We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Oasis ( May 2010)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alianthos Garden
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Though I am used to inform a lot before booking a holiday, this small and so well looked after hotel exceeded my expectations. The taste of the family who ownes the hotel shows in every detail : from the patio and its beautiful tropical plants, to the dining near the charming azure blue pool , the gardens with their abundance of plants and flowers, even the design of the lights in the dining room, everything gives a feeling of peace and refinement.
I was offered the choice of room and allowed to even visit them before making a decision : this is some kind of a service!The first one had sea and pool view, small but well arranged with a flat screen TV and a lovely balcony.Only the bathroom was really tiny. The second one was overlooking the patio,litterally "in the trees"...Because of that special atmosphere, clients feel gifted enough to take the bother to dress for diner and behave nicely. Breakfast offers all the variety possible, the staff is extremly efficient.
Diner is a special moment, the chef showing real creative and generous.The barman is an artist and the owners would even come to you as to make sure you are all right.Not to forget a real Internet corner with free access and plenty of...working... computers.Plakias is a great place but can be quite windy at times.Forget that long boring beach and head to the coves in the direction of Souda. Lots of fantastic tavernas, especially Gio-Ma, on the water .All together a wonderful holiday...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quality-Pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alianthos Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 274 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2011

How do you describe excellence?

We realised we were in for a treat when we arrived 3 hours late. David, the night porter welcomed us like long lost friends and served us drinks. We asked about food to be told a light supper was ready in our rooms - a lovely Greek salad with very fresh bread. I could not finish mine.

The hotel was spotless - everything gleamed.

The whole place is very carefully thought out - obviously based on years of experience. Construction and fittings to a very high standard. And they were working to maintain that standard with maintenance touching up the paintwork and looking after the garden.

The food was buffet style - regularly replenished and always someone looking after it to make sure everything was at its best.

My room was the smaller of the 2 but had a better balcony. My stepfather's was a very good size and he was happy with it despite originally asking to change as it looked out on the local road. He especially liked the shower curtain - never seen the fitting before but it allowed you to shower in comfort without the curtain sticking which happens all too often.

I loved the gardens inside the hotel, as well as around it. I can imagine how in the heat of summer the green is a very welcome sight.

And the staff were excellent - nothing was too much trouble. And if you are going exploring ask David about the roads - he may well know them and be able to advise. I was using 3 maps and tracks on one were roads on another and did not exist on a third! So advice from someone who has driven them is important.

I would happily recommend anyone to go to the Alianthos Gardens Hotel

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vivienne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

What a good hotel, the staff is very helpful, extensive breakfast, very good hot meals to look forward to, sleeping on a boxspring. The hotel staff will do anything to you to make you happy. ALL TOP!. Rooms are nicely decorated and well (just not too big but just big enough) Nice walk from the hotel.
Rent a car in the hotel (good value, 100% insurance.
I think the hotel not suitable for children because there is no animation.
But you look a very quiet and well maintained hotel? Alianthos Garden Hotel is definitely the place to be.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hikerIzegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

This hotel had everything we needed to have a relaxing time. The rooms although small have everything you need and are very nicely decorated, and i must say the beds and pillows are very comfortable indeed. Some rooms only have small balconys but if you are spending most of your time at the pool or on the beach you dont need it. the food in the restaurant is very good, the chef does his best to please all nationalities and i must say we enjoyed his greek dishes the most, also i must say that we never saw food come back to the buffet from the day before. The breakfast buffet was very good with lots of choice and the fruit juice wasnt watered down as it often is in restaurants. All of the staff were friendly and polite, did their jobs in a discreet and professional manner. We arrrived at the hotel at midnight, after a long day travelling (especially the transfer from Heraklion), and were so grateful to find water, greek salad , bread and fruit in our room. one morning we asked to be woken up at 5 to get the bus to the Samaria Gorge, when we got down to reception there was coffee and a sandwich for breakfast. One of the most apparent things in this hotel is the cleanlines, everything is absolutely spotless. It is very very quiet in the hotel in the evening, the hotel is used a lot by walkers who often go to bed early after a long day walking . There is no entertainment, but that was not a problem as there are enough cafés and bars in Plakias. The pool area is not massive, I thought from the description of the hotel that it was set in a big 'garden'. The pool area faces onto the main road into Plakias, but its interesting to watch the mobile 'shops' that drive into the town selling their pots, pans, plants and plastic chairs...

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tedlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

This hotel is right at the edge of the resort so very quiet. It is within walking distance of all the beaches and the cafes and restaurants so it is in an ideal spot. The mountains are all around so everything looks spectacular. The food was good, we appreciated the free WiFi and loved the fact that there was no entertainment so everything was quiet at night. We were very impressed that the two times we had to get up early we could have coffee and breakfast served to us in the lobby by a very nice night receptionist even at 2am in the morning! The only thing that could have been improved on was that our very small balcony looked out onto the road but we knew on booking that there would be no sea views so no complaints. We usually hire a car on holiday but there were so many walks we could do from Plakias that we had no need of one. This holiday ticked all the boxes for us.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suitcase99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Though I am used to inform a lot before booking a holiday, this small and so well looked after hotel exceeded my expectations. The taste of the family who ownes the hotel shows in every detail : from the patio and its beautiful tropical plants, to the dining near the charming azure blue pool , the gardens with their abundance of plants and flowers, even the design of the lights in the dining room, everything gives a feeling of peace and refinement.
I was offered the choice of room and allowed to even visit them before making a decision : this is some kind of a service!The first one had sea and pool view, small but well arranged with a flat screen TV and a lovely balcony.Only the bathroom was really tiny. The second one was overlooking the patio,litterally "in the trees"...Because of that special atmosphere, clients feel gifted enough to take the bother to dress for diner and behave nicely. Breakfast offers all the variety possible, the staff is extremly efficient.
Diner is a special moment, the chef showing real creative and generous.The barman is an artist and the owners would even come to you as to make sure you are all right.Not to forget a real Internet corner with free access and plenty of...working... computers.Plakias is a great place but can be quite windy at times.Forget that long boring beach and head to the coves in the direction of Souda. Lots of fantastic tavernas, especially Gio-Ma, on the water .All together a wonderful holiday, I am going back in September...

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Quality-Pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

My husband and I have been visiting Plakias for 6 years running, and the last 3 years we stayed in the Alianthos. The first 2 years in the studio apartments which were affordable and adequate, albeit could get a bit noisy depending on time of year visiting. This year we splashed out and stayed in main hotel and whilst this did work out expensive for our budget, it was well worth it. Great room, sea view, different atmosphere. We stayed on B&B basis and had about 4 dinners in hotel as well. Other than our first trip, we have always travelled independently, due to convenience, cost and choice. The hotel have always been very helpful with car hire, taxis, advice, etc. However, a downside of travelling without a package company (eg Olympic) is that you can miss out on getting to know the area, excursions, etc. Because we have been there so many times, this is not a problem for us but for first time visitors you may want to consider a package deal - although it seems only Olympic offer this hotel for travel from the UK. However, you should also bear in mind that because Plakias is located on the other side of the island, package coaches from Heraklion airport can take up to 3 hours for the transfer as they stop off along the way - which is why we prefer the 95 Euros/90 min transfer option instead losing valuable holiday time!

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and its like meeting up with old friends whenever we return - from the helpful manager who stayed up to 2am to meet us on our first visit (and supply two parched travellers with much needed water!), to the restaurant and reception staff and the barman (although he was replaced this year and we missed the previous man, Yannis).

The breakfasts were fine and some days (omelette days!) were better than others, and vegetarians catered sufficiently for. The dinners alternated every night although most food is all pretty similar - whether you eat at hotel or nearby restaurant.

Of the hotel facilities provided (bar, pool, restaurant, etc), one of the most appreciated is the internet lobby and this year (June) it was regularly possible to use one the 4 pc's for research about the area or even check emails. However, on previous visits in July/Aug, the lobby can be taken over by kids sametiming each other and/or certain guests hogging the pcs.

The mix of hotel guests are predominantly German and Dutch, and smaller groups of other Europeans, and in recent years we have seen an increased in English visitors. We prefer this European mix and the staff manage to speak various languages and most of the guests seem to be repeat visitors. Visitors from UK tend to go to the north part of the island.

The village of Plakias caters for all tastes, there are many tavernas/restaurants to choose from (recommended: Mousses, Gorgona) and they are all willing to adapt menus/ dishes if you ask. In peak season (July/Aug), look out for set menus which are good value for money. There are also a number of supermarkets and shops to get your essentials from, however this is a holiday resort and you will have pretty much seen them all after your first night. The villages of Sellia and Myrtos on the hillside nearby also offer superb views and a few more alternatives, albeit they are small villages.

The beach is superb, the further away from town you go the better quality sand and spaced out sunbeds (5 euros for two sunbeds + umbrella, per day). The daily Donut man is still around although his son now sells the donuts on the beach. There are also a few beach bars to get snacks from. It takes no more than about 20mins to walk along the road from Alianthos Hotel to cliff at beach end. That end of the beach is also for naturists. The sea is mostly calm and some days you can float on a lilo in the bay and others you can be jumping into the waves.

There are many excursions you can do - mostly a car-hire or organised trip away, whether the brilliants shops and setting of Chania or the wonderful Palm Beach or Elafonisi.

Plakias ticks so many boxes for us and we will continue returning there year after year, and yes, we will stay at the Alianthios again. We really enjoyed going earlier in the year as opposed to peak time and the weather was slightly more bearable (mid 20s vs mid 30s later on). However, whatever time you go, you will encounter the Meltemi - the wind that comes off the sea - this is a very pleasant wind and really cools you on the beach. However the noise (particularly at night), as it roars up the nearby gorge/canyon can be quite unnerving initially as you expect massive storms or grey skies - but throughout it all, it's blue skies and hot!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shanna22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plakias hotels
0.5 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#2 of 24 in Plakias
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#3 of 24 in Plakias
192 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kalypso Cretan Village
Kalypso Cretan Village
#8 of 24 in Plakias
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alianthos Beach Hotel
Alianthos Beach Hotel
#10 of 24 in Plakias
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morpheas Apartments
Morpheas Apartments
#4 of 24 in Plakias
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamon Hotel
Lamon Hotel
#12 of 24 in Plakias
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alianthos Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alianthos Garden

Address: Plakias, Crete GR-74060, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Plakias
Price Range: $76 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sunshine of the mind Time is still. The clouds of daily routine have faded away. The sun is shining in your mind. Holidays. It is not just a break for you; it is a reward, a generous gift to yourself and your family. You have been waiting a whole year for these days, you have worked for them, you have earned them. But when they arrive, they always seem so few. Well then, let's make them unforgettable. If you are just looking for any hotel in Crete, then you are going to have to deal with a whole lot of choices, good and bad. But if you are looking for a beautiful, quiet, authentic and hospitable family hotel in Crete, combining comfortable and quality accommodation with a fascinating journey in Cretan tradition, history and nature, then the decision becomes much easier. It is not by chance that over 90% of our guests say that they would choose Alianthos Garden Hotel for their holidays again. And it is not by chance that over 30% of them do so, for many consecutive years. This is our reward, our gift. Alianthos Garden Hotel is located in the peaceful and beautiful Plakias, in Southern Crete, in front of the immense and mystical Libyan Sea. Everything here is made for holidays, even the "architecture" of the natural scenery. It is like God has specifically designed this place for the clearing of the mind and the relaxation of the soul. But it is not just its location in the heart of Plakias that makes Alianthos Garden Hotel one of the most beautiful hotels in Crete. Above all, it is the kindness, the hospitality and the open heart of our people. After all, this is Crete: an open heart. All of us at Alianthos Garden Hotel welcome you, with the promise that we will do our best to take the past year "off your shoulders" and give you strength and beautiful memories for the next one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alianthos Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alianthos Garden Hotel
Hotel Alianthos Garden Plakias, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing