We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality hotel in The Black Forest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Adler Haeusern
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hausern
Certificate of Excellence
harpenden
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“High quality hotel in The Black Forest”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Perfect hotel with very friendly staff . Rooms huge and very well appointed. Restaurant has a good atmosphere and the food is of very high quality. Good swimming pool and garden quiet areas and overall service first class. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The room we had overlooking valley was very good and quiet with a large balcony .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarpendenMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    131
    41
    16
    3
See reviews for
67
303
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

If you enjoy rustic, breathtaking beauty, hiking from one village to another, and simple relaxation, Schwartzwald is the place for you. If you enjoy incredibly delicious food, wonderful and friendly service, and a lovely hotel that sits in the Schwarzwald, Hotel Adler is a MUST!! We spent eight days at the hotel, and everyday was perfect.

We have dined at many fine restaurants worldwide (including French Laundry in Napa Valley, Ca), and the kitchen at the hotel is amongst the best. We made sure we didn't leave for our day trips, until we had had breakfast and made sure we were back for dinner. We still savour the apple wasabi chilled soup, the crispest and most delicious roasted chicken, the white asparagus buffet, the trout, veal, etc. etc. The service in the kitchens was kind, generous, and friendly. A special thanks to Anya, Clara, and Angie.

We stayed in a beautifully decorated large junior suite. It rained a couple of days and we were content reading or napping in our room. The lounge area was perfect for a glass of sekt, wine, or an expresso, and of course a dessert. Thank goodness our trip involved hiking and walking...and a half-marathon for my husband.

Southern Germany has always been a favorite destination of ours, however, we always visit Bavaria. Schwartzwald was the perfect alternative this trip. We will certainly return to Schwarzwald Adler Hotel and the area. Thank you for the use of your lovely hotel.

A car is a must, but worth it for the scenic drives. Our trip involved a 5 day stay in Lake Maggiore (Stresa),Italy in a charming hotel, but Schwarzwald was still our favorite!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmelO422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Good location and great food, despite the * star restaurant being closed on Sunday the alternative was 32 euros for 5 course.

Very good value indeed.

Room Tip: Ensure your room has a balcony, its the same price....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I've got very positive impressions staying here for 3 days. In spite of its location somewhere in the middle of Schwarzwald the hotel is just a paradise! It is decorated in every possible way; flowers are everywhere. Service is very good. Spa area among other things boasts a beautifully decorated swimming pool. There is a lot of space around the hotel to put you car (free of charge), and the wireless Internet in the lobby is free as well. The room rate is rather attractive, as the rooms themselves.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolasAlnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adler-schwarzwald, Inhaber at Hotel Adler Haeusern, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Dear Nicolas,

Thank you very much for your reviews, the wonderful pictures and for making us aware of google maps. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay so much. It was our pleasure to be your host!

Best regards,
Florian Zumkeller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruges,belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

The hotel is a gem in the Black Forest. . The family runned Relais & Chateau is a lovely spot The personal approach of the staff is touching. We want to thank Herr Jens for the great welcome and the interesting conversation about Baden Wurtemberg.
We apreciated the dayly program offered by the hotel direction: from aqua gym, walks in the forest to a wonderful orgueconcert in the St Blasienkirche.
The hotel has a very good location for visits to Titisee, Freiburg,bazel, Zurich etc
We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierrean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adler-schwarzwald, Inhaber at Hotel Adler Haeusern, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Dear Pierrean,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay with us! We are glad you had a great time and enjoyed the area as much as meeting our staff and participating in our hotel program. Of course it would be our pleasure to be your host again!

Best regards,
Florian Zumkeller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Pleasant enough hotel but not of the standard I would expect from Relais and Chateaux.
It is spotlessly clean and has good facilities but the decor is terrible , think of a Barvarian Laura Ashley on speed and you get the picture. This isnt the end of the world but not reflective of the high end Relais and Chateaux establishments I know from UK or indeed of the many Austrian ski hotels I have visited.

I only experienced the hald board menu which was perfectly acceptable and pleasant but nothing to suggest that it originated froma celebrated kitchen

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pac111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adler-schwarzwald, Inhaber at Hotel Adler Haeusern, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Dear pac111,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am truly sorry you didn’t enjoy the decoration of our hotel. Relais & Châteaux hotels do not follow one international design standard, but are very individual and region-specific, and our historic house in the Black Forest is therefore quite different to the hotels in Britain, Austrian ski hotels or a French Châteaux.

I am also very sorry our half board menu did not quite meet your expectations either. We have been awarded a Michelin Star in our a la carte restaurant for 46 years. It is a pitty you did not get the chance to have dinner there since our half board is more of an everyday option for our hotel guests than the same menu we serve at the restaurant. I believe our half board offers very good quality and value for the money. However, it is quite impossible to serve a 6-course half board menu at less than the price of a starter in a London gourmet restaurant and still meet the very same expectations. I hope you can agree on this.

Best regards,
Florian Zumkeller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My partner and I stayed here just for one night while enroute through the Black Forest to Baden Baden (see other review). We had booked a standard double but upon check-in paid an excess to upgrade to a suite that had a seperate bath and shower stall - a configuration that we prefer if possible. Reception was helpful and quick in arranging this and our bags were taken swiftly from our car to the room. The room was extremely spacious, superbly clean and decorated in a rather 'bright German yellow pattern style' - not our taste but never-the-less very nice. The only downside which I found very annoying was to have a wonder big shower stall but a shower that gave very poor pressure (I think this was because of the very large shower head); it seems a small gripe but it would really put me off returning because I do like a good shower!

We ate in the 'formal' dining room which was in fact pleasurably casual and the food was 10/10. We chose the filet steak and it was the finest we have ever had (and we eat well!) Dinner wasn't cheap but was worth it.

What was NOT worth the money was the two massages we took in the spa. Both my partner and I were extremely dissapointed with these - both were cut short of time and I had a very strange experience where the masseur simply vanished from the room not saying a word that he had finished, leaving me laying there wondering if the treatment was over and if he was coming back. After five or six minutes of laying there like an fool, I got up and went out the room to find him on the telephone! He did vaguely apologise but this is simply not good procedure. The massage was very very light and could best be described as a light rub - absolutely did nothing to my very aching and tired body.

I also had a facial treatment with Jessica, a delighful lady. It was a very simple facial but was quite good. She was very helpful, even answering an email afterwards wherby I enquired about the products that she had used. It would have been nicer to have a more 'medical' facial - I had hoped maybe that microderm would be available but it was not.

The spa area was very pleasant, the pool very clean - everything worked and it was not at all busy. The only thing we found slightly annoying was that it all closed at 7pm and we would have liked to use it later but then we were on a flying visit. I'm sure if you are staying more than one day, this would not inconvenience you.

The hotel itself is much more beautiful than even the pictures show - in a very calm location and set in an area where you could see some wonderful parts of the Black Forest - waterfalls, lakes, walks etc. Parking was free (not covered) and very very easy. All the staff were superb (except massage!), breakfast was a feast, cleanliness was 10/10 and the lounge area with lots of interesting books was a lovely place to relax.

All in all a very nice (rather expensive) stay and I would definitely return if they sort out the shower pressure and get a good sports masseur! The hotel is well suited to both Summer and Winter stays - it must be extremely cosy in the snow!

Room Tip: Phone reception - they speak excellent English!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adler-schwarzwald, Inhaber at Hotel Adler Haeusern, responded to this review, November 6, 2011
Dear londonperson,

Thank you very much for your detailed hotel review, we are always happy when our guests enjoy their stay with us. I must apologize for the shower head in your suite. This shower head has a feature to self-regulate the shower jet depending on individual preferences, but the system is so complicated we choose to replace it with a regular shower head to solve the problem you have experienced.

I am also very sorry for your experience with the massage. At the end of energetic massages, our masseurs leave the room for 10 minutes of after-massage relaxation – in general without speaking to the guest since a significant number of people doses away while being massaged. I am very sorry you haven’t been informed about this beforehand. Our German-speaking guest are generally very satisfied with the masseurs and their pre-massage counseling, but we take this seriously and are in the process of reorganizing the SPA reception to make sure there is multi-lingual staff available to consult guests before every treatment.

I hope you will get a chance to visit us again. It would be a please to be your hosts, again!

Best regards,
Florian Zumkeller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hausern
5.0 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten am Schluchsee
6.0 mi away
Wellnesshotel Auerhahn
Wellnesshotel Auerhahn
#2 of 12 in Schluchsee
283 reviews
6.1 mi away
Breggers Schwanen
Breggers Schwanen
#1 of 5 in Bernau im Schwarzwald
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Landidyll Hotel Albtalblick
10.9 mi away
Parkhotel Adler
Parkhotel Adler
#1 of 16 in Hinterzarten
317 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bio & Wellnesshotel Alpenblick
Bio & Wellnesshotel Alpenblick
#2 of 8 in Hoechenschwand
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adler Haeusern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adler Haeusern

Property: Hotel Adler Haeusern
Address: St.-Fridolin-Str. 15, 79837 Hausern, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Schwarzwald Hotel Adler)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Hausern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hausern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Adler Haeusern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a historic Black Forest hotel with modern design and upscale comfort, a SPA and the only restaurant in Germany which has been awarded a Michelin star by the world's most famous restaurant guide consistently every year since 1966. Enjoy days of well-beeing, culinary indulgence, romance and sports in the beautiful South Black Forest less than 1h drive from the cities of Freiburg (Germany), Zurich (Switzerland) and Basel (Switzerland) as well as the airports in Zurich and Basel-Mulhouse-Freiburg. We look forward to be your hosts! Your Adler Häusern team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Adler Haeusern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Adler Haeusern Germany/Hausern, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing