We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely views, very good service, and delicious meals!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vrisi

Vrisi
Ranked #4 of 46 Restaurants in Plakias
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Vrisi Restaurant, is focused on the quality and the support of local farmers who struggle to make exceptional Cretan goods and provide us with top quality selected ingredients and products in order to create amazing recipes full of Crete. Everything is cooked in olive oil. FOLLOW YOUR OWN APPETITE
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Lovely views, very good service, and delicious meals!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

While staying in Mirthios we had the opportunity to dine at each of the local tavernas. While we enjoyed all of them, Vrisi was our favorite! The waiter was very helpful and friendly, the decor is quite beautiful and modern, and we enjoyed a leisurely dinner while enjoying views of Plakias Bay. I had a delicious pasta dish with fresh tomatoes and herbs, and my husband had fish. Both meals were prepared nicely. The atmosphere in the restaurant is very nice - more upscale than the other local tavernas. We took the footpath down to the restaurant from Stefanos Village, where we were staying, and it was a quick and easy walk. Definitely go to Vrisi when you are visiting the Mirthios/Plakias area. It's the best!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SenoritaSuzieCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    45
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Truly a wonderful place for a great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We spent 2 weeks in the Plakias area at the beginning of June 2013 and were told about this restaurant by local people, so we decided to give it a try. Good thing we did !! ... as after a while, we ended up going back there every night for dinner ! As-a-matter-of-fact, this place is just great. The restaurant itself is beautiful and was conceived in a very modern way, the very clean and tidy kitchen is an open space and you can actually see the cooks preparing the dishes. Hygiene is a must in there, no doubt about that ! The menu is quite different from other places we have been to. Of course, you will find the traditional Greek cuisine. These dishes are prepared by Ellis, the owner's wife... and what a wonderful cook she is : the zucchini balls are the best we have ever had in a restaurant in Greece. But the kitchen also has a great chef who loves to prepare dishes that you usually don't find on restaurant's menus in Greece, like risottos with a white truffle touch, very nice salads and all kinds of dishes that you are not likely to find in other places. They make it a point that every dish has its own character. The people running this restaurant are really into details to make sure the customers will have a great dining experience.
The service is very good, the people are very friendly and as a guest you really feel welcome. Not to mention all the additional elements : a small starter (smashed tomato on a delicious olive oïl base), served complimentarily while your dinner is being prepared, the free dessert (we especially enjoyed the tiramisù) and of course, the complimentary raki which comes with your bill. This bill will amount to 30.- to 40.- euros for 2 people, for a total of 3 starters, 2 main courses and plenty of nice wine to go along with your food)
Nice to know for parents with small kids : there is a well-equipped children's playground available, which you might find very useful for a relaxing dining experience.
The view over Plakias and its gulf is breathtaking from the restaurant.
We really loved it there and can only warmly recommend the place to anybody who is travelling in that area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Denis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The best value in Plakias/ Myrthios”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have used this restaurant for the last 3 years and have been holidaying in Plakias for the last 10 years. So I think we have tried all the restaurants in the area. The atmosphere is wonderful, Freddie the main waiter greets you as an old friend (which we are, but he greets new comers just the same) The food is very good, and plenty of it. Price wise, it depends on what you order but on general it is no more expensive than any other restaurant in the area. On average we spend 27€ each including pre order drinks & wine with the meal. The service & comfort make it special and make it worth paying out for a taxi. Hope you enjoy your visit. Q.xx

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhillipQuentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great views & great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This can be a bit difficult to find and after a few drinks the footpath back up to the village of Mirthios can be aventurous. However once found, it is a gem of a place to stay. Hygiene is excellent and the view is breathtaking.
Food is very good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paz44r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This relatively new tavern has great view of the see an Plakias. The service was good.
We ordered for starters fried zucchini and for main course lamb with baked potatoes and chicken in beer. The potatoes lacked seasoning. The dishes were a bit smaller than the ones we had in the other restaurants in the area. The food itself was o.k., nothing more.
Free of charge: a basket with bread, olive oil and tomato dip, Yogurt with jam for desert. No raki was served at the end of the meal.
The place is very nicely decorated and it is a nice place to sit and watch the sunset.
Bottom line: not one of the best restaurants in the area, but great view.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hadarami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vrisi also viewed

Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Sellia, Plakias
Plakias, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Vrisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing