We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food”
Review of Christos Taverna

Christos Taverna
Ranked #44 of 52 Restaurants in Plakias
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Horsens, Danmark
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad food”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We ate at Christos the first evening in Plakias and found the food was very poor compared to the restaurants we ate at in Myrthios!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank artemis1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    30
    18
    25
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A different place.....”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

If this is the tavern I think it is (I get muddled up by the choice) we were very impressed in 2012 as they were sheltering a stunning eagle that had been found poisoned on the edge of the road. She was doing well the last time we saw her and was confusing the ginger and white cat who seemed to own the place. 10 out of 10 for their service and location (right next to the sea) but even more for caring enough to worry about a wild bird too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Plakias favourite”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Have been coming to Christos Taverna since our first visits in the early 1990s and it has always been very good - best stuffed vegetables ever! Love the atmosphere and the wonderful location on the end of the pier, under the tamarisk trees. Best view from any restaurant I know!

Visited this month and food as good as ever - only reservation is the house wine which definitely could be improved (other restaurants now serve much better local wines!) - but would never stop us coming back (you can always drink the retsina!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyLomas19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scherpenzeel, Gelderland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Beautiful place where I had a delicious moussaka tonight.
No fuss, nice wine and good friendly service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Crete”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have been eating at Christos for the past 23 years, the food and service is superb and the staff are always friendly and helpful. Manolis the owner is a marvellous cook who insists on making his own pasta and ice cream, both are to die for along with the fish.
I cannot believe the so-called bad reviews, they've obviously never visited Christos' or tried the food. It's these mean-spirited reviews that often give trip advisor a bad name.
I urge anyone to go there, you're in for a treat, it's not a fast food joint, relax and enjoy the visit and you'll keep going back just as we do every year.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christos Taverna also viewed

Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Christos Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing