We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food, delightful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of le moulin des connelles

le moulin des connelles
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Connelles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $158
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great food, delightful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Have eaten here a few times and it's always amazingly good food! The place is very pretty, right off the beaten track alongside the river. It's nice to sit by the water and very tranquil. The staff are friendly, very professional, and politely tolerate poor French speakers!(They speak English too). The food is superb, using fresh local produce. The presentation is immaculate, and the amuse bouche always amuses. Try the chef's five course menu - you only live once! And dont forget the Calvados to finish! Enjoy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank freeflung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    33
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“All around excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The atmosphere, decor, service, presentation of meal and the meal itself top notch. I believe this has an excellent Michelin rating. Restaurant is part of the hotel Le Moulin. You must make reservations at least one day in advance.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fine location, good food ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

.... though not a lot of choice, rather expensive but excellent service spoiled only by lack of dress code for guests!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim1943Kenilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is what dining out is all about! An excellent restaurant, in a beautiful setting with wonderfully attentive, professional staff. It's not cheap but as ever you get what you pay for, so for me, it was value for money.

We ate both ate from the 45 euro menu but before we ordered we had a drink out on the terrace. The aperitif was accompanied by a complimentary selection of nibble (4 each). Very nice. Our amuse bouche was a surprise - a sushi roll with Ginger, sesame oil & soy sauce.

Starters of crab & foie gras followed both execllent with A beautiful Coteaux de Layon to accompany the foie gras. My wife then had monkfish & I had saddle of lamb, perfectly cooked. The cheese course could have been better, just 3 very nice local cheeses (Pont leveque, Livarot & Camembert) - my best memories of dining in France are of the cheese chariot laden with 25
different cheeses!

Very nice, un-French desserts (my wife had a rhubarb & Ginger compote). For wine we had a half bottle of menetou salon & a cotes de beaune, both excellent. Coffee, calvados & petit fours to finish. Total cost 185 euros for the two of us.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andresykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el cerrito, california
Level Contributor
124 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A jewel in the middle of nowhere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The restaurant is not easy to find. When you do, you’ll find an elegant 19th-century rustic and beautiful, partially timbered manor house built over an arm of the Seine. Yes, the Seine flows under the building. As the name implies, the building used to be a watermill. The interior is warmly decorated with a lot of baccarat glass. Although the restaurant does not have a Michelin star rating, the excellent food, the surroundings, the presentation, and the service would certainly merit them at least one. Most of their clients come from Paris, who come here to spend the weekend in their vacation homes in this area; some of the homes are expensive little castles. So the atmosphere is friendly and casual. And so it is also easier to get a table in the middle of the week.

We had aperitifs on their outdoor deck over the water, watching the light fade away. For dinner I ordered the €45 3-course menu and my wife just ordered a starter. We asked whether we could share the main course and the dessert. Certainly, they said. And when the main course came, it didn’t come in one serving plate with an extra empty plate, as we expected, but very nicely presented on two separate plates with smaller portions, with the appropriate cutlery already placed on our table beforehand. This was also the case for the dessert. They have a very decent wine list. And their foie gras, which I had for appetizer, was excellent. And the rest of the food was uniformly very good.

The owner came by and chatted pleasantly with us for some time about the area, because most of the other guests had left by that time. So it was a very pleasant evening, also because a member of our dinner party happened to live just a few miles away. We were staying at le Manoir des Deux Amants, which was the property next to the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ploddinghappily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed le moulin des connelles also viewed

 
Le Vaudreuil, Eure
Val de Reuil, Eure
 

Been to le moulin des connelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing