We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, no frills apartment”
Review of Dora Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plakias
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dora Studios
Ranked #43 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Plakias
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Shared a room with 2 others which became uncomfortable at times due to the hot weather, not Dora's fault of course, more a question of how you time your air con as you can end up waking up to a sub zero room!

Shower and sink worked fine along with fridge, didn't use cooking facilities. View from balcony was very impressive as are most the views in Plakias, also a good place to catch the breeze and read a book!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hallam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Dora Studios
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 31 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here in Ocober. The studio was basic but clean and with some nice little extras. The loction is quiet and there is easy access to the beach and tavernas. The small balcony had a nice view of both the sea and the olive clad hills. Dora was most helpful. I have travelled extensively but Dora is the only person ever to refuse a tip from me! Plakias itself is a delight, rather like a resort that time has passed by, good prices for food, a nicesupermarket and bakery, decent beaches some with free sunbeds. I went with Olympic for the first time an excellent company. It is a longish transfer from Heraklion to Plakias but worth it! A safe and excellent choice for families with young children and the not so young alike.
I like doras a lot!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

stayed here in august and the studios are typically greek, with basic furnishings etc. hired a fan as there was no air con in our room, but it did the job. dora was always available and if not her daughter was. plenty of kitchen equipment but only used 2 glasses in our stay.
would stay here again given the location is very central but also very quiet. must mention that instead of using the pool at the costa chrysoula we instead used the one at the calma which is more like your own private pool located just before the chrysoula, just buy a drink and have a chat with the family who are greek/italian

Room Tip: top floor rooms have air con
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobytyke1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Spent a week at Doras studios room number 8, I would not recommend any one to stay in this room, I cant comment on other rooms but this one is dark, dirty and very run down. We are well aware of what to expect from a basic Greek studio as we have been to Greece many times over the last 20 years. They are not cleaned daily as a previous review as said, the bins are emptied daily and sheets, towels changed once a week. We were given one bath towel between the two of us, but the sheets towels are old and thread bare.No actual cleaning is done. The floor was not swept or mopped during our stay or before we arrived looking at the dirt under the beds. We don't expect much but the room should at least be clean.
Some of the rooms looked like they had nice views, but our view was of a concrete shell of a unfinished building at the front, and a 30ft wall to the right. would suggest any one to book the rooms for 2-3 people as we found out these are the top floor apartments and have the better view.
Dora we meet twice during our stay and seemed nice enough speaks very little English, but I speak very little Greek so cant fault her for that.
Plakias is a nice relaxed resort, with un crowded beaches, shops and tavernas, the only down side is the transfer to long and think this would put us of returning to Plakias.

Room Tip: Book apartment for 2-3 people and try to get a room a the front to avoid the terrible view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzyrevill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Returned yesterday from Plakias and Dora Studio's (13th August)

We like the review on the 9th August had booked this last minute as a cheap get away with Olympic Holidays, we wanted a small greek town/village for a quiet relaxing holiday.

It says a lot about the area and accommodation that our worst part of our holiday was the transfers (thanks Olympic!) On the way there it took 3.5 hours, and going back to the airport 4 hours. This was largely due to the coach driver not knowing where he was going when picking up and dropping off around the island on the way to Plakias.

It has already been said how lovely Dora is, we did not have much to do with her but when we did we completely agree with this.

On arrival, there was a piece of paper with names on and room numbers, key was in the door ready for us to get on with it. With a bottle of Raki in the room to welcome you.

Rooms are exactly what you expect from a greek holiday, two twin beds pushed together, stove, fridge and sink. Cupboards stocked with pans, plates, cutlery etc. Small bathroom with a shower, we found ours had a hook above it so that you could either use it hand held or use it like a normal shower, it was also powerful and hot (not in the mornings). In the room there was also a wardrobe, bedside tables and a dresser.

We were in room 6 and had a big enough balcony which was well protected from the wind and caught the sun in the morning. With being well protected our room was hot at night but you can get a/c for 7 euros a night or a fan for 10 euros for the week.

The room was cleaned everyday apart from Sunday's and sheets/towels changed in the middle of the week. It states that cleaning is done between 9am and 1pm, but we never left the room before 9.30am and were never bothered or woken up.

The studios are a 5 minute walk from the centre of town with a co-op and another supermarket around the corner, they are on a quiet street with no noise at night!! We found the co-op to be a little more expensive than the other supermarket up the hill.

Plakias itself is a nice little town with enough going on, lots of tavernas, bars, supermarkets and shops to keep you entertained. There is also a diving school, boat trips and a regular bus to Rethymno.

We ate in different tavernas every night and found the food to be perfect in all of them, obviously the service is better in some than others (Harakas, Sifis, Ayar and Sirocco were our favourites). Prices were cheap on average with our standard meals costing no more than 25 euro's with a beer, 2 soft drinks, starters and mains.

We chose to stay on the beach to the right of Plakias using 'On The Rocks' sunbeds, these cost us 5 euros a day and the boy who does all the running around was lovely and nothing was too much, he would happily run up and down the steps to the beach as many times as possible to get you what you needed.

This beach was very quiet and empty which was perfect for us. The beach was rocky and not sand and the same in the water. But this meant it was also good for snorkelling.

Lastly it is windy in Plakias, we found it to be windiest on the day we arrived and the day we left. But we also didn't mind the wind as it cooled us down on the hot days which meant we were able to sunbathe and relax comfortably. From speaking to the locals it only tends to be windy in the summer for about 20 days in total.

There is use of a pool, but we prefer the beach and sea so cannot comment on it.

Room Tip: The rooms facing East are better than the ones facing South.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simone Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have just returned from Plakias and stayed at Dora's for a week. We went on a last minute booking with Olympic and would go back to Dora's any time! I can't find anyone who has one unkind word for Dora!
We booked this holiday last minute we were under the illusion that Dora's was air-conditioned (would definitely not booked if we had known there was no air conditioning because of my husband's health) Unfortunately we spent the first night not sleeping and feeling like we were living in an oven. The next morning I think Dora realised how much my husband had suffered that first night. Dora's English is not too good so she tried to explain to me that she had called someone about the a/c. I wasn't too sure what she meant but when we came back the following day we discovered Dora had got workmen in our room and they were installing a new air conditioning unit......How can you fault that?
The rest of our holiday was wonderful.
Dora's is in the centre of Plakias and we cannot believe how peaceful these apartments are. There is a co-op supermarket a few yards away. There is no pool but who needs one when you have a huge pool called the sea?
Thank you Dora!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrisandmarksmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just returned from two weeks at these apartments. Just cannot see why people have moaned about them. The lady herself Dora is a lovely person who has added a few personal homely touches to the rooms, which she didn't have to, but people seem to forget. They are, as a lot of people have explained, clean, comfortable (for Greece) quiet, in a handy position in the village for access to amenities. I would stay there again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank chrisCullercots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plakias
0.0 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#3 of 24 in Plakias
192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#2 of 24 in Plakias
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stelios Gardens
Stelios Gardens
#20 of 58 in Heraklion
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Irida Studios
Irida Studios
#11 of 49 in Plakias
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pardalakis Studios
Pardalakis Studios
#5 of 12 in Gerani
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#19 of 26 in Plakias
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dora Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dora Studios

Address: Plakias, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Plakias
Hotel Class:2 star — Dora Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Dora Studios Hotel Plakias
Dora Studios Plakias, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing