We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holidays as they have to be!”
Review of Elies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elies Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Kardamili B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I don't know if my notion of holidays meet the standard but for sure meets the way that the "Elies" owners designed their business. Excellent service, friendly people everywhere, clean and thought in detail rooms/houses, beach in 1min. walk, taverna in 1/2min. walk (with excellent food under the olive trees) the best choice for the "small summer" as I call the September getaway.
Our son (19 months old) was very excited with the cats, the beach, the lillte stones, and the donkey (!) called Prokopis that we used to feed every morning.
We were excited with the calmness of the place, the quality and the easy life.
Kardamyli area is a mix of Toscani like hills with great beaches in front and tall mountains behind. A lot of history (Mani towers) and a lot of beauty and nature. We will go back soon and I definitely recommend "Elies" as a calm and naturally perfect alternative to the big and "plastic" all inclusive resorts.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KonMinAri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Elies Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 108 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

I loved Elies, save for one thing.
We chose Elies as the last stop on a month long tour with the idea that we would just "veg" out for a few days. It was a perfect choice.
The location is absolutely wonderful, less than a mile along the bay from the center of Kardamyli.(It's an ok walk, but you'll work up a sweat in hot weather) It sits just across a small road (not busy at all) from the beach. Checking in took a bit of wandering around to find someone, but once we did, we were taken to one of the new buildings- made of local stone fitting right into it's setting in the midst of an olive grove- housing about 4 suites. The suites were very large, having an area for a king size bed, a comfortable couch, coffee table,tv and fully equipped kitchenette- all very new and spotless. The kitchenette was fully stocked with everything you would need for light cooking,utensils as well as basics such as bread, jam, butter, salt and fruit. We appreciated this as we were only going to be there 3 days and would not have gone out and bought all these things. There was also a small dining room table and desk. And the suite still felt uncrowded..The bathroom was lots of fun, it was tiled in bright multi colored tiles, that really stood out. Everything was new and again spotless. The shower was large (no bath) .
The decoration of the suite was very simple, soothing colors with accents of white. Very good quality beds, pillows and bed linens. All rooms were tiled. Exceptionally relaxing, bright and breezy- just what you would want at the beach.
But the most amazing part was the balcony (or patio for suites on the first floor). We had double french doors from the suite to the patio- which must have been 20 feet long and about 8 wide.
We were at the back of the property with a full on view of the bay. (We were glad we had a second floor room as the 1st floor rooms would not have had quite the view od the sea as we did.Additionally it afforded us quite a bit of privacy) It was equipped with two chairs and a small table, all of which were very comfortable. We spent many an hour out on the patio , just reading, having a cup of coffee, a glass of wine, watching the sunsets etc. Thoughtfully, a clothes hanger for wet swimsuits/clothes was also provided.
The grounds of the hotel are lovely, set in an olive grove. There is also a taverna, nestled under the trees just across from the beach, and the food was very good..
There is no WIFI in the rooms but you can pick up a signal down by the lobbly and recreation building.(if you must:>)
They are adding more suites. Luckily the building noise didn't bother us too much. But I do hope that the addition does not detract from the privacy of Elies.
My quiblle with other reviewers is the beach.It is so rocky that I could barely manage to get in the water. (I fell numerous times just trying to pick my way over the rocks) And getting out of the surf was even harder. I kept sinking into the rocks and losing my balance. Call me spoiled by the beaches in Florida, Califronia, Oregon, Michigan, Hawaii- but this is not a good beach. Elies does provide lovely lounges and unbrellas along the beach, as well as a short walkway to get you partway over the rocks. I would have preferred a longer walkway, or better yet, a pier, where I could have just gotten in the water without the rocks.(don't know if this is possible) All in all, I only got in the water once in 3 days. (There is no pool, which would have made up for the beach situation)
However, if what you really want to do is lounge in the sun, it's great- pick your umbrella, climb to it and relax.
But really, aside from the beach, Elies is just wonderful. And I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rebmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Excellent rooms with great service great location, next to a wonderful beach. Very friendly staff family owned, quiet location!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spirost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We've stayed here twice now in the beautiful stone cottages built - in the local style - in the heart of an olive grove right next to the best beach in Kardamyli. What more is there to recommend?

The best taverna in the area, serving traditional Greek food at lunchtime. Stavros' mother's own restaurant, Lela's, is the best traditional one in town so high standards to live up to (she was housekeeper to legendary writer, the late Patrick Leigh Fermor). In the evening it also serves a beautifully prepared menu of more modern cuisine but with the emphasise on local produce.

It's packed from midday onwards with a mix of greeks and tourists but Stavros was amazing at finding us a table whenever we wanted to eat. He is an very good host to his guests.

The rooms are spotlessly clean both in design and upkeep. The Korres toiletries are topped up daily and housekeeping do a great job of keeping the place spotless.

The beach attracts people from all over the town to enjoy the calm seas and snorkelling around the rocks which are packed with entertaining sea creatures. But you're guaranteed a lounger as the hotel makes sure there are enough reserved for guests first. Plus there's a beach waiter who will bring you whatever drinks you want from the bar straight to you lounger. He's also a great source of information on the local area and its history and speaks good english.

What marks out Elies is how many people who aren't staying there come to eat in the restaurant and enjoy the beach. And when they've all gone you can enjoy amazing moonlit views of the Aegean Sea and the Taygetos Mountains in the peaceful surroundings.

Room Tip: Room 16 - beautiful balcony view over the olive grove and out to sea
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leguape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This was our second stay at Elies and it certainly won't be our last. The hotel is actually a group of beautifully designed stone houses set around an olive grove, just across the small road from Kardamyli's best beach (with umbrellas and sun loungers reserved exclusively for guests). Each room has a balcony or terrace plus wooden floors, Scandanavian-style furniture and fantastic modern bathrooms, plus TV and wifi in room. It's spotlessly clean. Elies also has its own beach bar/restaurant which is the best in the area for lunch and does a fabulous dinner too. Guests get priority for tables - it is always packed from noon until midnight. It is a ten minute walk along the seaside from the centre of Kardamyli - every day we would see people staying at other hotels in town come here for the beach and restaurant. Couldn't recommend this enough: a truly great place to stay,

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank April123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I wouldn't go anywhere else in Greece for summer vacation. The rooms are wonderful, the setting unforgettable, the food delicious. I have looked for an "Elies" somewhere else and still haven't managed to find it... I just wish that it wasn't always so fully booked!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingbookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I cannot fault this place. Wonderful apartments which are clean and elegant. Stone's throw from the beach (pebbly, but much quieter and without the chavs in Stoupa), excellent Taverna and tranquil old town. We loved it there and are already planning our next trip back.

This is the place to go to if you want to find yourself in a typical Greek village on the coast - not for lovers of Falaraki and Malia - more serene, more authentic and better value for money.

We will definitely be back soon! Stavros (the owner) is fab, too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank traveller88888london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kardamili
0.2 mi away
Anniska & Liakoto
Anniska & Liakoto
#2 of 6 in Kardamili
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vardia Hotel
Vardia Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kardamili
160 reviews
1.2 mi away
Notos Hotel
Notos Hotel
#5 of 6 in Kardamili
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palataki Villas Holiday Resort
5.6 mi away
Anaxo Resort
Anaxo Resort
#2 of 9 in Stoupa
77 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melitsina Village Hotel
Melitsina Village Hotel
#2 of 14 in Kardamili
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elies Hotel

Address: Kardamili 24022, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kardamili
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kardamili
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Elies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing