We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great rooms but not restaurant service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Schloss-Hotel Kurfurstliches Amtshaus
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Daun
Certificate of Excellence
athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great rooms but not restaurant service”
Reviewed September 13, 2008

We enjoyed our room, the facilities and location of the hotel. The woman at the registration desk was very helpful in pointing out places to see. The restaurant service was a major disappointment. Two of the courses I had were not well cooked, in fact the meat was just plain raw. When I did not (could not) eat the food, the waiter got upset as if this was a personal affront and the service went downhill from there. This seemed very unprofessional and we have never observed anything like it although we travel extensively. It took us almost 3 1/2 hours to get all of the courses and it should not have taken half ot that time.

  • Liked — facilities and room
  • Disliked — restaurant service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gatsbyathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    33
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
81
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

Daun is a bit like an inland seaside resort with with lots of shops and cafés - the hotel is at the very top of the hill in the middle of the town so its views are mainly of the surrounding houses. The church right next door chimes its very loud bells at 6pm - this can be quite a fright!
Reception is friendly if not a little too familiar, the building is old and the public areas are full of antiques and dimly lit, a little Munster-like. The rooms are a good size and bathrooms quite new.
The restaurant is good with top class food, good service and an excellent wine list. Breakfast is also excellent.
There is nude bathing in the ground floor pool every morning and evening, but none of the guests looked like suitable candidates! We found the whole visit just a little bit strange.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxton, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2007

By pure chance my husband and I found this hotel whilst looking for somewhere to stay near to the Nurburgring race circuit - and what a find!

Quaint hotel, fantastic food, thoroughly deserving of its 1 michelin star, lovely management and staff.

Our friendly greeting on arrival was just what we needed having driven straight through from Nottinghamshire that morning.

The huge superior bedroom was spotless with a lovely 4 poster bed. We've stayed in suites smaller than this superior. Everything to make a guest feel welcome had been thought of from hairspray in the bathroom to the shopping bag hung near the bedroom door. Cute.

The menu choice was small but the food, right from the amuse bouche to the dessert course, was incredible. The wines very reasonably priced, which we found unusual for a restaurant of this calibre. The waitress was lovely and very knowledgable about the local wines.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It's a must to stay there if you are in the Eiffel region.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 24, 2004

A very cosy, familiar hotel with nice rooms and antique furniture in the main rooms like dining room and the corridors. Their restaurant offers an absolutely excellent food (1 star restaurant - Michelin) - as well for me as a vegetarian!! I have never been spoiled as much like there, although I am living in France! The nice environment allows trips to interesting cities and walks in the nature. We surely will come back!!

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daun
1.4 mi away
Sporthotel & Resort Daun Vulkaneifel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#4 of 9 in Daun
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zum Goldenen Fasschen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Landart Hotel Beim Brauer
2.5 mi away
Kucher's Landhotel
Kucher's Landhotel
#1 of 1 in Darscheid
46 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Augustiner Kloster
Hotel Augustiner Kloster
#1 of 1 in Hillesheim
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schloss-Hotel Kurfurstliches Amtshaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss-Hotel Kurfurstliches Amtshaus

Property: Schloss-Hotel Kurfurstliches Amtshaus
Address: Burgfriedstr. 28 | Vulkaneifel, 54550 Daun, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Daun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Daun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Schloss-Hotel Kurfurstliches Amtshaus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Schloss-Hotel Kurfurstliches Amtshaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloss Hotel Daun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing