We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did I stay in the same hotel as the people who didn't like it?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Relais du Lyon d'Or
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Did I stay in the same hotel as the people who didn't like it?”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Apart from breakfast, which I too thought was rather overpriced at 13 Euro (though overpriced breakfasts are not unknown in French hotels), this was a charming small hotel, the owner helpful, the food good, the room smart and very attractively furnished. The village is certainly very beautiful, and if I would not take six cases of the local wine home with me, I enjoyed sipping it out in the courtyard. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OxonianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    32
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
17
66
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is a very beautiful hotel in a really wonderful town. Angles is well worth a visit.
We stayed two nights in a suite that was capacious but not particularly attractively furnished. The building itself is a superb old coaching inn set around a courtyard where there are tables to sit out. Plenty of off-road parking. Well signposted.
The owner/manager had a slightly odd manner that could prove a bit off-putting. A kind of Gallic John Cleese. But I think he was a decent sort underneath the slightly crabby exterior. The American girl who works there was charming and very helpful too (see below).
Good restaurant in a lovely dining room, nicely furnished. Good meal too, but not cheap and at about 30 euros for a reasonable bottle of local wine, plus about 85-135 euros for the room and you are looking at an expensive night. Breakfast is extra too. The second day we bought a couple of croissants in the boulangerie and had it with a coffee in the cafe. Breakfasts in French hotels are rarely worth 2 euros, let alone the 8, 10 or even 14 that we paid on our trip.
The second night we ate where we had lunched, in the pizza/kebab place opposite the castle. I think it was called Le Grillon (or something similar). Really terrific food - particularly the apple pie cooked in the pizza oven.
On the way back home we found ourselves staying nearby and made our way to Le Grillon which was closed (why? - in high season) so then we found our way to the Lyon d'Or only to discover the restaurant there was closed too. The owner told us that they had not one booking that night. It may be about time that French restaurateurs cottoned onto to the fact that a couple don't want to pay 80 or 100 euros for a meal. The American lady recommended a restaurant in nearby village of St. Pierre. She was kind enough to ring it too and make a reservation for us. I forget the name, but it was just perfect. On the main square with a menu at 15 euros. Best meal we had in two weeks.

Overall I would recommend the Lyon d'Or. It is a special place in a wonderful town. Characterful and individual. A few quirks and not cheap - but where is these days?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DockBrief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

As a french person i was very disappointed. what a charming place,small hotel with a lot potential. my family lives in the region and my wife and i decided to stay there, having visited this charming village on several occasions, we had to stay in an hotel due to lack of accommodations in the family. Room was nice and comfortable, our disappointment was with the owners lack of hospitality and border rude. At breakfast we asked if we could have our coffee outside, it was a beautiful sunny day and we were told that if we wanted breakfast outside we could carry it ourselves to some tables in the courtyard, at 13 euro ( $18.00) for some coffee and mediocre croissant.we were expecting a smile . the following day we were 10 people having coffee on the small square and we bought our croissants and pain aux chocolat up the road, and a smile from the waitress at "Cafe de la place". we booked with our amx, on check-out date we were told they were not accepting the card, it seemed like they don't want to pay the card fee from amx. This is the kind of person that gives French people a bad name!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cherokkeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

I had booked three nights at this hotel but, on the strength of earlier reviews, canceled the second and third nights. On arrival, the hotel looked very attractive but reception was basic and unwelcoming. Our room was pleasant and comfortable. Dinner was good and served by a pleasant English waitress. There was no sign of the owner/manager. Breakfast (at 13 euros) was exactly as described in an earlier review - slices of orange cheese and ham out of a packet. Not what one expects in a French hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katy03411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyondor, Gérant at Le Relais du Lyon d'Or, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Google Translation
Quand on arrive avec un apriori négatif « sur la base des commentaires précédents », nos chances de vous satisfaire sont minces… Pourquoi ne pas dire aussi que, malgré l’annulation le jour de votre arrivée de deux de vos trois nuitées réservées, en prétextant une difficulté dans la réservation de votre ferry de retour, vous n’avez pas été facturé ?
Il est curieux que vous n’ayez pas aperçu les propriétaires quand ils sont pourtant les seuls à être présents à l’arrivée et au départ des clients ! Quant au fromage orange, il s’agit de Gouda et le jambon (dont je raffole) que vous qualifiez d’industriel, nous est fourni par notre boucher local…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We probably should have taken a hint from the street address - Rue D'Enfer - "Hell Street". We had high hopes for this establishment, but were immediately put off by the lack of "acceuil" shown by the french owner and his american wife. We have travelled in France for over 30 years, and seek out small hotels that have charm and where the owners make guests feel welcome. We have returned to many of them, year after year, The lack of hospitality here colored our stay from the start. The stressed out owners apparently are unable to keep staff, and one can understand why. If guests pick up on the resentment of the owners, one can only imagine what employees must experience. To hear the french owner yelling at the top of his lungs while cleaning the dining room one afternoon doesn't make for a restful stay! The village itself, while picturesque from a few vantage points, lacks real village life and charm. It does not merit a detour, and certainly not an overnight stay at the Lyon'd'Or. We have experienced so many wonderful small hotels in France. Unfortunately, the Lyon D'or was not one of them.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveltips11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

As we drove up the drive the building looked every bit as good as the photos had suggested. The village is stunning and the hotel is too. The owners don't seem to have quite finished furnishing the hotel. A room off the restaurant was emptybut could have been made into a residents lounge as there was nowhere to relax other than the bedrooms. As such we went to the village bar before dinner as there was nowhere to go in the hotel. Dinner was overpriced for very small portions. The owners seem tired of the business and didn't seem to be enjoying their lifestyle. the saving grace was an American waiter who was working there and he was more personable and chatty than the owners. Breakfast was also overpriced at 12 euros particularly as the one slice of cheese and ham provided per person was cheap processed stuff. It seemed too much of a money making enterprise and not like a labour of love. Our room was quite small and not particularly charming, although the bathroom was lovely and large.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JobellsYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doetinchem
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We had a wonderfull time at Le Relais du Lyon d'Or. Couldn't be better!
The room and the ambiance was splended. Nice room, romantic and chique, but not To posh.
Dominique and Diana make this place a warm and friendly place where we could enjoy life with a nice beer (wow Leffe from the tap!) and nice wine and to relax.
The village Angles sur Anglin is indeed one of the most pretty villages in France. We made hikes and bicycle tours with our own bikes in the surrounding + - 50 km each day. Highly recommanded; the country is slightly hilly, never dull with always new angles, river sides and small villages. Very nice.
Every dinner at Lyon d''Or was a treat. If you stay nearby (campsites are nice) make a reservation for dinner at Lyon d''Or. The kitchen is fantastic. Chef Diana has golden kitchen-hands. It enlightened our taste and hearts.
(Oh and the music, so nice)
We loved the place. A warm memory.

Heerlijke plek. Fantastisch eten, heerlijke wijn en een geweldige ambiance. Je komt er helemaal tot rust. Nog nooit zo lang in een hotel gezeten als hier. De omgeving is prachtig om te fietsen en te lopen [ook als je niet speciaal een fiets conditie hebt]. Plaatsjes in de buurt hadden mooie campings aan riviertjes.
Trouwens ook aan te bevelen; fietsen in Parijs. Hebben we voor Angles sur Anglin gedaan. Errug leuk!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gozon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angles sur l'Anglin
6.3 mi away
Relais De La Mothe
Relais De La Mothe
#1 of 1 in Yzeures-sur-Creuse
165 reviews
7.1 mi away
Les Loges du Parc
Les Loges du Parc
#1 of 7 in La Roche-Posay
138 reviews
7.0 mi away
Le Clos Paille
Le Clos Paille
#2 of 7 in La Roche-Posay
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
#1 of 1 in Availles-en-Chatellerault
235 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Vigne
Hotel Restaurant La Vigne
#4 of 7 in La Roche-Posay
33 reviews
21.6 mi away
Les Orangeries
Les Orangeries
#1 of 2 in Lussac les Chateaux
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais du Lyon d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais du Lyon d'Or

Property: Le Relais du Lyon d'Or
Address: 4 rue d Enfer, 86260 Angles sur l'Anglin, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Angles sur l'Anglin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angles sur l'Anglin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais du Lyon d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming small hotel in one of France's 'Plus Beaux Villages', Angles sur l'Anglin, welcomes you for a relaxing stay-a book and a botttle of wine or an adventure in a region worth discovering. Contact us for the possibilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Relais du Lyon d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Du Lyon D'Or France/Vienne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing