We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Bavaria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residenz Heinz Winkler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Residenz Heinz Winkler is R&C property in a small and cosy town Aschau between Munich and Salzburg. If you stay in Munich it takes only one hour to get there, to run from city into country heaven. You can have a lunch or dinner, both will be great.
No need to book for lunch and for the dinner reservation is highly recommended.

For lunch in summer I would recommend tasty, refreshing cold tomato soup with lobster, as for the main course you take chicken or fish.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mazmanyan_FA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 248 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

A great place to stay wonderful staff clean rooms beautifully located next to the chiemsee and on the base of the magnificent kampenwand. The terrace is beautiful and the restaurant is fabulous. The fitness center was amazing everything was so clean. Aschau is a great place to make day trips out of. But this is the place to stay.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Pierce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for three days in June and had a beautiful time. The hotel was staff were helpful and gracious. The location at the base of the alps is spectacular and the air is wonderful. We had a suite and they made it comfortable for my husband and my three children. They had a great time in the pool and enjoying the lovely breakfasts at the hotel. If you have the opportunity and the money this is a great place to stay. I will dream about the food I had for dinner forever.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the alps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had intended to stay here June 6th through June 8th, after having stayed in Salzburg June 2th through June 6th. Our Salzburg trip kept getting delayed by the floods (the trains couldn't get through), so we kept asking Heinz to move our reservation back, and they were very amenable (even though they were not hit by the floods, being on higher ground).

Finally we just couldn't get there -- the trains still couldn't get through -- and had to go back to the US. We asked if they could simply apply our non-refundable deposit to a future stay, and (even though acts of God are not exempted from the deposit rules), they instead graciously offered to refund our deposit to our credit card.

They were surely taking a big loss due to the floods but they offered that anyway, and I wanted to make sure that everyone on TA knew about this.

By the way, the lesson -- whether here or elsewhere -- is when agreeing to a non-refundable deposit, make sure to clarify in advance what happens in the event of a force majeure.

At another hotel we might not have been so lucky.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank OOBonomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I seldom order pigeon, having once cleaned up a pigeon infested barn, its to often a mouthful of insubstantial dryness. Here it was moist and succulent, and transformed this aerial rat into a highly desirable , -please can i have ti again - food. I was at the Residence with a group of friends and all ordered different dishes and all had similar reactions. Now often great restaurants with rooms such as this one lunch or dinner are as expected excellent, for me often the fun is breakfast, and here breakfast was wonderful , all the usual breakfast stuff but executed with aplomb and raised the level of this meal, with truly memorable flavours like poppy seed mouse. Finally really liked my room that was spread over two levels overlooking the garden. A great place for a romantic moment.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Spent valentine' s day at Heinz Winkler`s Residenz. Food and ambiance extraordinary as expected. Spa and breakfast a little disappointing though. But all in all a perfect choice for a short romantic getaway.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Coccoa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Of all the Michelin-starred restaurants I've visited, Winkler's Residenz is simply the best. Straightforward tasteful. No fuss or gimmicks like last week at Arzak in San Sebastian. No stiff enclosed atmosphere with faux decor like at Tantris in Munich, or so many other gourmet restaurants. No condescending-distant service like at Albereta near Bergamo. The hotel is also perfectly run, with friendliest service, an excellent spa and a beautiful Bavarian-Alpine location. What more can one ask for. This place is a must-stop when crossing the Alps.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TrophyCollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aschau Im Chiemgau
5.5 mi away
Yachthotel Chiemsee
Yachthotel Chiemsee
#1 of 9 in Prien am Chiemsee
255 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Bonnschloessl
Hotel Bonnschloessl
#2 of 7 in Bernau am Chiemsee
61 reviews
2.1 mi away
Seiserhof
Seiserhof
#7 of 7 in Bernau am Chiemsee
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Jaegerhof
Hotel Jaegerhof
#1 of 7 in Bernau am Chiemsee
99 reviews
2.3 mi away
Landgasthof Karner
Landgasthof Karner
#2 of 3 in Frasdorf
79 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel Neuer am See
Hotel Neuer am See
#2 of 9 in Prien am Chiemsee
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenz Heinz Winkler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenz Heinz Winkler

Address: Kirchplatz 1, 83229 Aschau Im Chiemgau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Aschau Im Chiemgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Aschau Im Chiemgau
Price Range: $269 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Residenz Heinz Winkler 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residenz Heinz Winkler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenz Heinz Winkler Aschau
Residenz Heinz Winkler Germany/Aschau Im Chiemgau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing