We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
9
12
10
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
9
12
10
4
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 37 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

I am currently on my last day at the Myrtis. We are regular visitors to Plakias but couldn't get into our usual accommodation so booked the Myrtis as a cheaper alternative. We were very anxious about staying somewhere different and unfamiliar but the Myrtis has turned out to be a fantastic alternative.

The rooms are basic and our bathroom requires updating, but the rooms are clean and functional. The air con is free but can only be turned on when you are in the room, and there is also free wifi.

The pool is definitely the highlight of this hotel. It's much larger than that at most other hotels in the region and is very quiet during the day, at times we had the entire place to ourselves! There are a variety of different styles of sun beds and chairs around the pool, and a pool side bar selling drinks and a small selection of snacks. We were also fortunate to have a pool side room which was lovely.

Breakfast was varied, including cereals, fried breakfast, greek yoghurt and fruit, and a selection of breads and cheeses. The staff were polite and helpful, often offering to help without being asked. The only difficulty we had was on the first night as the Myrtis doesn't have a reception and we arrived in the middle of the night, so we collected our keys from the neighbouring Porto Plakias and had to find our way in the dark on our own.

The Porto Plakias is also owned by the same people who use the Myrtis's resturant for meals. However, this means we can also use the Porto's roof top garden and pool which has stunning views over Plakias. Again, we had this entirely to ourselves when we visited.

The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the main street of Plakias and the beach. Guests at the Myrtis get a 10% discount at the Kri Kri resturant in the town, but we didn't eat there as we have our preferred haunts already.

All in all the Myrtis is a lovely hotel, and I am already planning to stay here again next year. I would highly recommend this hotel to families who want a quiet place to stay close to the centre of Plakias.

+ The pool, friendly staff, clean rooms, location, not busy, breakfast, use of the Porto roof top pool, free air con and wifi

- little choice of snacks at the pool bar, bathroom needed updating, no kettle in the room

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto P, Διευθυντής at Hotel Myrtis, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacation. We are happy we had reached your expectations. We will be glad to welcoming you back in our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2017 via mobile

I was there few days ago! This hotel have a really nice poolbar nice view and the rooms is always clean! The atmosphere was friendly! The place it was romantic. The people who worked there were so nice to us.I can wait to go back again!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Janette098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

After reading all the foreign reviews about this hotel was a little concerned we had made the wrong move.
How wrong could I be, the hotel was wonderful (please do not take any notice of the pictures posted as the whole place has been re decorated, we also had maid service everyday with clean sheets and towels every other day) yes the guests are mainly German Russian and Polish but this had no impact on our time there at all. The staff and owner are amazing they are polite friendly and can't do enough for you in fact I have made very good friends with them and have continued to stay in touch with them back home via social media. The resort is small but perfectly suited for older couples and younger families with children. There are clubs & taverns also for those that wish to go out in the town at night. It isn't for the youngsters looking for the 18-30 type holiday but anyone wanting a perfect Greek holiday then go for it we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The beaches are wonderful the sea can be slightly rough but Plakais is on the south side of the Ireland known for being windy. This however makes it more comfortable to stay out and about enjoying the area. We hired a car for 3 days which was very reasonable at 115 euros. The apartments opposite have the use of the Myrtis restaurant and pool bar which at times can make the hotel busy but they soon go back to their apartments.
I can honestly say for the money we paid this had to be one of the best bargains ever.
One more thing the owner has a tavern on the beach called Kri Kri and any guests staying at the Myrtis receives a 10% discount if you visit. I thoroughly recommend you do as wonderful food and the staff at Kri Kri are the staff from the Hotel .
It is a longer transfer to the resort and I would suggest you book a taxi rather than the coach . It took and hour and 40 mins by taxi but could take 3 hours by coach. Get ready to see some scary sights on route as there are some shear drops from the sides of the roads when traveling through the mountains. Beautiful sights though.

Room tip: Doesn't matter it's a small hotel with mountain view from back and pool view at front.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room tip: kamers aan zwembad of aan de weg . er zijn wat luxere kamers
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews