We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Haute Cuisine on the Seinne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moulin de Connelles
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Connelles
Certificate of Excellence
North Bucks
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Haute Cuisine on the Seinne”
Reviewed May 30, 2008

We were fortunate enough to stay at the Moulin de Connelles on our way back from a trip to the Loire in May 08. The hotel is 10 minutes from the Autoroute on the South side of Rouen, and as such is perfectly located for stop-overs on the way back north.

The hotel is in a fantastic location, right on the river, and the swallows fly all around with their unmistakable calls. We had room nine, a small suite on the second floor, with views up the river and a small balcony.

The room was pleasant but in no way ostentatious. The bathroom was very nicely done, and had a very decent shower, though we were a little surprised by the fact that the bathroom istefl did not have a door. Instead it opened onto the lobby inside the main door to the corridoor, with a door between that and the bedroom.

This hotel is run in a very friendly manner, and we were made to feel very welcome indeed, arriving as we did, tired and a little wrung out after 3 hours of high speed driving in an open-topped car.

I have to say that the jewel in the crown of the whole experience was the restaurant, where the menu was both comprehensive and thoughtful. We had a fabulous meal, and the wine was not expensive. Service in the restaurant was very good indeed.

My only regret is that we had not allowed more time for exploring the gardens and generally chilling out, as this seemed to me to be the perfect place for doing just that. As it was, we arrived at 6pm and were gone before 9:30am the next morning, which was a shame, but we plan to return with a little more time to kill.

Who would like this hotel?
Those seeking quality French accommodation, without unnecessary frills, good food, a warm welcome and a romantic location.

  • Liked — Serene location, great staff and fantastic food.
  • Disliked — Leaving it!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grumpyguts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    59
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
21
162
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2008

An historic former mill in a beautiful location on the Seine. All the staff were very professional, especially the lady who runs the reception. She couldn't be more polite and helpful, and thoughfully upgraded us to a nicer room on arrival. Our half board rate included dinner in the cosy restaurant with a covered terrace overlooking the river, which was executed by a competent kitchen at reasonable prices (3-course menus start at 33 euros). They did seafood very well, evidenced by an unexpectedly tasty entree of warm oysters in a light camembert sauce. Wine list is 95% french with some interesting options, and we chose a Chateau Fonbel from St Emilion (same owner as the first growth Chateau Ausone) from 2000 for 49 euros. We took a look at several other rooms - all were tastefully decorated, with recently refurbished, modern and spotless bathrooms, including some with jacuzzi baths. Rooms on the first floor have tall ceilings and feel more spacious, while rooms on the second floor feel more cosy. The continental breakfast which was brought to our room had freshly squeezed orange juice, a large thermos pot of coffee, hot frothy milk, and toasty butter croissants and pains au chocolat. The hotel shares the facilities of its 3-hectare island with a neighbouring holiday apartment complex, including 2 small outdoor swimming pools (not yet opened as of early May), a children's playground, a tennis court and a boathouse. With the high summer season not yet in full bloom, our stay was quiet and relaxing. We would gladly come back again.

  • Liked — Thoughtful and professional service
  • Disliked — No wifi. Patchy mobile telephone reception.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank I_love_Buenos_Aires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2007

Awsome, simply perfect.

What a fantastic place. Close to calais on the hoon back to the boat and too close to monet's gardens that it's rude not to visit!

As our last night's stay of our hoeymoon it was perfect. With very friendly, english speaking staff and possibly the best meal out of the 16 we had.

To the people who say it's not cheap I would agree, it isnt. But over-priced it is most definately NOT! Quality dosnt come cheap but it ain't mega bucks.

Take one of the boats out up the river, it's a great chance to take some snaps, and quite romantic to boot.

I am boring anyone I know about this place, and it will certainly become a regular place for us to stay on the way home.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Richie-mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2007

We recently held our wedding banquet at the Moulin de Connelles and all of guests were impressed with the restaurant's beautiful environment and the superb service provided by the staff.
We had guests from Asia and the US and everyone raved about the food and the wine at our banquet - the cuisine was classical French but inventive and beautifully presented, with an emphasis on sweet and fruity flavors. The foie gras crumble served with "pain d'épices" was particularly delicious.
The staff also spoke English very well and this made non-francophone guests feel comfortable.
The Moulin also served cocktails to our guests in the garden and this gave us the opportunity to take a lot of gorgeous pictures.
Even the toddlers were happy - there was enough room to them to move around, in the dining rooms and in the garden, and for their parents to take care of them.
We don't think we could have chosen a better place for our wedding party - we headed back to Paris afterwards and stopped by the Chateau Gaillard on the way. Some of our guests also visited Giverny, which is not far away from Connelles.
We left with literally thousands of great photos of the manor and excellent memories of the banquet.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderlust2007Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2007

This place is divine....Karine runs a very well organised hotel with English speaking staff. Her staff member Caroline welcomed us with warmth and was very gracious. The hotel is lovely and the surrounds are very peaceful and relaxing. We ate dinner in the restaurant and it was first class - delicious. Breakfast however, was a little basic. Overall this place is really well worth a visit.

  • Liked — Warmth of the people, great location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NaomiBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2007

Used this hotel as a stopover on our way back to the UK so location is good as it's only 1.5-2 hours from Calais and the tunnel.
The setting is very pretty with views from our bedroom window (room 7) onto the river from all angles, even from the bath!
The room had been recently refurbished so everything was spotless and the bathroom in particular was ver nice.
The rest of the hotel feels a little less loved. Maybe it was because it wasn't that busy, but it felt like it needed a little TLC in the external areas to bring it up to speed.
Weather wasn't good enought to use their outdoor pool (which was ok, not flash) so I went down the road to the nearby apartment complex and used the internal one but I feared for my health as the smell of chlorine made be cough so badly. At least I won't have caught anything but it didn't make it a pleasant swim. The apartment complex is a bit odd actually, although you don't really see it that much from the hotel .. I can imagine when it's really busy with lots of kids it might be too much.
Dinner in the restaurant was very nice, not that cheap but all nicely done. Good for a romantic a deux, with lots of tables overlooking the river at dusk.
All in, a good stopover but not a cheap option.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank habblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2007

This lovely hotel sits on the banks of the Seine. Relatively easy to find without navigation, although a good map is essential. We stopped here for one night en route from the West Coast of France to the Channel Ports. The hotel was a welcoming respite after 6 hours of driving. Hostess and staff were very attentive and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant in the evening - service was exemplary and food to match! Our room was very comfortable. We had a small double room on the first floor, overlooking the water, where we could watch guests rowing up and down under the hotel in their boats. We did not use the swimming pool as the weather was too cold and it was raining, but we did venture out for a short walk into the village of Connelles. Not much else to do there, but ideal if you are visiting the area and Giverny/Rouen.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank kester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connelles
14.9 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
8.8 mi away
Manoir de Surville
Manoir de Surville
#1 of 1 in Surville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
23.6 mi away
Le Clos des Fontaines
Le Clos des Fontaines
#1 of 1 in Jumieges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Hotel La Licorne
Hotel La Licorne
#1 of 3 in Lyons-la-Foret
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
6.3 mi away
Chateau Corneille
Chateau Corneille
#1 of 1 in Vieux-Villez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mercure Rouen Val De Reuil
Mercure Rouen Val De Reuil
#2 of 5 in Val de Reuil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin de Connelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin de Connelles

Property: Moulin de Connelles
Address: Departementale 19, 27430 Connelles, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Connelles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Connelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moulin de Connelles 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Moulin de Connelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin De Connelles Hotel Connelles
Moulin De Hotel Connelles
Connelles Moulin De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing