We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paligremnos Apartments
Ranked #8 of 26 Plakias B&B and Inns
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Our piece of paradise”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our location of choice and we have stayed many times. It is a quiet and convenient location, being right on the beach and about 20 minutes walk to the town down a straight beach road. As always, the welcome by Giorgia and Yannis is happy and friendly and the rooms are spotless. Whichever room you are in, the views - either to the beach or to the mountains are stunning. There is a restaurant and beach bar, the restaurant serves traditional home made food - delicious. We will return in September, which is a wonderful time in Crete, the sea is warmer and the weather great! However, I hardly like to recommend this resort for fear it will become too popular!! A couple of things to point out is that some of the beaches have nudist sections, so if you are offended by this you now know. Also the weather - the south of the island of Crete can be very, very windy. The Meltimi can blow for days. If you don't like the wind, don't come. It can make sunbathing impossible and even walking in a force 9 can be difficult!! However, young and old seem to survive and return every year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela_and_Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed here for many years, paradise to us with the closeness of the beach & stunning scenery all around. The rooms are serviced everyday & kept spotlessly clean.
Food in the Taverna is traditional Greek cuisine & excellent.
We can't recommend this place enough but you need to book up early as it is very popular.
Lovely helpful family & maid.

Room Tip: All rooms are good for various reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rugshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed in Paligremnos with my family in July 2013 for 10 nights. The hotel is situated almost on the beach, you just need to cross a small road and you are there! The hotel is very pleasant and friendly place. We stayed in the room No.18 with the view of garden and mountains. The room was equipped with double bed, kitchenette, private bathroom and a balcony. There was also A/C free of charge but we didn't use it. The room was cleaned every day, bedsheets and towels were changed once during our stay. Everything was neat and clean and in a good state (nothing broken, etc.). The room was really cosy and the staff very friendly. I have absolutely no complaints regarding accommodation. Next to the hotel there is also a tavern in a garden but we didn't try it. In front of the hotel there is a parking space and a small playground for kids. The beach is sandy with the possibility to rent an umbrella and sunbeds for 5 euro per day but there are also enough trees that can provide shade. Nude beach is also close for those interested. Plakias itself offers enough shopping possibilities (a few very well supplied supermarkets), and restaurants but it is rather a quiet place without noisy bars and discos. You can reach the center of Plakias from Paligremnos in 10 minutes - there is a pleasant promenade along the beach. The surroundings is very beautiful, it is possible to make trips in the mountains. I liked the place a lot, I would recommend it to people who prefer rather quiet vacation in the nature without big hotels and such. Only thing that bothered me was permanent wind, sometimes it was too strong to even stay on the beach as the sand was hitting us. Therefore I would say it is not the best location for small kids but maybe we were just unlucky regarding weather :-) Apart from the wind, everything else was excellent!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire4891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stay at the Paligremnos in June and September every year. The location is great - right on the beach - which is sandy and safe. Nude sunbathers take advantage of the secluded eastern end of the beach. The taverna and studio rooms are clean, bright and simple. It is family owned and run and everyone is very friendly and helpful. The taverna offers great homemade food in a relaxed garden surround. Plakias centre is about 15 minutes walk along the beach or the beach road. The small resort has something for everyone. The meltimi wind can sometimes be very strong indeed, especially in July/August, but there is always a sheltered beach to find. We

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela_and_Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at Paligremnos Studios in May 2013 and we found Georgia and all the staff extremely helpful and very friendly. There is also an excellent tavern on the ground floor with freshly made local dishes, with new specials on offer every day and the staff were all exceptional. We had a great holiday and would highly recommend the Paligremnos Studios and Tavern to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked this property for a holiday with two friends from the uSA. I knew of its location as I've eaten in the taverna on several occassions on previous holidays.

On arrival at the apartments we were greated by Georgia who was a very friendly host. We found a welcome drink of Raki and a bottle of olive oil waiting for us in the room. The rooms are a good size and the views from the balconies are terrific. The location of the apartments is supberb just a few steps from the wonderful beach. Its within walking distance of the tavernas in Plakias and Mithios (if you don't mind a steep climb!). We walked into town every night and were grateful for the stroll back as the star lit sky was a great sight and it helped digest the wonderful greek food. If you sleep with the balcony door open you can hear the waves lapping/crashing on the beach. The rooms are spotless and cleaned daily by a lovely lady who always greeted us with a smiling "Kalimera". I would definately stay in this property again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor to get a clear view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelewehden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Poligremnos. The family running the hotel and the other staff are extremely helpful and provided us with everything we needed. The hotel is located a ten-minute walk from the center of town, so it is very quiet (which certainly wasn't the case in other places we stayed), but everything is still accessible. It is across the road from the nicest, sandy part of plakias beach. We had a studio room with a sea view balcony and a kitchenette which was fully equipped, well ventilated and separate from the sleeping area. There was hot water all the time. The Internet connection was uneven but not bad, and even worked on some places on the beach. If we come back to plakias, chances are we will come back here. Big thank you to Georgia and all the family for such an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: There are rooms on both the sea and mountain side, and even some with a corner balcony facing two di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theruthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plakias
7.3 mi away
Aegeon Beach Hotel
Aegeon Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sounio
283 reviews
8.0 mi away
Grand Resort Lagonissi
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
385 reviews
179.4 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#3 of 23 in Plakias
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
178.8 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#5 of 23 in Plakias
83 reviews
5.4 mi away
Plaza Resort Hotel
Plaza Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Anavyssos
190 reviews
179.6 mi away
Plakias Bay Hotel
Plakias Bay Hotel
#9 of 23 in Plakias
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paligremnos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paligremnos Apartments

Property: Paligremnos Apartments
Address: Plakias, Crete 74060, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Plakias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paligremnos is a family business at the southern end of Plakias' long beach road, where the sand is of finest grain and the sunset is most beautiful. Due to the surrounding mountains a rather comfortable micro-climate prevails the area, keeping away some rain clouds and allowing a fresh breeze when it is needed the most. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Paligremnos Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paligremnos Apartments Plakias, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing