We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best location for lunch in Crete”
Review of Gioma Taverna

Gioma Taverna
Ranked #6 of 52 Restaurants in Plakias
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This little restaurant never fails to please! We last came here 8 years ago (the last time we visited Crete) and couldn't wait to come back. We found it by chance 13 years ago when we hired a car from Rethymnon and drove to the south coast and discovered Plakias and it is just the same apart from the original owners whom have now retired but I believe it is still in the same family. The location is stunning - on the edge of the beach, the food is simple, fresh, Cretan, delightful and not expensive and the service is charming, this is what Crete is all about and I can't wait to go back in September.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Havana15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis D, Owner at Gioma Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We will keep our efforts up to standards.

Best wishes from the Sunny South

Manolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 158 of 455 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

Fresh seafood and traditional Cretan Menu. Good friendly service. This is a Shirley Valentine taverna you can sit dining virtually on the beach with the sea lapping up te beach the sunsets are fabulous in September/October.

1  Thank Shanxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis D, Owner at Gioma Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Many Thanks for your Romantic Review.

We are pleased to be of service.

Manolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We always make the trip to Plakias , mainly to have lunch at Gioma Taverna. It is the very last restaurant on the left, sea-side, as you walk from the car park, 50 metres away. The food is plentiful and yummy, the view from the waterside tables is special. If you go once - you will always go back. We had yet another lazy ,long,lunch, the staff are lovely. One piece of advice - if you go to the ladies toilets be aware there is a hidden step to trip down. I suppose it all adds to the carefree feeling of Gioma. I look forward to the next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pastis15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We have been traveling around greece for over a month now and have had so many meals its all a blur. This place really stands out though! We have been there twice already and want to go back again for dinner. The other restaurants don't measure up. If your a garlic lover, you will not be disappointed( we have had a hard time finding food cooked with garlic here in greece). Gioma has a large menu with a variety of selections along with fresh daily specials! If your looking for a great meal packed with flavor and a beautiful wave crashing view, this is the place to go. What we ordered that really stood out( lobster spaghetti, shrimps with garlic&chilli, swordfish, black eyed pea salad)!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Oxbrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Four of us ate here, having read the reviews on Tripadvisor. We ordered a plate of appetizers which was delicious but enormous. The mains were pasticchio, rabbit stifado, chicken and grilled prawns with garlic and chilli, which were all wonderful. Needless to say we were delighted with the food and would definitely go back if in the area. Service was excellent too considering the place was packed out.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gioma Taverna also viewed

Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Gioma Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing