We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A splendid stay in the Black Forest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Ochsenwirtshof
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bad Rippoldsau
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“A splendid stay in the Black Forest”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is the place to stay if you truly want to savor the beauty of the Black Forest. This small hotel is surrounded by dense trees and has the river Wolf nearby to stroll along. Staying here was one of our trip highlights. The room was spacious and had many well designed details that made it a pleasure to stay in. We enjoyed our meals in the restaurant at the same assigned table with a name card - nice touch, and we became friendly with our table neighbors. The hospitality of Mrs Armbruster, the owner, was outstanding. One rainy day we enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and saunas, supplied with a bathrobe and slippers. The Bad Rippoldsau-Schapbach area is lovely and rustic. There were many Germans staying there which impressed me; they already know how splendid this hotel is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Hotel Ochsenwirtshof is an excellent place to stay in the Black Forest.
They have everything you need to feel at home: a warm welcome, helpful staff, nice and well equipped rooms, amazing good food, a large indoor swimming pool with sauna.
There is a massage service on request and they have a private stretch of the river for trout fishing.

The hotel is situated on a small road and walking trails can be found everywhere around the hotel.
Recommended destinations for walks are the romantic village of St. Roman, the Burchbach Wasserfall and above all the quiet Glaswaldsee (lake) up in the surrounding mountains.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. Just keep in mind that there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regemorw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is our third visit to this lovely hotel. All the staff are so welcoming and very patient and helpful with my terrible German!!! the rooms are first class and the food exceptional. There are some lovely walks in the vicinity, the scenery is beautiful. Highly recommended once again.

Room Tip: I don't think they have any bad rooms, all of a very high standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perpignan,France
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

One word sums up the whole experience at the Ochsenwirtshof........ Professional. It's hard to fault anything in our 2 night stay (except, I suppose, the weather, but that's hardly their fault !) . As one would expect in Germany, the rooms are spacious and spotless. The breakfast is copious and tasty. The evening meal was the best I ate on our trip round N Europe, and the pool was lovely and warm, which was a boon in the unusual 12°C weather in mid July. There are countless walks available nearby, which we'd have loved to do, but the rain stopped that . All the staff, including the big old dog, are friendly and kind. What a pity that more hotels here in France do not take a leaf out of their book. The difference between the hotels we stayed in in Germany and Luxembourg compared to those we stayed in in France was embarrassing.

Room Tip: All looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnPerpignan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here in May 2011, the room is beautifull and warm, the hot inside swimmingpool is great. The staff is very helpfull and the dinners and breakfasts was excellent. It is very central to drive to different places like the Freilichtmuseum and even Freiburg.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannesDiederiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at hotel Ochsenwirtshof for two nights in April 2012 during a weeks stay around the Blackforest whilst visiting friends.

The hotel is really charming and cosy, right next to a small river and in a valley, so you are completely surrounded by greenery and tranquility! We didn't arrive to the hotel until 9pm on our first night, as we had been travelling that day. We hadn't eaten and on arrival we learnt that the evening dinner service had just finished, but were delighted and extremely grateful to learn that they would still cook for us, so we ordered our food before going to our room to unpack and then come back down to eat!

ROOMS: The rooms at Hotel Ochsenwirtshof were brilliant. We had a double room overlooking the river, which was clean and really well decorated. Our bathroom was amazing, no bath, but an excellent walk in shower and huge sink. I wasn't massively keen on the see through doors to the bathroom, which we'd also had in a hotel we'd stayed in on the two previous nights, but the bathroom was away from the main bedroom, so it didn't matter hugely.

RESTAURANT: The food at the hotel was really good. We both went for a steak on the first night, which was one if the best we have eaten and the second night ate from the set menu, which again was well cooked and great service. Breakfast was a buffet of breads, cheeses, salami, cereal and fresh fruit. The only thing it missed I felt were Croissants.

SPA. Unfortunatey it rained on the second day of our stay so after having ventured out in the morning, we spent the late afternoon around the pool area in the hotel. The pool area was heated, which was lovely, had a really nice sauna and pool, a number of loungers and the biggest rain shower I've seen! As you can imagine, it was therefore very easy to quickly relax and doze off!

SERVICE: we were really happy with the service, particulaly on the first night, going out of the way to cook for us. We were lucky the the owner spoke english, as my German isn't too great. The hotel had WIFI too, although for some reason, it kept cutting out after a few minutes.

A really nice stay though and if we return to the Blackforest we would return again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Golledges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at this little gem whilst on a motor cycling trip around Europe. We arrived after a long days travelling to a warm welcome. Our room was absolutely stunning beautifully furnished with a beautiful balcony view over the black forest. The swimming pool and sauna area is stunning and very welcome after a days biking. We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was simply excellent. All fixtures and fittings are to an exceptionally high standard and we were truly sorry to be only staying for one night. However we shall definitely return it is fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salcha66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Rippoldsau
2.6 mi away
Naturparkhotel Adler St. Roman
Naturparkhotel Adler St. Roman
#1 of 1 in Wolfach - St. Roman
211 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Dollenberg
Hotel Dollenberg
#1 of 14 in Bad Peterstal-Griesbach
204 reviews
2.9 mi away
Landidyll Hotel Hirschen
Landidyll Hotel Hirschen
#1 of 4 in Oberwolfach
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Langenwaldsee
Hotel Langenwaldsee
#3 of 25 in Freudenstadt
133 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Kloesterle Hof
Hotel Restaurant Kloesterle Hof
#2 of 3 in Bad Rippoldsau
7 reviews
9.4 mi away
Wellnesshotel Basler Hof am Schlosswald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Ochsenwirtshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Ochsenwirtshof

Property: Hotel Restaurant Ochsenwirtshof
Address: Wolfacherstr. 21 | Schapbach, 77776 Bad Rippoldsau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Bad Rippoldsau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bad Rippoldsau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Restaurant Ochsenwirtshof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, HRS, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Ochsenwirtshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ochsenwirtshof Hotel Bad Rippoldsau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing