We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, friendly staff”
Review of Sofia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Plakias
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
85 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good value, friendly staff”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

A clean, modern B&B place, a bit difficult to find (a side street off the western part of Plakias' main street), without private parking (no elevator either).
Our room was rather on the smallish side, the shower stall was primitive, with a curtain that clings to the body when showering... Air-conditioning is extra (5 Euros/day), which is somewhat surprising considering the climate.
Our room was quiet, but there are a number of bars/night places in the immediate neighborhood which tend to be rather noisy at night: beware !
Our stay was very windy (not a rare occurrence it seems), which made breakfast in the courtyard somewhat less than pleasant (there are also some tables indoors, however). Breakfast (buffet) was typical for Crete.
The staff was very friendly and provided useful information about the surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emile_Grom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    37
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
50
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here for three days in August 2012. We arrived by KTEL bus from Rethymno to the main square and had a bit of trouble finding the hotel to begin with until a nice Greek lady asked us where we were headed and sent us off in the right direction. The problem was that we had not printed a map of the hotel location in advance and it's a bit difficult to navigate your way around the village as it does not have many street signs. The hotel is located relatively conveniently (once you remember where that is) in the western part of the town slightly elevated and in a side street off the main, coastal road just across from a Coop shop and not very far either from either the city beach or the great "On the Rocks" bar.

The price is very fair for what you get. We asked for and were given a room that did not face the street in a quiet corner of the backside of the hotel. The rooms are modern and pleasantly decorated as is the bathroom. There's a comfortable lounge, a well stocked bookshelf with paperbacks and travel guides and a nice inner courtyard where breakfast is served. Breakfast is a buffet. Simple but sufficient for the price paid. Internet was available in every room and in the lounge. We found the signal to be a bit weak in our room and in certain positions in the courtyard but in the lounge the signal was very strong.

The young lady working in the reception is extremely competent and very service-minded. It was a pleasure getting advice about what to do, having day-trips booked and asking for help with making reservations at restaurants.

The rooms were satisfyingly clean and were kept as such during our stay. There's a pool in the adjoining complex with self-catering apartments that you can use. We never got around to it though.

Airconditioning was part of the price for the room and was sufficient to keep the room at tolerable temperatures during the night. The bed was okay.

Unfortunately, we found the rooms to be a bit noisy at night especially because our neighbours seemed to walk around and move furniture a lot. Also when other guests arrived late at night they tended to slam the doors and the corridors seemed to carry the noise. I think some further insulation at the bottom of the doors might help a bit with the corridor noise issue but it's hard to say what could prevent noise from upstairs from coming downstairs. Also there was some issue with the fridge, which would suddenly start making a lot of noise in the middle of the night. I guess if you're sensitive to noise you could ask for another room. We were somewhat bothered by it but as we were staying for a short while and were away during most of the day we ended up not raising the issue with the reception.

We would certainly consider staying here again if we found ourselves in the Plakias area but would probably go to greater pains at ensuring we got a room free from noise at night.

Of the four hotels we stayed in during our Greek holiday of 2012 this hotel ranks as follows:
Service: 1st; Affordability: 1st; Quality: 3rd; Wifi: 4th; Breakfast: 2nd

Room Tip: With a room on the upper floor you avoid noise from potential elephants upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mellowtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Very very good! A clean and modern hotel in a very reasonable price. Good owners, nice breakfast, free wifi everywhere, internet corner, pool and a nice open place in the middle of the hotel. Very satisfied. Good for families, friends and couples. I would say it is a good quality-good price hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xris_bio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izegem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Nice, clean family-runned hotel.
Cretan hospitality offered by Kostas and his family.
Very good location, 100m from the beach and restaurants and bars.
We've seen the quality of the hotel been improved every year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SD064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We spent 3 days in Plakias and stayed at Sofia Hotel!
It's a small and beautiful B&B a little bit old building but recently renovated. It's located just 50 meters away from Plakias main beach! Saddly there is no parking space nearby, but you can park the car on the main street!

Room size was small but very functional! If we have had a babybed in, then I'm affraid ther would have been no space to move! Also matress could have been better in our double bed.

Our balcony overlooked at next door "Cat Cafe", a diving club in which obviously the owners love cats! Don't forget to ask for the AC remote control from the reception, in the morning the sun is making the room SO hot!!! Also be aware that if an electricity failure leads to a blackout in the area there are not any safety lights in the room, only at the main stairs. Luckily this happened to us early in the morning!

Bathroom was large and very new! Lime green color tiles made it look so fresh! Water pressure could have been better though!

Overall cleanliness was very good, almost spotless.

Breakfast is served every morning on an atrium full of flowers in the middle of the premise and it felt homemade, but we missed some eggs and sausages...

The hotel offers wi-fi connection, all you have to do is to ask for the password from the reception. There is also a PC at the Reception that you can use.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Des_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This small family run hotel was a great pleasure to stay in. The room was small but very clean and well maintained. The balcony was comfortable. The breakfast was very satisfactory and could be taken in the pleasant courtyard. I did not find the hotel noisy in June despite having a balcony on the side nearest the road. The hotel's location could hardly be better with good bars and tavernas and the beach less than 2 minutes walk away. The hotel's greatest asset is its staff. Everyone was very charming and helpful. It would be fair to say that it is less suitable for those with mobility problems.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan-Hazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed at Sofia Hotel for 1 week in September 2011 and would not go back. We had a room onto the road opposite a supermarket so very noisy and we had the neighbours from hell!!!! Complained and they promised to move us onto the back of the hotel and then gave the room to someone else!! They did offer a suite but it was still onto the main road so didnt bother moving rooms. Breakfast is very poor. We had 2 weeks in Plakias but only booked a week at Sofia. I emailed the hotel when we got back to England and asked for 2 nights refund due to the loss of sleep and upsets but they would not give us a refund only a coupon to use next year for 2 free nights. Definately wont be using the coupon.......

Room Tip: Make sure when you book its not a room onto the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harryandlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plakias hotels
0.1 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#3 of 23 in Plakias
179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#2 of 23 in Plakias
96 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kalypso Cretan Village
Kalypso Cretan Village
#6 of 23 in Plakias
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Morpheas Apartments
Morpheas Apartments
#4 of 23 in Plakias
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alianthos Garden
Hotel Alianthos Garden
#1 of 23 in Plakias
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lamon Hotel
Lamon Hotel
#11 of 23 in Plakias
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Hotel

Property: Sofia Hotel
Address: Plakias, Plakias, Crete 740 60, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Plakias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sofia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the long sandy beach of Plakias, Hotel Sofia offers bright rooms with free Wi-Fi access. Taverns and stores can be found within a few feet of the hotel.All rooms at Hotel Sofia are air conditioned and offer private bathroom with hairdryer and private balcony. Some enjoy views of the Libyan Sea.Sofia Hotel has a terrace where guests can have their breakfast, as well as a lounge area. Free parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Plakias, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing