We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent self-catering studios”
Review of Labyrinth Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Labyrinth Studios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Labyrinth studios in July (2013) and were very impressed by them. They're everything you want (but often don't get) from self-catering accommodation: clean, secure, fully equipped with cooking appliances (kettle, mini hob, all crockery, cutlery and saucepans) and a decent shower.

They're up the hill from the main part of Plakias - about 15 minutes walk - no pavement most of the way so a car or moped would be better than on foot, but we managed it and got the odd taxi back up the hill when it was too hot/dark (approx 5 euros).

The owners, Fotis and Katerina, are lovely and left us a different treat every day from homemade jam to olive oil and fruit cake. They speak excellent English and are very happy to advise on getting around the local area.

The pool (very clean with comfy sun loungers) is at the front of the property and our apartment (no 6) overlooked it. I think most of the apartments also overlook the road, which isn't noisy for the main part but if you're easily disturbed by road noise - especially in the early hours of the morning when everything else is incredibly quiet!) you will definitely want to take advantage of the air conditioning available (6 euros per day, I think) so that you can keep the French windows and shutters kept shut at night.

I would thoroughly recommend Labyrinth for those after a peaceful holiday in Crete off the main tourist trail but close enough to plenty of beaches, restaurants and cafes.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a big balcony with view of the pool and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 75 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

Studio is well-equipped and very clean. The location was good for us, cause we can get by foot to Plakias and Damnoni/ Amoudi Beaches.The owners are very kind and helpful. We got small presents at start like raki oraz cake in the room and homemade souvenirs at the end.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Riannon_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We should have stayed at least 1 more night. The place is so lovely and the location is second to none. So many lovely beaches, hikes and food in the area. The hosts gave great recommendations for all sorts of interests and an absolutely perfect place to start your exploration of southern Crete

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adam l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Labyrinth Studios are perfectly situated: surrounded by countryside and very quiet, near to Plakias centre but far from its noises and discos. Katerina and her husband are very kind: they recommended us the best beaches and the best restaurants near Plakias. Everyday they offered something homemade to eat, like a delicious fig tart and dates with honey.
The studios are very good value for money: in August we spent less than 40€/night for a bright and spacious room with balcony and furnished kitchen.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BeneRomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at these apartments for 3 nights and they are lovely and peaceful. The room has everything you need for self catering and are very clean and comfortable. We had apartment 10 which has a very big verandah. Foteis and Katerina are very nice people who make time to chat with you and even shared a raki or 2 with us :-). They also left gifts in our fridge of fruit pies, Raki and another day a chocolate trifle which were delicious. The pool area is kept very nice. We would definately go back to these aprtments and we highly recommend them.

Room Tip: Apartment 10 upstairs has a vey big verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Harryandlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed in Labyrinth Studios for 4 days and I only wish I could have stayed longer in these fabulous apartments!
My apartment was very clean and large enough to accommodate 2 pers. There was everything I needed for my stay, including a small kitchenette and satellite TV. The swimming pool was again very clean and its size was enough for swimming.
The owners were very kind and exceptionally hospitable as they also offered me their raki, the paté from their olives, home-made cake and a jar of home-made Cretan seasoning.
The studios are situated between Plakias and Damnoni and there is a possibility to hire a car a motorbike in Plakias for a very reasonable rate. I went there by bus from Retyhmno (around 3 or buses a day in the high season) and there is a bus stop just in front of the studios. (The bus stop can also be used for visiting Preveli beach - 1 return bus per day).
I hired a motorbike so that I could explore all surrounding areas and it was a very good idea because there are too many beautiful spots to see (beaches, mountain villages, gorges, etc.).
I highly recommend Labyrinth studios and if I come back again to Plakias I will definitively choose to stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Stepan_sv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Labyrinth Studios in Plakias and can't speak too highly of them. If you are seeking a peaceful retreat where you can just be left alone to do your own thing then this is the place for you. Owners Foteis and Katerina make you very welcome and regularly leave gifts of home made bread and cakes, their own organic olives and rakki in your room.
The property is conveniently situated mid way between Plakias and Damnoni in mountainous countryside. A perfect place to get away from it all and relax.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank John-Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plakias hotels
1.3 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#4 of 24 in Plakias
194 reviews
1.5 mi away
Horizon Beach Hotel
Horizon Beach Hotel
#6 of 24 in Plakias
74 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Alianthos Garden
Hotel Alianthos Garden
#1 of 24 in Plakias
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#5 of 24 in Plakias
99 reviews
0 mi away
Manolis Apartments
Manolis Apartments
#4 of 50 in Plakias
74 reviews
1.4 mi away
Stefanos Village Hotel
Stefanos Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Mirthios
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Labyrinth Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Labyrinth Studios

Address: Lefkogia Road, Plakias, Crete 740 60, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Plakias
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Plakias
Price Range: $34 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Labyrinth Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twin furnished self-catering studios for relaxation Labyrinth studios are located near the south coastline, within a walking distance from the enchanting sandy beaches of Damnoni and Plakias. Built within an olive grove of 6000 m², it offers a home-like privacy and relaxing atmosphere. Labyrinth studio is only 500 m away from the beach of Damnoni and 1 km from Plakias, the latter being a beautiful village with all necessities, such as convenience store, supermarkets, in general anything someone would need to enrich his/hers vacations. The owners Fotis and Katerina, born with the Cretan hospitality, give their best taking care of their guests personally, making sure that their stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as it can be. Labyrinth studios are open from April until November. Special rates for winter months (November-March) can be arranged upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Labyrinth Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Labyrinth Studios Plakias, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing