We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal honeymoon location”
Review of Plakias Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plakias Suites
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My hubby and I stayed in a gorgeous apartment at Plakias Suites (which included a free upgrade) for a few days on our honeymoon and his 30th birthday. Helen and Giorgos were just lovely people who were keen to provide anything we needed to make our stay special. The place is so close to the beach and far enough from the centre of town to feel peaceful. We would cook meals and sit on the verandah; we could hear the waves from our room! The facilities were excellent - down to the shower nozzle and door knobs - everything about the apartment had been well thought out. Thank you Helen and Giorgos.

Room Tip: We had the apartment at the front which has two bedrooms as we were upgraded. This was lovely and wo...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bossyboots30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Plakias Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 103 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

Family with 2 children (9 and 11), booked a 2 bedroom apartment.

We flew in on Chania and drove down to Plakias, which is about and hour and half away.
I recommend to just follow the road signs to Plakias, as our GPS sent us through very small and sometimes challenging (but very scenic) roads...
From Chania follow the signs to Rethymno, then south direction Spili until you see a sign Plakias.

Elini welcomed us and showed the apartment. Nice, stylish and modern, clean and enough space. A large balcony with comfy chairs in one corner and a dinner table with 4 chairs in the other corner. View on the garden and the sea. Complimentary wine and raki. A supply of coffee, sugar, salt/ pepper, chocolate milk powder also available. A good start :)
The apartment was cleaned every day and towels (even beach towels) available.

The sandy beach is a few steps away from the apartment. The kids loved it, made sand castles and even went for a swim; We were lucky and had a few very warm days during our stay in April.

In walking distance there are supermarkets and tavernas. I liked the taverna near the harbour: Gio Ma and one I forgot the name, next to the 1st lounge cafe; good value for money. It has many returning visitors and locals. Prices at the restaurants; between 25 and 40 euro on dinner for all of us, including wine.

Next door to the apartment there is a very nice looking taverna, with a huge terrace, but they just opened when we left, so didn't had a chance to try.

Around Plakias:
To the east of Plakias there are some nice secluded bays (Damnoni) where I think some naturists go.
A great authenticTaverna "Dionysios" in Myrthios, 5 mins by car from the apartments is worth paying a visit. From Myrthios you can walk down to Plakias (15-20 Mins).
We visited a small fishing town Agios Galini (which in summer must be very busy...) and had one of our best meals at taverna Onar.
Some other sites & towns I liked:
- Rythymno castle and old town
- Spili town
- Prevelli Monastery

We visited Iraklion but I was not impressed by the town... Note that the Archaeological museum is still closed.
If you plan to see Knossos, do arrive in the morning as they didn't let us in at 3pm...

I was impressed by the varied landscape at Crete and in April it is beautiful and green with wild flowers everywhere. The South-West is much calmer than the north coast. Small scale and no package tourism here.

I hope you find this information useful:)

Room Tip: The 2-bedroom apartments have a view on the garden and sea and nice big terraces.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Warempage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed at these stylish, new and very well appointed apartments in October 2011. It was our last night on Crete so could only stay one night unfortunately - we would have stayed 2 or 3 nights if we had had more time. Plakias Suites is situated across a quiet county road from a lovely beach and adjacent to a traditional family run Greek taverna. For a couple of kiwis who like timeout from sight seeing and touring periodically through the holiday, we thought Plakias Suites was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PauaTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I have been 3 nights in plakiassuites in september (9-12) with my wife. We were looking for a peaceful and confortable place near a beautiful beach: plakissuites is much more than that!The hosts, Helen and Giorgos, are always happy to help you in finding restaurants, suggesting secluted beaches and also for relaxing talk; warmth and hospitality are their speciality!
The apartment was amazing: really new and equipped with everything you need for a great stay, including free internet and "welcome wine, raki and oil".
The building is at walking distance from the center of plakias: that is great cause you can enjoy at the same time the peacefulness of the "outskirts" and the good restaurants of the center of the village avoiding to drive your car.
We definitely recommend plakiasuites!!!
Ciao Helen and Giorgos, we will see you again very soon!!!
Leonardo & Silvia (from Italy)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leonardo1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

we finaly manage to relax!!! The rooms were very nice and clean,the garden at night was fantastic and the owners very friendly.The only bad thing was that we stayed only three days.We will be back next summer for further days and Helen & George we will see you again!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank XARITAKIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We decided to go on a last minute trip to Crete and thus had only 3 days to find a proper location for a group of 5 (an infant included) on an island we have never been to. A quick search through internet led us to Plakias - a small town located in the south of Crete.
Then we had to secure the accomodation. After reading several reviews the choice was obvious - Plakias Suites. A perfect location, on the outskirts of the town but within walking distance to the center which was important, because our baby needed quietness but on the other hand we could have a walk to the town anytime we wanted to.
We arrived late (close to midnight) which was not a problem for the hosts. They welcomed us with warmth and hospitality. Helped us to carry our luggage and led to one of the apartments prepared impeccably for our arrival.
The apartments were excellent: well-equipped with all that you need when on a self-catered holiday. Everyday cleaning and change of towels is also noteworthy especially when you stay by the sea and sand is everywhere. The sandy beach is just across the street 100m away.
The hosts (Eleni and Giorgos) made our stay in Plakias a wonderful experience. Always served assistance and information when necessary. Gave us a few hints where to eat, what to see and how to make our holiday even better.

We have just arrived back home but already miss that place and those people and look forward to going there again.

If you plan to go to Plakias, do not hesitate a moment to choose Plakias Suites. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Michal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at Plakias Suites for one week in June. It is a small condominium, there are only 6 apartments. All the apartments are very tastfully furnished, very comfortable (TV, aircondition in every room, all doors and windows with fly screens) and the rooms are very clean (fettled every day, new towels every day) The kitchen was well equipped (everything you need and all things were working)
Helena and George are very friendly and helpfull if you need assistence or give tips for excursions or only have time for some small talk.
The apartments are situated outside of Plakias so it´s quiet, but It´s only about 10 Minutes to walk to Plakias with Restaurants, Tavernas, Bars etc.
To reach the beach you have to cross a small street (used by only a few cars a day) It takes about 5 Minutes - you only need your bathing suit. So you can easily go for a swim also in the morning or late in the evening.
You can do lots of sports: mountain climbing, rock climbing, running, cycling or only relax, lay in the beautiful garden, read a book or enjoy the sun and have some glasses of wine....
I can highly recommend this place and would like very much to come again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plakias hotels
0.1 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#2 of 24 in Plakias
110 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kalypso Cretan Village
Kalypso Cretan Village
#8 of 24 in Plakias
336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#3 of 24 in Plakias
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Morpheas Apartments
Morpheas Apartments
#4 of 24 in Plakias
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plakias Bay Hotel
Plakias Bay Hotel
#9 of 24 in Plakias
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alianthos Garden
Hotel Alianthos Garden
#1 of 24 in Plakias
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plakias Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plakias Suites

Address: Paligremos Beach, Plakias, Crete 740 60, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Plakias
Price Range: $117 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plakias Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Plakias Suites (4 keys), a family complex of 6 apartments that fits perfectly into its natural Cretan surroundings in one of the most attractive locations in southern Crete, the bay of Plakias. The complex is situated on the long, sandy beach of Paligremnos in Plakias.Each of the modern apartments is sound-proofed and fully equipped with a kitchen, air-conditioning, satellite television and wireless Internet connection.Enjoy a wonderful stay amidst unparalleled tranquility and luxury.Each apartment has its own independent entrance and a large private balcony with a view of the mountain and the sea.It is an ideal place for families with children as the spacious, comfortable apartments open onto the 900 sq.m. lush-green garden where children can enjoy their games undisturbed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Plakias Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plakias Suites Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing