We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, not baby friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sporthotel & Resort Daun Vulkaneifel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Daun
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place, not baby friendly”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

4 adults, 2 babies (6 months) and 1 dog hit the road to Daun from August 12 to August 15. We booked one of the Vulkan cottages (being the largest one they have ). The cottage was great with 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a large living area and a small but convenient kitchen.
We asked for a cottage that would suit babies. We found 2 baby beds (also we suggest you bring a matress as the baby beds have none). They did not provide for the bathtub for the babies (which is really important when you travel with small kids).
As most of the reviews we were disappointed of the steps we had to reach our cottage (although we think we were lucky as we had only a few compared to other houses where you had loads).
The breakfast and the dinner buffet were great, loads to choose from. Breakfast was served until noon and dinner was served from 6 p.m. (which is great with babies!!). We would only have 1 small point: the hot dishes at dinner can get really busy and you have to wait to get the plates refilled.
We also used the spa and swimming pool . We were lucky to use it when only a few people were in (either late in the evening or during dining hours), but the swimming pool is not big and it can get easily crowded. The spa is really great and enjoyable after a long day walking through the Eiffel.

We definitively enjoyed the place and would come back anytime (although will try to come back when the kids can walk!). If you are planing a family trip and you want to make sure that everybody can find something to do then you defenitively should try the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage to be reached without having stairs (if you have babies)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zivana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    99
    43
    9
    1
See reviews for
78
81
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Very good maintained resort, +++ for different kind of people (families with children, bikers, strollers,...). Breakfast or evening dinner on the large terrace is wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FVanWaeijenberge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We booked this hotel, as we wanted to relax for a week with our 3 months old baby. We searched the internet for a hotel at driving distance from Holland and which is suitable for small children or baby's and were recommended the Dorint in Daun.

The hotel is in the middle of the woods, which is very charming. When we arrived, we were welcomed very friendly at the reception and were directed to our room, which we could not reach with an elevator, making it very very difficult to get there with our new-born in his buggy. This proved to be difficult in the days after, but in the end we got used to it and found creative ways of getting about.

You can clearly see that this hotel is much loved by families with young children (which can walk the steps themselves). This was perfect as it made is less embarising when our baby cried during diner, as other kids were screaming also. The buffet offered a lot of choice and the food was great (same for breakfast).

The room was equiped with everything we requested and more. There was a baby bed, a matras on which we could change his diapers and a bottle warmer. This was all great. The room itself seemed to be a little dated and could use some new paint and bright colors.

We even had a diner for 2 while a baby sitter watched our baby. She was very kind, did everything as we asked and stayed in our room for 3 hours to watch the little one. Just perfect!

The swimming pool is very tidy and also has a baby bath, which was a wonderful experience for our baby.

All in all, we had a great time and only want to warn others for the many steps to the studio's. I presume the houses with appartments at Dorint don't have this issue as much as the studio's. I think the value for money was average, as I do think it was a little pricy, but the hotel was OK. For this price I may have expected it to be perfect, but maybe I'm to much used to hotel prices in the east.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daun1239, Verkaufsleiter at Sporthotel & Resort Daun Vulkaneifel, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Dear young family,

thank you for taking the time to give us a guest questionnaire.
Acknowledgment as well as critical suggestions are very important for us.
Our employees are pleased with every acknowledgement and it encourages the motivation of the whole team. But also criticism and suggestions are important to change and improve our services continuously.
You did enjoy your stay, for the next time we advised you a half-timbered House. There are no stairs; it's easier to stay there with a baby.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards

Ute Krämer-Engel
Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

We were given a room with no wireless signal on the top floor ... found this out after lugging our cases up dozens of staircases up/down/up/down. I'm still alive. Just. (no offer of assistance with bags btw). They were good about moving us to another room which had wireless. Both rooms were nice and well equipped. The restaurant offered great breakfast, and there is a nice bar area. We were the only Brits there which makes a change! Pool area looked more suitable for kids who seemed to be enjoying themselves.

The Eiffel mountain area is lovely, this hotel is nicely situated. However, it is not near anything interesting. The local town, Daun has no old architecture and nothing is open in the evenings apart from one Italian restuarant (packed) and a cafe.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sliminvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Stayed one night in a studio room. The hotel is in a very nice location in the middle of a large wood. The room was OK, a little outdated but clean. On the positive side: you could leave the window open at night without being disturbed by any noise. On the negative side: the bed was hard and there was only one flimsy pillow per person. I didn't sleep very well. The other negative was the buffet dinner, which was the worst food I had in a long time. The breakfast on the other hand was delicious and we enjoyed it on the terrace with a nice view over a valley. When you are in a relaxed mode like we were you take the negatives without letting it spoil your outing, I can say however that I will not use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntoniaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2008

Stayed here for three nights for hiking in the Eifel and Luxembourg along with tourism to Trier and Bernkastel Keus. Had a two bedroom cabin with a large living room and a decent size kitchen for about 130 euro per night including tax. Room was in good shape and location worked out great. Would definitely recommend this for families looking for a hotel in this area.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2008

I had an excellent holiday. I've stayed in an nice and very big bungalow. The complex is very clean, and there's a quiet indoor pool. There's also a wellness center withe sauna, but you have to pay extra for this. Breakfast is a dream and the evening buffet is very large.
It is true that all given information in the complex is in German, but the people from the reception speak English.
The city Daun is nice and cosy and there are many restaurants. I can recommend the Italian restaurant situated in the same building as the tourist office.
The region is excellent for walking and biking. I would recommend it!

  • Liked — Good price, clean
  • Disliked — no opinion
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daun
20.4 mi away
Dorint Seehotel & Resort Bitburg/Sudeifel
Dorint Seehotel & Resort Bitburg...
#1 of 3 in Biersdorf am See
309 reviews
1.4 mi away
Schloss-Hotel Kurfurstliches Amtshaus
1.4 mi away
Hotel Zum Goldenen Fasschen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Vital & Wellnesshotel zum Kurfuersten
Vital & Wellnesshotel zum Kurfue...
#1 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
865 reviews
20.3 mi away
Weinromantikhotel Richtershof
Weinromantikhotel Richtershof
#1 of 3 in Mulheim an der Mosel
268 reviews
6.4 mi away
NaturPurHotel Maarblick
NaturPurHotel Maarblick
#1 of 3 in Meerfeld
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel & Resort Daun Vulkaneifel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel & Resort Daun Vulkaneifel

Property: Sporthotel & Resort Daun Vulkaneifel
Address: Im Grafenwald 1, 54550 Daun, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Daun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Daun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel & Resort Daun Vulkaneifel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das Sporthotel & Resort Grafenwald bewegt. Im Sporthotel & Resort Grafenwald inmitten der Eifel ist Gastlichkeit mehr als ein Wort: Unser freundliches Team sorgt stets dafur, dass Sie sich rundherum wohlfuhlen. Wahrend der Spa- und Beautybereich zur Entspannung einladt, ist Spass am Sport die Maxime in unserer Fitnesswelt. Geniessen Sie den hohen Komfort in unserem Vier-Sterne-Hotel in Daun. Die Vulkaneifel und ihre Naturschonheiten erwarten Sie! Ein Hotel, viele MoglichkeitenUnser Hotel in Daun bietet Erholungssuchenden ebenso wie Sportbegeisterten und Naturliebhabern unzahlige Gelegenheiten fur kurzweilige Freizeitgestaltung. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Sporthotel & Resort Daun Vulkaneifel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Hotel Daun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing