We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice family hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sofia Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Plakias
Certificate of Excellence
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very nice family hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were planning to drive to Plakias for weekend, found Hotel Sofia via internet and made the reservation online. We wouldn't have expected more for a weekend! Our room was on the ground floor, not very big but nice, clean and well equipped. The view to the garden was lovely although there were about 20-25 cats into the next house's garden laying all day long!!! The breakfast although not very rich was tasteful, basically homemade and served in a kind of atrium in the centre of the facility that I liked very much. The spot I didn't like was that a tree besides the hotel where I parked my car made it a mess with the stuff that was seeping of it. Be sure to park in the parking area that is about 300 metres away from hotel. Generally I would recommend Hotel Sofia to anyone who would like a 2-3 days escape and I plan to stay there again when the opportunity arise!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gianzo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    34
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
48
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stavanger
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Locatioon is ok, clean rooms. Glad we had room to the back garden, the front would have been rather noisy. A poor brakfast, could have improved with small things. An elevator would be nice. Not suitebal for disabled persons of that reason.
The reseptionist should be able to use the creditcard machine. I don.t think we got what we paid for. Difficulties to park the car.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

A small family hotel, with renovated rooms and bathrooms. The rooms in the front are on the main road and it can get a little noisy, not so from the cars but from the neighbours and staff of the supermarket across the road who speak loud and feel as if they're in the room with you. The back rooms, however, are quiet and more spacious. As for the breakfast, pretty simple. Filter coffee, fake juice, a few slices of ham, cheese and tomato, yoghurt and cereals... That's it! Oh, first day boiled eggs, second day fried eggs. One per person plus you felt bad taking it cause there were only a few on the platter... Good location though, a few min walk to the beach, restaurants etc. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in back of the hotel, more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sevasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hexham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

We couldn't get a booking for the Kostas-Chrysoulla apartments(visited 2009),so we stayed at the sister Hotel Sofia,knowing we could use all facilities of both.Being self-catering junkies,we had to buy a kettle(and pay for air-con,which we thought would be provided,silly us),but that was sorted within,oh,minutes of arrival.Location is superb;well-stocked supermarket across the road;all amenities a tiring few minutes away(!)Hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming,however,Plakias is a resort which attracts few Brits in comparison to Germans and Danes-if you want your pub and karaoke nights,it won't suit you,but if you like a quiet and pretty place,then go!The hotel provides a lovely relaxed breakfast service which you can enjoy in the courtyard or indoors,there's free internet,the rooms are cleaned daily by the sweetest smiliest(is that a real word?)lass,I thoroughly recommend this hotel if you like a friendly,relaxed break(there are many excursions available for people on a bigger budget.)I may be submitting the only English review;I hope to see more!

Room Tip: Supermarket/Road noise till 11pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plakias hotels
0.1 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#4 of 23 in Plakias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alianthos Garden
Hotel Alianthos Garden
#1 of 23 in Plakias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#2 of 23 in Plakias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Morpheas Apartments
Morpheas Apartments
#3 of 23 in Plakias
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.0 mi away
Plakias Bay Hotel
Plakias Bay Hotel
#10 of 23 in Plakias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kalypso Cretan Village
Kalypso Cretan Village
#6 of 23 in Plakias
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Hotel

Property: Sofia Hotel
Address: Plakias, Plakias, Crete 740 60, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Plakias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sofia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the long sandy beach of Plakias, Hotel Sofia offers bright rooms with free Wi-Fi access. Taverns and stores can be found within a few feet of the hotel.All rooms at Hotel Sofia are air conditioned and offer private bathroom with hairdryer and private balcony. Some enjoy views of the Libyan Sea.Sofia Hotel has a terrace where guests can have their breakfast, as well as a lounge area. Free parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Plakias, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing