We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dora Studios
Nearby Hotels
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Horizon Beach Hotel(Plakias)(Great Value!)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lamon Hotel(Plakias)
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Costas & Chrysoula(Plakias)(Great Value!)
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Youth Hostel Plakias(Plakias)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
4
12
11
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
12
11
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walkcupboardsinkrakiaccommodationcookerseamountains
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 31 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have stayed in Plakias on a number of occasions, and at Dora Studios twice – once facing the building skeleton, and once facing the front – much better view!

As everyone has said, accommodation is basic and typical of Greece but they are in a very good location, being only a few minutes walk from the harbour and most of the restaurants. It is the main reason that we chose them – and we do love Plakias.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulineW999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I agree with the previous comments. I have stayed at Dora many times.
Why? because of the central location and the views from the top floor. Without these views, I would stay elsewhere.

Dora studios is, I believe, block booked by Olympic Holidays. Good prices are available at times. So it can be good value. But better facilities are available elsewhere.

The noisey fridge is older than me and is a real problem if its in your studio. In our room, the bathroom light, next to the shower, is a bulb in an open bulbholder.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoyB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is our last day at Dora Studios. We booked this holiday last minute so we didn't know what to expect. I don't think the picture does these studios justice. The view from our balcony on the first floor was supberb (Room 1) wih views over Plakias Bay and of Myrthios. Sun in the morning and cool in the evening. The room was comfortable and furnished in traditional greek style with separate kitchen and bathroom. Dora does not speak much English but we managed to converse in basic greek. The room was kept spotless and we were provided with kitchen cloths etc. It was my birthday while we were here and I returned from the beach to find raki and flowers in my room. Air con is 5 Euros a night and safety deposit box 7 Euros a night. would definately stay here again. The studios are a short walk from the beach and restaurants and it is very quiet at night.

Room Tip: Ask for room one or two to get sea view
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelewehden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

For a package holiday, choice is limited for studio accommodation in Plakias and even though Dora's studios are fairly basic they get our vote when compared to the others.

Situated in a quite area just a minute or two from the harbour, the studios are tucked between other buildings so if a balcony with a view is important to you then look elsewhere. The rooms are of adequate size with plenty of storage space. The kitchen utensils lacked a few essentials - decent drinking glasses (we bought some in the supermarket and left them behind for the next occupants), no tin opener (Swiss army knife to the rescue), no colander (again, bought our own in the supermarket, but took it home with us for next time). The fridge is rather noisy but not quite bad enough to keep us awake.

There's no table and chairs in the room and as the balcony is in full sun first thing in the morning, unless you want to bake as you eat breakfast you'll have to do as we did and bring the balcony furniture into to the room to eat at. Dora doesn't seem to mind, but nor is the hint taken that somewhere to eat at indoors would be a great idea.

The bathroom is as you'd expect - there is a hook for the shower but its rather high up and doesn't fit that well. There is a shower curtain which is a bonus, and there is a useful squeedgee provided to swoosh shower water down the drain. Towels, along with bedlinen are changed every few days, bedlinen is fine but the towels are rough as sandpaper!

One thing to note, only the rooms on the upper floor, which cost more as they sleep three, have access to aircon, so if you need to keep cool bear this in mind when booking.

Cleaning is a bit hit and miss, bins get emptied daily, except Sundays when Dora has a day off, but rooms aren't swept very well and the drain in the bathroom could have done with a good scrub. The best thing about the superficial cleaning is that Dora does leave you alone until you're out for the day, no knocking at the door trying to get in whilst you're still getting dressed! Then again, this could explain why she's not particularly friendly

Room Tip: Top floor only has aircon
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Good location in the centre of the village is its only good feature.
We had an room where the fridge was so loud it kept you awake all night. The beds needed replacing as the springs in the mattress were all you slept on. The shower head had no fixing to the wall hence had to hold it to shower. The light switch into the shower gave you an electric shock everytime you switched it on. The acoustics of the place is such that you can hear everything and everyone as they move about or even talk and snoore. We had a bee/wasp nest on our balcony which made sitting out a little difficult.
Need we say more. There are many other apartments that clearly are of better quality which may cost a little more but worthy of paying.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank diving_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews