We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
$47
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveler rating
10
8
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
10
8
2
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 21 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We first came to Plakias 18 years ago. Although we stayed at other accommodation this was the first year we met Eleni Vardaki (although she was not married at that time). Eleni and her family run the Alianthos Hotel, Anthos Apartments and Alianthos Car Rental business. From that year on we hired a jeep/car from her. Then, instead of booking a package holiday, we decided to book flights and get accommodation and car hire from Eleni. Eleni always made an effort to give us the apartments we requested (we had favourites), especially the first floor with the original bathroom and kitchen. The service was excellent and we made friends with the maid Lena who was very helpful.
I can thoroughly recommend the Anthos Apartments and Alianthos Car Rental. Eleni and her family are so friendly, we have been friends since before her marriage to Nicos, the birth of her twins and daughter and are very grateful for the help she gives us when we return to Plakias every year (sometimes twice a year). I would also like to say that Irini in Reception at the Alianthos Hotel is a lovely, helpful girl and always makes us very welcome.
What more can I say? Try Plakias and the Alianthos business.

Room tip: All the rooms are excellent but the ones on the first floor have a great view of the sunset in Plakias!
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babmacStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I saw the reviews of the Anthos apartments after I had already booked, so although a little troubled by the statements used in previous reviews, it couldn't influence the choice. My wife and I have just returned from our holiday in Crete and feel that a more balanced review is required.

The location of Anthos is excellent, being built on the side of the first hill as you leave Plakias to the east. At night, it was so quite that we could sleep with the windows open instead of the air conditioning.The first floor apartment balconies face south west and enjoy the sunset. The shops required for self-catering, including butcher, baker and well-stocked supermarket are a ten minute walk down the hill on the outskirts of Plakias. The parent hotel (Alianthos Beach) is a couple of minutes beyond these shops and that is where the reception for the Anthos apartments is located. Tavernas and tourist gift shops line the main road through the town for a further kilometer. On the night before we left we discovered a discrete taverna just behind the apartment that had the best sunset view in Plakias.

10 to 15 minutes from the apartment is the naturist section of Plakias beach and although it was very busy, it is one of the best naturist beaches that my wife and I have been on.

After a discouraging start where we had to have a night in a ground-floor apartment that didn't match the agreed specification (another guest had stayed until late in the apartment allocated to us and the maid couldn't clean until the next day), we moved to apartment #10. This was on the first floor and if you want a sea view and private balcony then apartments numbered 7 to 10 are the ones to choose.

Our apartment was spacious and although could accommodate 3 people, the air conditioning unit was in the separate, double-bedded room only. The bed for the third person was in the kitchen/dining room (no air conditioning) where the occupant would have had to endure the sound and heat of the fridge/freezer. The bathroom had full length bath and over-bath shower and was spacious enough for a chair or stool. Unfortunately the upper shower fixing was broken so you had to hold the shower head whilst showering. There was plenty of hot water - day or night - so obviously the system did not rely on the solar water heaters only.

The kitchen was well equipped with an abundance of crockery and cooking equipment including a large fridge/freezer. The cooker was small and as the cooking pots were large there was a bit of difficulty using the two electric rings simultaneously. Also the cooker had been so well used that the labeling of the controls was barely readable.

The lady who cleaned and serviced our apartment is called Christina. She was charming, diligent and helpful. A number of times when we returned to our apartment we discovered Cretan cakes or pastries that Christina had cooked and left for us. They were superb.

In summary the apartment was very good with an excellent house keeper, but the apartment is starting to feel tired and in need of a makeover. The are a couple of design issues and damaged/old fixtures that prevent me stating that it is excellent.

The Alianthos business group are good to deal with - pre-holiday enquiries dealt with quickly and precisely and during the holiday, the support staff helpful and efficient.

We may return.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HampshireSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

On booking.com we saw the hotel list which should be open during the winter time in Plakias village. We have not booked in advance because we were not sure how the heating system work there. We wanted to visit and choose an appropriate accommodation on the spot. Of all six as it was listed, only one was ready to open a room for guests.
Anthos had unfriendly owner, said that renovating the winter and do not work. Disputed and was not ready to open one apartment to see it. They did not want to earn some Euro in difficult times. Very bad !

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 7elpida
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2021
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2021
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews