We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Elies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elies Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Kardamili B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Elies was a wonderful place - worth the money. Staff were fab, linen and towels changed every day and basic supplies in the fridge topped up. The room was beautifully decorated and the location was perfect - so near to the beach. Guests have an allocated lounger on the beach for the duration of their stay and beach towels are provided. The food at Elies is fab too and Kardamyli a wonderful place to stay - it's a ten minute walk into town along the beach, so there is no need to drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I agree with other comments about this excellent establishment. I would like to add that on arrival we found our fridge contained four different full size jars of jam, a bottle of milk, a pound of butter, and about two dozen oranges. There was also bread and plenty of coffee.

Two small flaws. No towels on first arrival. Commented on this the next morning, and they were swiftly delivered. Fresh towels and clean sheets daily. Also one of the many lights was not working. After I reported this it was fixed within the hour. It's the way people deal with minor complaints that shows how on the ball they are.

It is a little more expensive than most Greek establishments but a lot better.

Be aware that the beach is stony and shelves very steeply, so is not suitable for those who are tentative about the sea. That said, I saw plenty of happy young children, and the sea was pretty near flat calm all the time I was there.

I am not personally a fan of Greek food, but that at Elies was at least as good as anywhere else in Kardamili, and the restaurant is lovely. Very popular with Greeks at the weekend.

Room Tip: We chose the mid range because we don't like studios. The two floor apartments give a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stabreim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I never thought I would go to the same place for 3 years on a row, but here I am again at Elies. Only the fact that guests are coming again and again for many years is the only thing you need to know!

Stavros the owner has made an amazing place which I highly recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Costas_Voulgaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We just came here for dinner, so that we are evaluating the restuarnt not the hotel. The restaurant is really excellent, for us the best in Kardamyli. Classical grrek cooking but very original, with a superior touch. As appetizers we had an incredible mussaka (pretty destructured, with flavors emerging from all parts) and octopus. As main dishes chicken, lamb and a very good fish. All excellent. The setting is very nice among olive trees. Again, for us by far the best dinner in Kardamili.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polifema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have just returned from a week at Elies Hotel, we were looking for self catering as we have a 2 year old and wanted the space that self catering provides. We booked a one bedroom apartment which was ideal as it had a separate bedroom and living room with kitchenette and then a bathroom with massive walk-in shower.

I was not expecting there to be much in the way of ongoing service, so was very pleasantly surprised with the lengths that the extremely friendly and helpful staff went to, our rooms were cleaned every day, we had clean towels and linen every day and our provisions such as ground coffee, oranges for juicing and the most delicious strawberry jam I have ever tasted were updated before they even got close to running out.

The bathroom was stocked with korres products, the air conditioning (on both rooms) was really efficient and the bed and sofas were really comfortable.

The bar and restaurant served delicious food and drink, the lunch time menu was what you would expect from a Greek taverna but all of excellent quality, the evening menu was a bit smarter with fancier type of food.

All in all it really is the best of both worlds, the beach is on the door step and there is someone manning the loungers making sure each room gets one - he even gets drinks for you...

I read a review saying just book it, you won't be disappointed and I couldn't agree more.

The only downside is that it is a long drive from Athens at least 4 hours and the flights to kalamta do not open until later in the year!

Room Tip: We had room 15 which was bigger and nicer that the ones our friends stayed in (room 6), do booking o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We are staying in one of the maisonettes here- a lot of space for 2 people. The standard of accommodation is first class. Huge comfy bed, plenty of storage space, fairly private balcony and veranda, lovely views. As soon as the taxi arrived we were greeted by Pedros and brought to our room. All the staff are extremely helpful and work to a very high standard. The only negative( not for me but may apply to others) is that it is a ten minute walk to main part of the village. However, as a result , it is very peaceful with uninterrupted views of the mountains and sea. Very magical to sit out on the upstairs veranda late on in the evening and gaze up at the stars.... You will not be disappointed if you choose Elies!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotlandlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoupa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I have eaten at Elies several times and always found the food to be of the highest quality. Some dishes in Greece like Pastitsio or moussaka can be a lottery but here the béchamel was of the highest quality and taste. There is a wide variety of foods to choose from. We have found the service to be very good and friendly, The setting is excellent. Elies, which means olives, is very appropriate as the setting is in an olive grove. The tables are set out in a way that no one is crowded and the view of the shimmering sea is really appetising too.
The only very minor quibble is that prices here are a little higher than the average for Kardamyli but this is compensated by the fact that the fare is also above average. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamili
0.2 mi away
Anniska & Liakoto
Anniska & Liakoto
#2 of 6 in Kardamili
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vardia Hotel
Vardia Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kardamili
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palataki Villas Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Notos Hotel
Notos Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kardamili
36 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lefktron Hotel
Lefktron Hotel
#1 of 9 in Stoupa
182 reviews
12.8 mi away
Melitsina Village Hotel
Melitsina Village Hotel
#2 of 14 in Kardamili
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elies Hotel

Property: Elies Hotel
Address: Kardamili 24022, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kardamili
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kardamili
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Elies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing