We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at GioMa.”
Review of Gioma Taverna

Gioma Taverna
Ranked #7 of 51 Restaurants in Plakias
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Southampton, England
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food at GioMa.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have eaten at Gio Ma taverna for several years and never had a disappointing meal. The highlight this year was a tasty dorado. The staff are friendly and helpful and I recognized several of them from former visits.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Henstingnizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    141
    35
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Makry-Gialos, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Cretan Food”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Passing through Plakias in June of this year we primarily picked Gioma for its location, now when in Plakias we opt to dine at the Gioma Taverna for their splendid food. Tasty salads with rocket, sun dried tomatoes and slithers of parmagiano cheese, fresh sea bream cooked in the oven, smothered with garlic and served with roasted vegetables. Simply delicious. Fancy a sweet? Try their orange tiramisu - yummy. Excellent food, friendly staff, prompt service and reasonable pricing all add up to make this tavern well worth a visit. We will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ShonaMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“As Good As Everyone Says!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

It's all true.....
We (group of 8) enjoyed a fantastic lunch at the Gioma Taverna on our recent sojourn in Crete. It was recommended to us by a trusted local and believe me, it did not disappoint. The seafood was very fresh, the salads were unbelievable, and the service equaled the fantastic view. Do yourself a favor and spend a long lunch at the Gioma Taverna. You will not regret it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Islay_Malt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalmar, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, nice owner, helpful staff”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A lovely restaurant! I particularly liked the starters (the garlic bread was incredibly good!) along with the moussaka and the soups. The owner is very friendly and the staff is ready to explain anything you don't understand or to recommend what to choose for your lunch.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Annis-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a magical setting.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had three meals in this taverna during our one week stay in Plakias and thoroughly enjoyed the food. Service and attention from the staff was excellent and the setting, on the shore, was perfect. We will be back in Plakias next September and look forward to having most of our evening meals in Gioma. Angela Hanna

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gioma Taverna also viewed

Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Gioma Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing