We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so impressed”
Review of Kalamitsi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kalamitsi Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kardamili
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed in a 2room apartment (they name it a junior suite I doubt though). It is very clean, has a great view and it is much less hot than all the other territory. Its location is good, and he gardens and private beach beautiful (even though there was some petrol-pissa on the beach and we got some on our swimsuites and shoes-though this is not the hotel's fault. However for what the hotel offers I found it quite pricey (120euros no breakfast included) and I would not go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Kalamitsi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 73 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2011

This hotel has been a Peloponnese favourite of ours for many years. This latest visit was after a seven year gap and we were interested to see what we would find. No worries, the hotel was as good as ever and it had been a wise decision to return. So why is it so good?

- It is stylish, quiet, well appointed and oozing charm and character
- It is run by the family that have built and developed it.They have local roots going back many years and therefore really care about the hotel the village and the development of both. Everything they have produced is sympathetic to the surrounding area and everyone is involved in making sure your stay is relaxed and rewarding
- Its position is excellent being on the edge of the village in a crescent of olive trees running down to the small cliff lined and private Kalamitsi Bay. This is reached by a short walk from the hotel that means that you could be swimming within five minutes from leaving your accommodation
- There is a comprehensive choice of accommodation including individual villa style rooms in the olive grove and rooms and suites in the main hotel. This makes it sound like a big complex. Don't worry it definitely isn't, just a small group of buildings designed in the local style to fit into their natural environment. Depending on our financial circumstances at the time we have staid in all variations and all have met our approval

While travelling this area you will see many advertisements for 'stone' houses and hotels and many will look inviting they are all, in some way, a copy of Kalamitsi which was the first of its kind and in my opinion remains the best.

Room Tip: If booking the main hotel ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EeeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Traditional architecture, modern amenities, spacious rooms, cleanliness, nice location, private beach, family owned, warm hospitality, rich breakfast buffet enriched with traditional recipies.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atsah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

The value on this place was ok - about $110 for mid-September - but the primary reason for going here is the "private" beach, a little strip below the cliffs about 50 feet wide with lounges, umbrellas and watercraft provided. Wonderful swimming, and a great place to spend most of the day.

We found the room unremarkable and a little bleak. The TV didn't work. The breakfast was overpriced ($13) but ok buffet stuff. We asked about dinner but got mixed signals from the staff so just told them to forget it and went into town.

The much ballyhooed "bungallows" are 6 or more units in seperate multiplexes apparently with kitchens, but we didn't see inside.

If it weren't for the beach, I wouldn't recommend this place. But other places in town don't have easy access to a usable beach from what we could see, so it's a big plus here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mjolinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Beautiful, relaxing, private with a balcony overlooking an olive grove and the sea, close to much but secluded and delicious food! What a wonderful experience the stay at Kalamitsi was for my husband & I on our honeymoon. We stayed here the longest of any location on the Peoloponnese-longer than intended because it was worth it. The owners are friendly and kind,the service and ambience were top-notch. Absollutely lovely memories of a place and people that I will have to enjoy for a lifetime!! Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lsuchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Amazing location, in the middle of an olive tree grove overlooking a beautiful, serene bay. You walk through the grove, down the stairs between some pine trees (150 - 200 meters altogether) into a beautifull small beach with pebbles. Do not be surpirsed if you are on your own, especially on weekdays.
Our room was very clean, nicely furnished with a balcony with the same amazing view. Very good matress.
Popped in the restaurant once for brekafast but did not eat as we preferred to go out. The offer seemed very descent.
We had to use the internet in the lobby once to check some e-mails and it was free. Mind you, the last thing you will want to do when you are in a place like that is to spend time on a PC!
The hotel is run by a family and they were very polite and friendly.
Overall, lovely location, lovely hotel, good value for money especially fo those who are not into the 5-star thing

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Egathetos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2008

every thing was perfect at this hotel , the beautiful consraction and setting the relaxing garden and private beach ' the food ( exelent breakfast ) ', warm and helpfull owners , a heaven for couples and families , highly recomended !!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank HerzeliyalJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamili
0.4 mi away
Anniska & Liakoto
Anniska & Liakoto
#2 of 6 in Kardamili
370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vardia Hotel
Vardia Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kardamili
160 reviews
1.5 mi away
Notos Hotel
Notos Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kardamili
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palataki Villas Holiday Resort
5.3 mi away
Anaxo Resort
Anaxo Resort
#2 of 9 in Stoupa
77 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lefktron Hotel
Lefktron Hotel
#1 of 9 in Stoupa
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalamitsi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalamitsi Hotel

Address: Kardamili 24022, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kardamili
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kardamili
Price Range: $107 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalamitsi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kalamitsi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing