We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Management could do much better”
Review of Plakias Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plakias Resort
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Plakias
Certificate of Excellence
Chipping Sodbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Management could do much better”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

On arrival our accommodation was already occupied so we had to wait 24 hours for our room to become available. The manager did not speak to us once despite numerous requests, leaving all tasks to the receptionist who was really out of her depth. No compensation was offered or apology made. Manager needs replacing immediately. Accommodation is good, although toiletries , towels and bedding were not replaced as advertised. No washing machine, working DVD player or BBQ were at the property as advertised. Resort would be fantastic if this issues were addressed. As others have mentioned, Plakias can be incredibly windy, often resulting in sand storms, making the beach unusable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sodbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    22
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
52
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked 3 superior apatments two months ahead of time. We called one night before arriving and were told that erything is OK. When we arrived, one of the rooms was not available due to "plumbing problems and the fact that it was one day following the 15th of August". We had to arrange ourselves in two apartments for one night.
Another family (not part of our group) faced a similar problem, and were sent to another hotel, and still one of their rooms was not available.
The aparments are very spacious and very clean. However shampoo, soap, towels etc. are not always refilled or refreshed. The rooms and pools are great for the kids.
The location is great, just outside the center of Plakias and just across the road fron the sea.
Overall this is a great place, that needs some management improvement. Despite my request I still didn't get an official receipt, apart of the credit card slip.

Michael Muggia, Tel-Aviv

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Muggia1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEst Country UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our second visit to Plakias Resort. The apartments, villas and pools are excellent and of a very high quality. However, the manager is appalling and while still responsible for this resort I would have to strongly advise against staying here. Despite the fact we booked our villa 11 months ago, when we arrived they told us that it was not available yet as they still had other guests staying there. We asked how this situation had risen -the receptionist said 'not to shoot the messenger' and the manager would speak to us later. She also said it was a pain for them as it meant that the temporary accommodation we would be in would need to be cleaned again once we had stayed there!!! Despite repeated requests the manager went out of her way to avoid us for the whole two weeks, offered no explanation and despite the fact the receptionist said they would ' sort something out for us' we never even had an apology or complimentary coffee. We were left with the feeling that once they had your booking they really couldn't be bothered with you. Have to strongly advise against staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank AJBarclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
138 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We rented a villa with private pool and a one bedroom appartement for a very reasonnable price and were blown out on seing the general premises and especially the villa . Everything is in mint condition as showing in the pictures on the website . The furniture is elegant and the beds are very comfortable. There are lots of plates and cuttlery (ikea style) and plenty of appliances including electric juicer for oranges, toater for grilled sandwiches , dishwasher , iron and ironing board, oven , microwave …
Cleaning happens daily with a daily change of towels , bedsheets are changed every other day.

We received a very warm welcome with a choice of beverages and a bottle of water and a bottle of wine in the villa . I complained to the management that the one bedroom appartement was far from the villa , and they offered to let us use a vacant villa which was much closer at no extra charge for 2 nights out of the 4 . They also provided excellent recommendations for restaurants . The clothes deposited at reception are laundered for free but returned wet . There is an ATM in Plakias outside of the hotel closest to the supermarket . The supermarket stocks ice cubes in the frozen section which is handy if you want to make your own drinks . The closest tavern has an extension on the beach which is nice for drinks and coffee

The view of the sea just across the road is stunning and the beach is very pleasant .
The wi fi works only around the reception
There is only 2 bathrooms in the 3 bedrooms villa with pool which is not enough but the other villa has 3 shower rooms
It would be convenient to provide the basics , salt, pepper, olive oil and some tablets for the dishwasher
Plakias is very windy which will keep you cool in summer but sometimes prevent beach access.

All of our party of 9 adults and teenagers is willing to return next year

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldcitizenParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great Location, very clean. We felt as if we were the first visitors in suite. Exterior also peaceful and clean.
Our kids loved it !!! We'll go there again and again ...
So close to village, but very quiet area. One of the best (if not #1) in Plakias.
Three days were not enough in this paradise. The rock close to the hotel (paligkrimnos) is ideal for climbing.
Very friendly people. Price was ok. worth it !!!

Room Tip: 801 suite is great for families !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey B.C.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel must be quite new. Rooms are spacious and clean with large sundecks. About 3 blocks off the beach this hotel boasts 3 pools. Breakfast is included in the price. It is not a buffet, but restaurant style. The staff has not quite figured out how to serve the food or how much to serve, but makes a good attempt. We were here near the end of the tourist season and this may explain how queit it was, there seemed to be few people around. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrandySurreyB_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portalban (Switzerland)
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights in Plakias Resorts. As indicated in other reviews, the place lays on the East, outside of the village of Plakias. The surroundings are somewhat rough but the place is fine and well maintained. Buildings are modern and do not attempt at reflecting or imitating the post-card "Greek islands" architecture with white walls and geraniums. They surround two big relatively shallow (1.6 meter) and immaculate pools for adults and a small one for kids. Our apartment was large and nice with plenty of cupboards, chairs, armchairs and pillows. Reasonably well equipped kitchen+living room: fridge, freezer, oven, toaster, coffee maker, etc. but no microwave, dishwasher or even a frying pan. A half bottle of dry white wine and a big bottle of water were welcoming gifts upon arrival. The 3 air conditioners were functioning very well and almost silently. Large flat screen TV. Slippers and a lot of bathroom amenities were provided. No phone. Very comfortable veranda with sea view. The only disturbing element was the bathroom which was ridiculously small. No hairdryer (no need: the place is quite windy) nor safety box, but an iron and ironing board were available. Wifi connexion good in rooms facing the swimming pools, weak to bad on the external side of the building complex. A steep inside staircase led to a roof terrace surrounded by solar collectors. Parking place was on a nearby wasteland.

For the first time in more than twenty years of traveling around the world, my Visa card did apparently not function at Plakias Resorts: the lady at reception - who was nice - asked if I could pay in cash. I noticed that some other reviewers encountered similar peculiarities at Plakias Resorts.

There are several food stores at a 5-10 min. walking distance, including a fruit store, a butcher and a gorgeous bakery with various delicious bread and numerous types of pastries.

Beach is three minutes walking from Plakias Resorts across a small street and clean. Coarse sand and shallow water for the first few steps, then the ground becomes rapidly deep however without danger in my view: be just prepared. If interested: one part of the beach, further to the East, seems to allow no-dress sun- and sea bathing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Claude-George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plakias hotels
0.7 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#4 of 23 in Plakias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alianthos Garden
Hotel Alianthos Garden
#1 of 23 in Plakias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#5 of 23 in Plakias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kalypso Cretan Village
Kalypso Cretan Village
#6 of 23 in Plakias
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Morpheas Apartments
Morpheas Apartments
#3 of 23 in Plakias
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plakias Bay Hotel
Plakias Bay Hotel
#8 of 23 in Plakias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plakias Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plakias Resort

Property: Plakias Resort
Address: 31 Kazadzaki Nikou, Plakias, Crete 741 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Plakias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plakias Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Plakias Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plakias Resort Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing