We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Zum Ochsen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zum Ochsen
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Schonwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was a great hotel and good value. The room was very clean and comfortable. the restaurant was nice and the breakfast had an excelent variety and something for everyone. The location was lovely and the town very attractive. A good base for exploring the Black Forest.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bizzylizzywoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 162 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Staying here on business whilst doing business in Furtwangen.
Delightful friendly hotel with great food and service.
It would be beautiful here when snowing although that wont be long judging by the temperature.
The hotel is at an altitude of about 1000 metres
Not a 5 star city hotel but totally recommended

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grazie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here with a business group for just one night but I would have gladly have stayed for a week.
It is not a 5 or 4 star international hotel, but a large family run typical Black Forest guest house turned into a hotel. Full of character and charm with enough facilities to make even a business trip a joy (except no AMEX accepted)
Lovely area to be in and the train trip from the noth was spectacular.
Just my type of place. I may return for a holiday when I can.

Room Tip: As is typical with such places the room vary a lot so talk with the hotel before arriving about your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicnzsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We spent Christmas here 16 years ago and thought that it was time to go back; then it was (unusually) wet, this time it was (more usually) snowy. So how did the hotel compare - as good or better. The welcome was warm, the room was comfortable and well-equipped and the food excellent; there was an impressive wine list which would suit most pockets, although, naturally, German wines predominate. There were Christmas decorations everywhere and, this, coupled with the traditional dress worn by the friendly staff, contributed greatly to the festive ambience - Christmas Eve dinner was candle-lit and Christmas Day dinner accompanied by live music - and the Christmas supplement of 5 euros pppn can only be described as nominal. The small swimming pool on the first floor remained much as it had been 16 years earlier (although with impressive new lighting) but there was no longer an adjacent sauna. Instead there was a new wellness complex in the basement, accessed by a lift, which included two large saunas, a steam room, warm and cold showers and foot baths and a very pleasant relaxation room; as might be expected in Germany, nudity was the norm here but not compulsory.
There is a wide network of both walking and cross-country skiing tracks immediately accessible from the hotel, and hotel guests receive a card which entitles them to use the local bus network (which even operates on Christmas Day) free of charge.
We won't be waiting another 16 years to return here for Christmas, and we might well return for a summer holiday too.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stéphane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Nathalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schonwald
2.4 mi away
Parkhotel Wehrle
Parkhotel Wehrle
#3 of 7 in Triberg
185 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Schwarzwald Residenz
0.4 mi away
Hotel Adlerschanze
Hotel Adlerschanze
#2 of 8 in Schonwald
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dorer
Hotel Dorer
#3 of 8 in Schonwald
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel an der Sonne
Hotel an der Sonne
#6 of 8 in Schonwald
19 reviews
14.5 mi away
Parkhotel Adler
Parkhotel Adler
#1 of 16 in Hinterzarten
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zum Ochsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zum Ochsen

Address: Ludwig-Uhland-Str. 18, 78141 Schonwald, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schonwald
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Schonwald
Price Range: $111 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zum Ochsen 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Zum Ochsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing