We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very quaint peaceful Hotel with a magnificent restaurant . A real treat .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Pavillon de Gouffern
Certificate of Excellence
Galway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very quaint peaceful Hotel with a magnificent restaurant . A real treat .”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

A really nice feel to this place - a warm reception. Room very old world but bright and spacious . Really classy lounges downstairs and fast free Wifi .
Per dinner drinks in a lovely room with a good buzz .
Restaurant is really lovely - lovely view of garden and adjoining forest . The proprietor Vincent Thomas is a gentleman .
The food was exquisite - Chef's Bouche was an amazing fois gras creme brûlée . Lovely starters Salmon wrapped in cabbage delicious . The saddle of lamb was the nicest most flavoursome piece of meat ever . Superb cheese selection and desserts were of the highest standard - the Brioche apple and the Normandy bourbon tart fabulous . This is dining at it s best and I would put it on a par with L'Angel St St Laurent in Bayeux ( not to be missed when anywhere near Bayeux).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    50
    17
    13
    4
See reviews for
19
73
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
187 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We visited for a weekend in late April as part of a large car club group. The rate for D,B&B had been negotiated for three nights Friday-Sunday and we chose a nice room facing the grounds at the back, on the first floor of the main house. Car parking for our group was secure because the location in the Forest of Gouffern is so remote.Service was friendly, the hunting lodge style meant the decor was fairly simple (our bedroom had no carpet, for instance) and our huge bathroom nevertheless had a separate toilet that seemed to have all the soil pipes from the floor above running down its walls! Some ducting and sound-proofing would have been a good idea and easy to do. Our bed was comfortable and the dinners and breakfasts were fine for group purposes.

Room Tip: The annexe nearer to the golf driving range has more modern bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank accidentaltourist_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I have mixed feelings about this place. Initially when I saw the website, I thought it was absolutely fabulous and could not understand why they only had 3 stars. On arrival, the mansion house looks as beautiful and grand as it does on the internet.

The grounds are beautifully maintained with a nice big lawn, presenting a great view during meal times, and a peaceful surrounding forest which is great for afternoon walks and bike rides. There is a lake for fishing but you have to bring your own equipment - surely they could provide this? And the tennis courts have been left to go derelict which is a shame.

The main negative point for me was our room. The hotel has a few small rooms in an annex by the swimming pool. When I called beforehand, I was told that the only difference with these were that the rooms compared to the main house was that they were smaller (11m sq) and that they were ground floor rooms which give easier access to my heavily pregnant wife. The truth is that the is old, with a bathroom that is really disappointing in relation to the ones shown on the website in the in house. The pictures probably show how poorly maintained they were. There is very little storage space as well. I was also told that there would be wi-fi access in the room, which there wasn't. In fairness, the room was much cheaper than the mansion house (95 euros per night)which was fully booked, but I just felt slightly deceived - I probably wouldn't have minded so much if I had been told the truth on the phone since the annex was very convenient for the swimming pool and driving range.

In terms of facilities, the hotel is pretty good. The swimming pool is about 9m x 3m and clean, with shower facilities in a small hut next to it (towels provided). The driving range and putting practice are relatively well maintained, a basket of 17 balls is 2 euros. The pool also has a small bar next to it that serves grilled food in the day and has a couple of very nice outdoor sofas for lazy afternoons.

The dinner and lunch lacked variety - about 5 or 6 of each course only and the menu didn't change all week. However, what they did have was consistently outstanding every time. Check out my food blog for more details: http://overnightchef.blogspot.com

The buffet breakfast however was not so good: it was always the same, with small sausages and inedible scrambled eggs which tasted like they were made from powder. Shockingly bad. The continental style had only soft, soggy croissants, a very small choice of cured meats and 2 types of cheese. The crusty baguette and fruit juice were just about the only go things.

The service generally was inconsistent. The staff were sometimes very helpful and friendly, trying to help us book restaurants locally. The guy who worked at the bar in particular was incredibly friendly and accommodating. At other times, they were uninterested and vague in recommendations. The worst part was that one lady had such bad hygiene that it really put me off my food completely: she wore the same clothes for the entire week, had greasy hair full of dandruff, and smelt so bad that she would leave a trace wherever she went - like the heat signature of a plane. How can the management let someone like that be the face of their establishment??!!

Overall, I'd say the hotel is well worth visiting if you stay in the main house. Apart from breakfast, the food is great - although you should venture out for dinner as well at the nearby Le Tete Au Loup. It's a really nice peaceful break and only 2 1/2 hours from Paris. We had a really enjoyable 6-night stay which was thoroughly relaxing. With just a few minor improvements they could really be excellent and merit 4 stars. For example: renovating the rooms in the annex to be the same standard as the mansion, providing fishing equipment, restoring the tennis courts, and asking the staff to maintain a normal level of hygiene!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OvernightChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Stayed for an overnight stop en route to Le Mans. Its a tranquil setting and the main house/ pavilion is beautiful. I stayed in one of the annexes. The bedroom was very nicely appointed and the bathroom was large, if a bit dated although I understand that most of the bathrooms have been recently upgraded. The food in the restaurant was the main highlight - very nicely presented and an extensive and excellent wine list.

Had a very relaxing and quiet sleep.

A tranquil and lovely country hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MacPropCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

My wife and I stayed one night on our way north on the recommendation of friends. The hotel is a Victorian/Edwardian imitation half timbered building (my guess is originally a hunting lodge) with additions, in a lovely open park-like space in a clearing in the forest - totally peaceful and quiet.
We had a large double room at the front, with a huge flat television, which got a number of channels but nothing in English. The huge bed was extremely comfortable but the duvet was far too heavy for the warm temperature. There were two large, almost over upholstered but very comfortable armchairs.
The bathroom was large and beautifully tiled and kitted out, with hers and hers white towelling bathrobes, and separate loo. However there was no storage in the bedroom except two drawers under a side table and all the hanging space and open shelves were in the bathroom. OK but a bit weird. No decent shelf space around the basin for toiletries and only a hand shower over the bath with no screen.
We thought the whole room set up was very fairly priced at Eu95.
The extensive bar and restaurant area is a large, dark and lugubrious extension at the back, well furnished if you like the style. We opted for dinner in the hotel because there didn't seem anywhere very much close by (no village). Set menus ranged from Eu25 for two courses to maybe Eu55. I think the next menu up was Eu38 which gave us cheese or a pud, which seemed a bit of a steep increase. We opted for the basic menu. They brought us an amuse-bouche of salmon tartare before our first course, which was unexpected and excellent. The food was good without being outstanding. What was less welcome was to find, on paying the bill next morning, that we had been charged a menu supplement of Eu5 for the "gigot d'agneau", about which we were not told by the waiter, nor did we notice any mention on the menu. At Eu30 the dinner was definitely over priced. We had had much better food at Eu 18 to 20 at equally smart restaurants. The young waiter was pleasant but clueless in his knowledge of the food on the menu and the wine list. There seemed to be very few people staying so we rattled in the restaurant - perhaps 10 of us in a room that would cater for 3 or 4 times that number - all hushed tones, which we don't like. And why no option on the warmest evening so far this year to eat outside?
Breakfast was in another room in the old part of the building inStygian gloom and was good buffet style - but Eu12? Bit high we thought.
Our total bill for one night, dinner and breakfast for two was Eu205 - almost the same as for two nights, with breakfast and dinner on one evening in a less smart room and hotel but better food. Eu 150 would have been value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterEWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

This magnificent country manor stands in a beautiful forest.
The rooms are really nice, large and comfortable with modern bathrooms.
The restaurant is really good and offers a splendid view on the forest.
This is really a great place to spend a few days resting and enjoying both mother nature and very good food.
No doubt that you'll enjoy the place.
Note that if you like horses, you're just near beautiful haras.

  • Liked — the beautiful room, the restaurant and most of all the forest
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ParisCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

Very disappointed. We expected some reasonable luxury in a relaxed atmosphere. What we got was very slow service... it took over two hours to be served our dinner. When the food did eventually arrive, it was poor The leisure facilites were closed, the pool was closed, the room did not have a shower and the bath was almost impossible to lay back in due to a thick wooden surround that overlapped the top of the bath. The decor in the dining room was dark and oppressive. Overall a very unsatisfactory experience.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Arriving
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2000B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silly en Gouffern
6.0 mi away
Hostellerie de la Renaissance
7.1 mi away
L'Ile de Sees
L'Ile de Sees
#1 of 1 in Mace
145 reviews
13.9 mi away
La Maison du Vert
La Maison du Vert
#1 of 1 in Ticheville
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Aries Hotel Argentan
Aries Hotel Argentan
#2 of 3 in Argentan
45 reviews
9.9 mi away
Le C Gourmand
Le C Gourmand
#1 of 1 in Sees
13 reviews
22.3 mi away
Chateau de Saint Paterne
Chateau de Saint Paterne
#1 of 1 in Saint-Paterne
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pavillon de Gouffern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon de Gouffern

Property: Le Pavillon de Gouffern
Address: Lieu Dit L Oree du Bois, 61310 Silly en Gouffern, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Silly en Gouffern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silly en Gouffern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon de Gouffern 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Pavillon de Gouffern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing