and served on hotel terrace, rooms have well-equipped kitchenette but town offers a wide variety of restaurants at very reasonable prices. Hotel owner speaks fluent English and is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kath558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Wonderful hotel. Quiet. Great value. Fabulous views. Very well run. Rooms have everything you need and are extremely good value - as are the breakfasts, which are well worth the few extra Euro. The owners are charming and speak excellent English. The walk to the beach is 15-20 minutes, but most peoiple who were staying seemed to have cars anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickm61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A family run hotel in a wonderfully elevated position with stunning views over Kardamil village and the sea, comfortable well equipped rooms and a balcony with views that are amazing. Owners and staff so friendly and helpful, try the breakfast ! We have been staying here for a few days every year since 2007, we always receive a wonderful welcome and would never stay anywhere else !

Room Tip: Every room is good, all have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roblew2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

If you just want to get away from it all and have a great time, this is the place. Everything is outstanding. The views and rooms were great, as the other review said, don;t tell your friends, keep this one for yourself. I would travel from the states to go on vacation here and forget the rest of greece.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but I would ask for the last room on the second floor, that was our room and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fleet68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Staff is very helpful for local areas of interest, restaurants, and shopping

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies and great views-extremely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimbob1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamili
0.4 mi away
Anniska & Liakoto
Anniska & Liakoto
#2 of 6 in Kardamili
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palataki Villas Holiday Resort
5.7 mi away
Anaxo Resort
Anaxo Resort
#2 of 9 in Stoupa
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Notos Hotel
Notos Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kardamili
42 reviews
8.2 mi away
Akti Taygetos Conference Resort
10.7 mi away
Horizon Blu
Horizon Blu
#1 of 21 in Kalamata
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vardia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vardia Hotel

Address: Messinia, Kardamili 240 22, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kardamili
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kardamili
Price Range: $68 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vardia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having the crystal blue waters of the Messinian bay and the magical earth of Mani as its background, the hotel VARDIA literally hangs over the old city of Kardamyli. Being in perfect harmony with this enchanting environment and the simple architectural design of the surrounding area, the hotel has been built by the local masons and technicians with stone and wood as its main structural elements.Amidst green gardens and multi-colored flower blooms, stone-paved paths and balconies offering a magnificent view, the hotel welcomes its visitors in a serene and incomparably seductive environment, offering them rare hospitality, as well as a really pleasurable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vardia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vardia Hotel Kardamila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing