We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gioma Taverna

Gioma Taverna
Ranked #5 of 47 Restaurants in Plakias
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great greek seafood. Excellent fish. Attentive service for the kids. As usual when eating fish a bit expensive - about 160 Euros for 5 adults, 3 children.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Muggia1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    124
    31
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasteless food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went there with my husband because of the good reviews here in Tripadvisor. He chose a Pork Chop and soon after got a stomach pain. The lemon on his plate was questionable and the pork itself was absolutely tasteless. I ordered mix of small fish suggested by waitress, and I was really disappointed! Fishes were so tiny that I couldn't sense the taste, just a bit a taste of fried oily, pastry. When waitress came after to take away plates, she asked how we liked the meal and I expressed my disappointment, however there was zero reaction to that. Wasn't worth the money, other Tavernas offer much more better value of money, tastier food and way better service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank alex k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stunning view, good portion sizes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Very pleasant dinner with breathtaking view! Food was average and not very memorable but was worth it for the sunset view :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alikat725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly, lovely food and a good spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent a week staying in Plakias and went here 4 evenings. The food was lovely and all the staff we very friendly and welcoming to us and out toddler. Lovely views of the sunset over the sea and mountains too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mwbeck99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“very good place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

fish good and prices low. stay away from lobster though.. not that good. service was great and location very beatiful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Giorgos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gioma Taverna also viewed

Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Gioma Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing