We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paligremnos Tavern

Paligremnos Tavern
Ranked #9 of 47 Restaurants in Plakias
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
County Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Ideally situated at the rear of the beach, this restaurant has indoor, covered and garden areas for eating. With friendly efficient staff and a daily changing specials menu this is a lovely place to dine.
We had 3 lunches and a dinner and on all occasions we were very happy. In particular the spaghetti carbonara, the sword fish and tuna salad were really good. The atmosphere was great with local and foreign dinners happily mingled together. I particularly liked the frozen glass for my beer.

Well worth a visit, it will bring us back

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TWRyan.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    41
    13
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best food in Plakias”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

This family taverna has gone from strength to strength, traditional Greek cuisine with a twist. Excellent fresh meat, fish & vegetables .
Wonderful setting in beautiful gardens on the edge of the beach.
Well worth visiting friendly staff & service is good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rugshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good, always too quality”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Visited for dinner, obviously early in the season. Sea Bass and Swordfish were on the menu and expertly cooked. Charming host, great location. Will always revisit when we are in town.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thrillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ExcellentTraditional Greek Cuisine”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The food is all freshly made daily by the skilled staff & with local meat, fish, fruit & vegetables.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rugshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We went there inspired by this rating. The menu was very restricted - end of season - they said. They forgot about one dish we ordered as a starter. We received main dishes very quickly. The veal was not a veal and was very dry. Sardines were good but very small portion for 9 eur. Fried potatoes not freshly fried...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KrisK980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paligremnos Tavern also viewed

Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Paligremnos Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing