We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TRYP by Wyndham Munich North
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I would summarise my experience here as perfectly adequate.
The location is a little isolated. The nearest train station is only a short, 20 minute, walk away but the trains (and buses) stop quite early in the evening.

My room had a no-smoking sticker and yet mysteriously smelt of smoke. It wasn't too strong but others might have found it a real problem. The room facilities were fine as was the breakfast,

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a909947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 436 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

Perfectly met by transfer bus, receptionist friendly and helpful, free internet, comfortable beds, excellent breakfast included, perfect transfer on time next morning back to airport for rental car pick-up, and all this for 79 Euro - not for one room, but two separate rooms and two different times for pick-up and drop-off. The only thing that needs improving is hiding the kitchen bins that you see from your window if you get room 20, and replacing the shower screen door runners that are starting to rust, and take away from the room cleanliness that is otherwisw perfect. If you need a layover in Munich, go for it, you will not get better

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RostrevorMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The rooms, service and facilities are appropriate for a short stay. The rooms were good enough to sleep comfortably and the service was good regular cleaning and most things that we phoned the reception for arrived within minutes. Also the heating system was good, appropriate temperatures. Me and my family enjoyed our stay as it was perfect for us with amazing prices.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tehminaI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

If you think that GRAND CITY has something to with 'city' (or 'grand,' for that matter), think again! This hotel is way out of Munich, in the village of Neufahrn, actually even at the edge of the village, something like 20 miles out of the center of Munich. Forget about it if you don't have a car.

If you do have a car, this is not a bad hotel. Our room was regular sized (by European standards, a bit small for Americans) and reasonably quiet (though it happened a lot that people slammed doors, which was very noticeable in the rooms). Beds were a bit flimsy but perfectly fine, and clean. Wireless worked fine, we were three people with three laptops and they gave us 3 access codes without a problem. Yes, you do have to type in your access code each time you log out but that was not a problem.

We did not like that they tried to charge us Euro 8.- for parking in their garage until we made them read the Expedia contract which clearly stated that parking was included.

Breakfast was fine, not very imaginative but they had a buffet with boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, a bread selection, fresh rolls with lunch meats and cheese, yoghurt, cereals, apple and orange juice, coffee, tea etc. I was told that the price of 12.50 per person is what is to be expected from a breakfast buffet in Germany.

We had dinner there one night, and it was BAD! The sauces came straight out of a cardboard box (and all from the same box even though they had different fancy names on the menu). Our teenage son, who is not spoiled, sad it tasted like a TV-dinner from the freezer. Any McDonald's would be better. Save your money and go to the Hotel Gumberger, in the center of the village, about 2 minutes by car who have good Bavarian food, or eat somewhere in Munich

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErnestFromBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Indifferent hotel to use for a night, if all you want is a bed.

For the wi-fi connection you have to use a user name and code, which is not uncommon.
What is uncommon is that you may be asked to used these credentials every time you want to switch to a different web site, when surfing the internet.

On their web site it is stated that among the amenities there is airport shuttle. While for other amenities, like breakfast, possible charges are mentioned, none is mentioned for the shuttle. On top of that, on my booking comments (directly with the hotel) I mentioned that I expected the free shuttle. Despite this, I was forced to pay 12 euro.

The cherry on the cake was that when I asked them to reconcile the difference between their website, my booking comments, and their demand to pay, the clerk Anita Dada was mentioning that I had made the reservation through booking.com, which is not true (this was a direct booking with the hotel) and then called someone and referring to me she said "Ich habe hier einen extremen".
Not nice... An apology is still expected...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thanos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel is in a remote small town location, that may be difficult to find even though it is 2 km from the train station, with small rooms and expensive to American hotel equivalent breakfast costs but may or may not be cheaper than other hotels for that in the area. Despite that, it is a very clean hotel with a quiet location and good room value and service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Walter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I had an amazing experience staying here whilst at Oktoberfest.
Wonderful staff, spent majority of my time (when at the hotel) in the bar or lounging on the couches.
I had a relatively small room, but I can't complain as it was only somewhere to sleep and that's all I used my room to do.
It is a bit out of the way from central Munich, but as I was with a tour company I wasn't too phased by that, it was good to be somewhere quieter and out of the way.
I do think they need to have just one username & password for the free wifi Internet, because they do waste a lot of time printing out individual passwords for everyone, and you could tell it gets annoying with many people asking for them all the time.
They put on a good breakfast every morning too, although I didn't get down to eat every morning.
They'll order in pizza for you as well at a night time if you request it.
Had so much fun here, which is more than I can say for many hotels !

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amiee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neufahrn bei Freising
3.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Munchen Airport
3.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Muenchen-Airport
B&B Hotel Muenchen-Airport
#4 of 10 in Hallbergmoos
130 reviews
5.5 mi away
Novotel Muenchen Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ibis Muenchen Airport Sued
Ibis Muenchen Airport Sued
#2 of 10 in Hallbergmoos
112 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hotel Zur Linde
Hotel Zur Linde
#1 of 1 in Hohenlinden
35 reviews
1.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Olymp Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP by Wyndham Munich North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP by Wyndham Munich North

Address: Dietersheimer Str. 58, 85375 Neufahrn bei Freising, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Best Western Grand City Hotel Muenchen Neufahrn)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Neufahrn bei Freising
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Neufahrn bei Freising
Price Range: $64 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TRYP by Wyndham Munich North 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our TRYP Munich North Hotel is situated centrally with good transport links to Munich Airport, close to the banks of the River Isar and only a few minutes from the Bavarian university town of Freising. The hotel near Munich has 143 friendly rooms with a light and airy atmosphere. Business travellers appreciate the fact that the hotel is conveniently situated for the Munich Trade Fair Centre, Munich Airport and Munich town centre. Families and city trippers enjoy the calm of our hotel and the idyllic location on the outskirts of the Bavarian metropolis. Our beautiful TRYP Munich North Hotel is also ideally situated for football and sport fans: In just a few minutes you can reach the Allianz Arena, e.g. to watch a live game of FC Bayern Munich! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRYP by Wyndham Munich North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achat Hotel Neufahrn
Hilton Garden Inn Neufahrn
TRYP By Wyndham Munich North Germany/Neufahrn Bei Freising

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing